Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars accurate, well written guide
we have just returned from Lake Como and whilst this book only devotes a small section to Como, it was great while we were there. We found the descriptions to be accurate and quite enticing and went on several of the walks featured. There are a vast number of walks around Lake Como and these are edited highlights from the authors personal viewpoints. We are walkers...
Published on 31 May 2010 by Gardenna

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars reviews?
If you go to the publisher's website, Sunflower Books, you will find that you can get their books for free if you post a 5 star review on Amazon.
So all Sunflower Books get great Amazon reviews because if you give them a good, 5 star, review you get a free guide book.
Knowing this would you trust reviews on Amazon for any Sunflower Books publication...
Published 3 days ago by European Traveller


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars accurate, well written guide, 31 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italian Lakes Walks and Car Tours (Landscapes Series) (Paperback)
we have just returned from Lake Como and whilst this book only devotes a small section to Como, it was great while we were there. We found the descriptions to be accurate and quite enticing and went on several of the walks featured. There are a vast number of walks around Lake Como and these are edited highlights from the authors personal viewpoints. We are walkers rather than hikers or trekkers and we found this guide was invaluable on really hot days when we could escape up into the mountains for a respite. We followed their picnic ideas on various occasions as well - all excellent. The guide covers well-known and used routes and some more off the beaten track but no less doable or fantastic. Our favourite walk (to M. Crocione) turned out to be theirs - yes it was not challenging but the views of the lush valleys and lakes (Lugano and Como) in the distance surrounded by snow-capped mountains were truly the most beautiful of the entire trip and we shared the walk with only 1 other person because it's quite an unnerving drive to get up towards their starting point. You could lengthen the walks as you wanted to as per their suggestions. The walk s are broken down into stages that are easily identifable and so you know where you are when on the walk at all times - each walk has further options eg places to stop for lunch, extending the walks, shortening the walks, detours etc. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good walks, 2 Jun 2009
By 
Linda Bayne (Chester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Italian Lakes Walks and Car Tours (Landscapes Series) (Paperback)
If you like walking in the Lake District in the UK you will enjoy the walks in this book. We stayed in Limone in May and did the walks at the north end of Lake Garda and we thought they were excellent. You can use public transport (bus and ferry); no need to hire a car. As well as being scenic, several of the walks had military history interest as this area was much fought over eg in WW1. We intend to go back to do the walks near the other lakes soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide to walks around the Italian Lakes, 23 Sep 2009
By 
Mark Alexander (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Italian Lakes Walks and Car Tours (Landscapes Series) (Paperback)
An excellent guide to walks around the Italian Lakes, with easy to follow instructions on walks of a varying difficulty, complete with suggested short-cuts or diversions to better tailor the walk to the individual.

The car tour and picnic sections also help to pick out the best routes to explore around the countryside when travelling by road.

This was a superb addition to our holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great little book, 23 May 2009
By 
Michael White (from Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Italian Lakes Walks and Car Tours (Landscapes Series) (Paperback)
bought this as a walking guide and thought it was fantastic. excellent maps and directions for each walk, even some suggested driving tours if you're feeling lazy. good layout and handy size for the backpack, also includes the odd bit of local history and trivia too. highly recommended! we have bought 2 more (tuscany and pyrenees) for later on in our holiday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real tresure!!, 26 April 2011
This review is from: Italian Lakes Walks and Car Tours (Landscapes Series) (Paperback)
I have just come back from a vacation in the Italian lakes region.
Just before the vacation I bumped into the landscape guide while browsing the web looking for a tour book on the area.
I have looked into some other books (That all of them look almost the same) and I immediately noticed that this guide is something completely different that suites much better my taste.
It turned out to be a real treasure.
It turned our vacation from just another nice one into a great experience that I will remember for many years!!!!
We were amazed to find ourselves many times in the most unique and amazing places completely alone or with just a few locals.
The maps and the description of the walks are very accurate and give many options to all abilities. The car tours and picnic ideas are also great.
If you are a nature lover don't look anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Lakes, 4 April 2011
This review is from: Italian Lakes Walks and Car Tours (Landscapes Series) (Paperback)
Once again the Sunflower series delivers. We took this well thumbed guide book on a several month motorhome tour and found some fabulous walking and touring locations. The book is well organised, descriptions are easy to cross reference with other material. These books are small and light to carry and pages don't get blown around as they are long and and narrow so easy to hold onto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars reviews?, 21 Dec 2014
This review is from: Italian Lakes Walks and Car Tours (Landscapes Series) (Paperback)
If you go to the publisher's website, Sunflower Books, you will find that you can get their books for free if you post a 5 star review on Amazon.
So all Sunflower Books get great Amazon reviews because if you give them a good, 5 star, review you get a free guide book.
Knowing this would you trust reviews on Amazon for any Sunflower Books publication?
Apparently Amazon allows this system of 'paid reviews' so should you trust any reviews on Amazon?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Italian Lakes - walks, 17 Jun 2013
By 
R F FOOT (Chelmsford, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Italian Lakes Walks and Car Tours (Landscapes Series) (Paperback)
We found this Landscapes book as helpful for our stay at Lake Maggiore as the others we have used in other places. The descriptions of walks are excellent, except that the Second Edition (2009 - the latest edition) we were using is not completely up to date.

On the Landscapes website there are descriptions submitted where conditions and layouts on the ground have changed since publication. We found one inaccuracy, namely on Walk 4. On page 43, bottom of left hand column, on descending from Monte Spalavera, the path goes down not to a "grassy clearing" but to a flat area of bare soil. On taking the first track on the left the sign on a tree is not as stated in the book "NO 10" but is a brown sign with a picture of a walker and the number "3". This sign is found along the track, along with the red/white waymarks denoting what is, officially, Route 10. At one point the track bears left whilst another goes straight on. Here a brown sign indicates the correct path to follow. Towards the end of this section of the walk where you bear left on to the grassy clearing do not follow the brown sign which can be seen a little further ahead, but bear round to the left on the main track.

I hope that is helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Added pleasure to trip, 4 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italian Lakes Walks and Car Tours (Landscapes Series) (Paperback)
We were based in Stresa on Lake Maggiore and did a couple of the drives around there. Excellent directions. Great scenery. Would have done more if there longer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide IF you can find a walk in your area, 30 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italian Lakes Walks and Car Tours (Landscapes Series) (Paperback)
Whilst i agree the book is very detailed about the walks i'm afraid i found too few within the area i was staying-- only 2 walks in the book were dooable. There are 35 walks but they are spread about over all the lakes . The walks contain very detailed routes but nothing about anything else in the surrounding area- if you don't walk past it then it aint listed. Hate to be the only one but i was disappointed- not sure who this book is aimed at? as i can't imagine many people being able to do more than 3 walks as a normal tourist unless they hire a car as they're too spread out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Italian Lakes Walks and Car Tours (Landscapes Series)
Italian Lakes Walks and Car Tours (Landscapes Series) by David Robertson and Sarah Stewart (Paperback - 1 Jan 2009)
£11.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews