Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 December 2004
This book is very simplistic. The philosophical arguments aren't really explored, only to a very superficial level, and there is very little theory to support anything. As an introduction to critical thinking, it is excellent if you have no experience, and can lay a good foundation for one of the more advanced books, but this will only lay a foundation. I would recommend it for the GCSE student, or even the public house critical thinker, but for A level and uni, go for something else instead.
11 comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2001
This is an excellent handbook for students of AS Critical Thinking. It is divided into chapters on identifying arguments, analysing simple arguments, finding more detail in arguments, exploring weaknesses, finding strengths, and applying skills. Each chapter includes clearly expressed examples, and there are short exercises (with answers!) to support each short section, as well as case studies and suggestions for further activities. Roy Van den Brink Budgen has written a book teachers will find invaluable.
0Comment|61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2007
This book was first published over ten years ago, so thousands of teachers and students must have benefited from it over this time. It provides a really approachable introduction to Critical Thinking and for those who are looking for such an introduction, I haven't come across a better one. It doesn't pretend to be an advanced text but is written for students coming to the subject for the first time. It covers both analysis and evaluation of arguments, with good use of examples and exercises. Read it and never think incritically again!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 February 2010
Critical thinking is a truly fantastic skill to acquire and everyday you'll be thankful that you did. I've now acquired an entire army of Critical thinking books to select from.

1. If you can only afford one book, the greatest book is "asking the right questions" in it's 9th edition. It's not geared towards an exam syllabus, but is life changing.

2. For an exam syllabus, the OCR AS level Critical thinking books are brilliant, especially vol 1 & 2. The entire set is 4 books, which covers the entire A Level. They are easy to read, visually very well laid out, and utterly marvellous.

3. The author of this book, is one of the guru's in critical thinking.

The advantage that Roy Van Den Brink Budgen brings is in analysing and breaking down arguments. He teaches arguments as a simple diagram. Sounds easy, but incredibly powerful. This book covers the second year of an A level, but with a much lighter touch (but just as effective).

He also explores logical fallacies, such as slippery slope strawman, in quite extensive detail. This means you can pick over others arguments and neutralise them - there is another book called "How to win every argument" which details this defensive topic on it's own, (and comes highly recommended).

So the conclusion is that if you're a student, looking to gain higher grades by analysing the arguments for your case, and the weaknesses in others, this one book is a very nice, light one stop shop. It's specifically designed for students, but not necessarily the full A Level course.

Learning to visualise arguments is a winning tool, as once dissected, you can block the other sides case.
Putting this into your assignments, means a dramatic rise in your grading, and a stunned look from your professors, as critical thinking is such a rare skill, it shines out.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2005
I have used this book in my AS studies and it was really useful, is actually written by the chief examiner. Also has questions with the answers so you can see if you understand/doing it right! worth buying!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2012
For anyone doing critical assessments I found this book excellent and to the point. As a mature student, I was struggling to fully understand how to write critically but I 'got' it after reading this! I found it explained things much easier/clearer than the Cottrell Study book. Highly recommended. It was a used book which came in excellent condition.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2010
I bought this book for my son, as recommended reading by his school, and I read it first, and I think it is a great book for all. It requires progressively more thought, but it is clear and easy to read. It is excellent: suitable for life, not just study.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2011
Thank you for this. It really helped. I got it really quickly and the examples are great to practice your Critical Thinking Skills on.If you need help on understanding the concepts then this book is for you! :-)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2009
The book arrive on time, and it is specially nice for those are writing thesis and dissertations.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)