Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 50th Birthday Guide
For my 50th birthday, my husband took me to Malta and Gozo. This book (an earlier version) was our constant companion. We walked the four corners of Gozo based on this book and walked much of Malta. We were lost a few times, as either the descriptions didn't match where we were or we weren't where we thought that we were. We, obviously, always managed to find our way...
Published on 3 Sep 2012 by Traveler

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't rely on map if you hire a car
No complaints about the walks though some details were out of date. What the book doesn't tell you is that in order to get from place A to place B you need a map that shows the main routes with their numbers. All roads are very badly and sometimes confusingly, signed, so if you get off the numbered main road, you will have a serious job finding your destination. After...
Published 19 months ago by R. Hodgkinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 50th Birthday Guide, 3 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: Malta, Gozo and Comino Walks and Car Tours (Landscapes Series) (Paperback)
For my 50th birthday, my husband took me to Malta and Gozo. This book (an earlier version) was our constant companion. We walked the four corners of Gozo based on this book and walked much of Malta. We were lost a few times, as either the descriptions didn't match where we were or we weren't where we thought that we were. We, obviously, always managed to find our way back. It included helpful tidbits such as to watch out for an aggressive dog at one farm. Didn't see the dog, but we certainly watched for it. We have used many of these guides and found this one to be one of the best. Would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book covering a variety of walks, 6 April 2014
This review is from: Malta, Gozo and Comino Walks and Car Tours (Landscapes Series) (Paperback)
I used this this book on a daily basis a few years ago in Malta. The walks were varied and interesting, and the route descriptions & maps were very accurate (even down to the location of barking dogs!) and easy to follow. I would recommend this guidebook for a good introduction to the islands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide to Malta, Gozo and Comino, 25 May 2013
This review is from: Malta, Gozo and Comino Walks and Car Tours (Landscapes Series) (Paperback)
Excellent, up to date pocket book giving a great insight into Malta. Good price, convenient size and packed with a wealth of information about Malta and it's islands. Have used Sunflower guides many times in the past and have never been disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Walked on all three islands, 25 Feb 2013
This review is from: Malta, Gozo and Comino Walks and Car Tours (Landscapes Series) (Paperback)
As always, the landscape books are my first port of call when visiting a European country. We don't drive abroad and so don't use the car tours, but the walking routes are really helpful(especially used in conjunction with the update service online). We walked on all three islands and found there was just enough background info along with the walking instructions - and having the route marked on the maps is so useful. Navigation on Malta was surprisingly challenging, even with the book - a surfeit of tracks. Also good compact size for carrying around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sunflower Walking Guide for Malta, 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malta, Gozo and Comino Walks and Car Tours (Landscapes Series) (Paperback)
I bought this to update my old malta guide. The maps are so much better in this edition and as usual, all the walks are clearly detailed and easy to use. If you have never tried a Sunflower guide but you like walking abroad, I recommend you buy one. They will open up a whole new area of your holidays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars See the best of Malta, 29 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malta, Gozo and Comino Walks and Car Tours (Landscapes Series) (Paperback)
Another excellent book from The Landscapes series which will take you away from the tourist hot spots to the quiet corners of these lovely islands as well as the more popular sights. The walking tours of the cities are particularly good. We did not use the car tours this time as we made use of the excellent bus service but the walks were spot on and the picnic section gives you a chance of a short stroll to a view point or to an interesting area. The maps are slightly different from other books in the series but very detailed so helpful in following your route on the bus or when walking into a small town. Never go on holiday without your Sunflower!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Don't rely on map if you hire a car, 6 May 2013
By 
R. Hodgkinson (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malta, Gozo and Comino Walks and Car Tours (Landscapes Series) (Paperback)
No complaints about the walks though some details were out of date. What the book doesn't tell you is that in order to get from place A to place B you need a map that shows the main routes with their numbers. All roads are very badly and sometimes confusingly, signed, so if you get off the numbered main road, you will have a serious job finding your destination. After getting badly lost on day 1, driving from aiport to hotel, we found a map on day 2 that shows the main arterial roads and this helped a lot. However, it is almost impossible to find the points on the small area maps in the guide when it shows you where to park a car. Sadly my Garmin 2007 Europe Sat Nav software doesn't include Malta!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good maps, but not quite enough, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malta, Gozo and Comino Walks and Car Tours (Landscapes Series) (Paperback)
I have often bought Sunflower guides for our trips, and always found them informative and helpful This was also the case with this one, but it is almost too walking oriented. Not many circular walks, which is what you want if you have a car. Moreover, the turns and waymarks etc were very accurately described, which is fine, but less about what experiences would meet you on your walk. Recommended, but perhaps not as the only guide. I always buy several, often also a good general guide, such as Lonely Planet or Rough Guide (depending on who has the most recent edition), plus a more basic 'Sights' guide, such as Insight or Marco Polo. If a guide can give you just one or two great experiences on your trip, it has paid for itself. Always buy several!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Long time user, 24 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: Malta, Gozo and Comino Walks and Car Tours (Landscapes Series) (Paperback)
We have owned a series of these guides to Malta and Gozo and have walked every walk, many several times. The maps and descriptions are clear and accurate - the only times we have had a significant problem has been when we have failed to make use of the Sunflower update service (which posts changes to the current edition on line). The clarity of the maps and the way they relate to the text is especially good - although, as with all guide books, you get the best results by reading the two together. Their recommendation to purchase a dog scarer is an example of the good practical advice in these guides, and one that we have found especially usefull!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Walking Guide, 9 Jan 2013
This review is from: Malta, Gozo and Comino Walks and Car Tours (Landscapes Series) (Paperback)
This was a very good guide. We stayed on Gozo and so mainly used it there, and (unusually) for us) didn't get lost once. The information given is useful, and the maps excellent. Since our holiday, friends have borrowed the book and found it useful too (they were on Malta itself). Having looked at a selection of Sunflower books recently in a travel bookshop, they all appear to be of this high standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Malta, Gozo and Comino Walks and Car Tours (Landscapes Series)
Malta, Gozo and Comino Walks and Car Tours (Landscapes Series) by Douglas Lockhart (Paperback - 1 July 2012)
£12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews