Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars32
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 March 2015
This is the first Sunflower Guide we have used - it was excellent. The thing that made it so exceptional was the amount of detailed information in the chapter for each area (Amalfi/Ravello, Positano/Praiano, Sorrento, etc.). Other guides have set walks: this guide has “walk segments” which enable each user (e.g. us) to put together walks that visit the perfect number of chosen highlights. For example we extended our walk from Bomerano to Nocelle (along The Walk of the Gods), to also include Santa Maria del Castelo and admired views as far as Naples, while other walkers without a Sunflower Guide took the low road. The recommended walks and information on tourist sights, and the especially public transport info, are also excellent.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
This superb little book has details of how to get from anywhere to anywhere else. including details such as the time it will take and metres of ascent in both directions. This allows you to plan any number of walks of any desired length and difficulty. The descriptions for the ones we tried were in general pretty accurate as well. A must for anybody planning a walking holiday on the Amalfi cost or Sorrento peninsular.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
We used this as pretty much our only guide for planning our own point to point walking holiday from Ravello to Sorrento, and had an absolutely amazing holiday! We couldn't stop going on about how much we were seeing during our stay, and how much more fun we had than getting buses between towns. The instructions for the walks were rock solid, and full of interesting information along the way, and allowed us to navigate with confidence for over a week's walking from hotel to hotel. The only times we went wrong were both our fault, and not the book's; once we didn't check the updated information on the website to see part of one path was closed, and attempted to do another walk, Colli to Fontanelle to Positano, in reverse-most of the walks are helpfully provided both ways, but not in this case.

All in all, highly recommended for a beautiful part of the world!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
This little book made our holiday! Having considered all kinds of excursions to the big sights in the area, we settled for taking the bus to somewhere new, using our terrible Italian to buy a picnic, and walking back using the walk segments in the book. The bus timetables at the back of the book are really useful too, and the rural bus service puts ours (Lincolnshire) to shame. The one time a bus didn't turn up, we just changed our plans and followed another walk through the countryside instead. I'd be quite happy to go back to this area and spend another week doing the same thing. Thank you. x
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2016
We used this guide on a holiday two years ago, We particularly focused on the areas around Positano and Conca dei Marini. When visiting a new area we are looking for a walking guide to give us ideas of where to walk so that we can develop our own walks for future visits. This guide is useful for finding the start of walks which can often be hard to find. The information on buses is also very useful because the buses are so good in this area and driving is such hard work with all the sharp bends in the road that you will want to resort to the buses. On the whole we like Sunflower guides and we have now got most of them to help us planning our future holidays.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
A really useful guide for walkers Multiple choice short walks did work out as some routes were closed due to road repairs..pathway of the God's is a must.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
The Amalfi coast can be overwhelming due to the sheer volume of tourists in the peak season! This book was our best friend for the week we spent in Amalfi/Sorrento/Capri in September.

The hike segments listed in the book were excellent and we used segment combinations from the Capri, Anacapri and Sorrento walks extensively. The map is pretty basic but useful. We did use a detailed map for the region.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
Don't leave home without it!
The Amalfi coast is dramatic, and here's a way to explore it - paths are good, well marked and a network that gives huge numbers of options. This book is the essential guide - including bus times to get to & from walks. I have a number of guides in the Sunflower series - all of which have been consistently good & tremendously enhanced our holidays. Well deserved 5 star rating!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
This is an amazing book! The area it describes is one of the most beautiful parts of the world and it does an excellent job of informing one where to go, what paths to take etc. Not a trivial matter in a region where you can climb 80 stairs and get to a dead end....
Highly recommended to hikers with strong knees!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
The walks is the book are in segments so that you can decde yourself how long to make them. The walk instructions seem to be comprehensive and there is lots of useful information, like bus timetables.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse