Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of immigrating to Canada
This book is extremely helpful and covers a range of areas which you'll need to research before deciding to immigrate to Canada, including information on finding somewhere to live, a job, information on schooling and Canadian culture.
It's not the best guide for those looking to move to Quebec though as this is both a different process and different environment to...
Published on 26 Aug 2004 by Irmani Darlington

versus
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not particularly useful - lacking detail and effective info.
Having moved abroad before, I know th kinds of information are required. I would say that the authors of this book have never made such a move.
Canada is two countries in one, with a very different French cultural influence in large parts of the western provinces. There are only one or two paragraphs in this book covering this.
The information as far as it goes...
Published on 6 May 2001 by rbreslin@markcare.co.uk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not particularly useful - lacking detail and effective info., 6 May 2001
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having moved abroad before, I know th kinds of information are required. I would say that the authors of this book have never made such a move.
Canada is two countries in one, with a very different French cultural influence in large parts of the western provinces. There are only one or two paragraphs in this book covering this.
The information as far as it goes is surely accurate, but never seems to go far enough. Discussions on housing costs start with an excuse why it's too hard to summarise, where I could easily see how tabulated as high, medium, value housing types could be discussed region by region.
Together with housing, the section on taxation should give the best assessment of what salary levels exist in the country, and where the major part of it goes. It is impossible to assess this from the information in the book.
In many areas (even the section on immigration procedures - where you would expect one of the authors who is a lawyer to be expert) there are incomplete details. The reader is too often referred on to other sources.
As a result of reading this book, I am no more certain about any aspects of living and working in Canada. One Star is too high a rating for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of immigrating to Canada, 26 Aug 2004
This review is from: Living and Working In Canada 2e: All You Need to Know to Start a New Life in Canada (Paperback)
This book is extremely helpful and covers a range of areas which you'll need to research before deciding to immigrate to Canada, including information on finding somewhere to live, a job, information on schooling and Canadian culture.
It's not the best guide for those looking to move to Quebec though as this is both a different process and different environment to move to.
You'll also need to do additional research on each of the topic areas but one of the best overview books on the market (and I've bought most of them!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the right stuff, 17 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Living and Working In Canada 2e: All You Need to Know to Start a New Life in Canada (Paperback)
I found this to be an excellent guide. Everything was clearly marked out, and had obviously been well researched. I'm now living in Canada, and still find this a usual tool in my day to day life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Living and working in Canada. A practical guide to life in, 31 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Living and Working In Canada 2e: All You Need to Know to Start a New Life in Canada (Paperback)
Excellant starter book. Although it could be improved with more email addresses for points of contact. It does however give you the basis to start your enquiries in UK. ie what happens about my pension here, how do I pay bills here when I move, what about the dog!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars living and working in Canada, 1 Jan 2005
I found that this was a great starter to finding your feet in a new country. The author kept the tone fairly light throughout the book, and didn't get bogged down in too much unnecessary details. more killer less filler!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simplistic, 28 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Living and Working In Canada 2e: All You Need to Know to Start a New Life in Canada (Paperback)
I found this book a little more simplistic than we were expecting. But it does set out the info clearly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Living and Working In Canada 2e: All You Need to Know to Start a New Life in Canada
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews