Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Run to buy this book
I have just finished reading a fabulous book called Dare to be a Daniel by Tony Benn.
He never became leader of the Labour Party - more is the pity in my view. But he was a leading politician - very powerful - and always outspoken with frank and honest views setting him apart from the normal dull and boring politicians who simply stick to their party line, come what...
Published on 7 Aug. 2005 by Trevor E. Gay

versus
26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A moral politician...
The title undersells this autobiography.

"Benn, the early years" might have been prosaic but a more insightful name nevertheless.

Following Mr Benn's early years gives the reader a great perception to his personal development and moral integrity.

Love him or loathe him one thing is very clear from this work; Mr Benn's deep commitment to...
Published on 22 April 2007 by Mr. B. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Run to buy this book, 7 Aug. 2005
By 
Trevor E. Gay "Simplicity is the Key" (Coventry, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have just finished reading a fabulous book called Dare to be a Daniel by Tony Benn.
He never became leader of the Labour Party - more is the pity in my view. But he was a leading politician - very powerful - and always outspoken with frank and honest views setting him apart from the normal dull and boring politicians who simply stick to their party line, come what may. Tony Benn is a man of great conviction.
His book is written with typical Tony Benn 'upfrontness.'
There are no punches pulled about how British politics really works. His prediction about too much power being in other than democratic hands is worrying. He argues persuasively there already is too much power in the hands of a few highly wealthy people or corporations - and that it will get worse - threatening democracy in the west as we currently recognise it.
On the 'non-political front' - the book contains many little gems of humour, humility, wisdom. There are numerous touching references to the love he shared with his wife of 51 years until her death in 2000. Tony Benn is obviously very proud of his family.
By his own admission he was born into a wealthy family and had a privileged upbringing in a loving and warm family. Despite that he comes across as a man who fought battles for people who were not so well off as he.
I just love the simplicity and creativity of the wonderful advice Tony Benn's father him when he was 8 years old.
This is how it is described in the book.
"Father once said to me, 'Never wrestle with a chimney sweep', which was a curious piece of advice to give an eight year old, but I now understood exactly what he meant: 'If someone plays dirty with you, don't play dirty with them or you will get dirty too' My attempts to keep personal abuse out of political controversy has been shaped by that simple phrase about how to steer clear of chimneysweeps. I recommend it to others without reservation."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for real socialists, 30 Dec. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As one of Benn's biggest politic fans, this book was a must read for me. Agreed it's not a work of great literature but his chatty style and natural wit make it an easy and enjoyable read for anyone. Benn is one of the few true socialists we still have in public life in Britain and the inclusion of some of his many parliamentary speeches reinforce the genuineness of his life-long held beliefs. You can't help but look up to the man's commitment to his socialism. After reading this book, I'm inspired to read more of his writings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A moral politician..., 22 April 2007
By 
The title undersells this autobiography.

"Benn, the early years" might have been prosaic but a more insightful name nevertheless.

Following Mr Benn's early years gives the reader a great perception to his personal development and moral integrity.

Love him or loathe him one thing is very clear from this work; Mr Benn's deep commitment to the use of politics to bring a more equitable lifestyle to those amongst us who are less fortunate.

The style of telling is simple - almost disarmingly plain. One would expect little else from Mr Benn, in hindsight.

This is a very interesting book - it should be read for that reason alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Benn's magic, 21 Oct. 2011
After reading Tony Benn's diaries (2003 - 2007), I wanted to find out more about his family background and the events that shaped his life. This book filled in the blanks and made me realise what an amazing story he tells with a political career spanning 50 years, meeting most of the influential people of the 20th century. Although he detests the description, he is a national treasure of the best kind.still working for peace and still working for the basic rights for humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a fan of Tony Benn and therefore enjoyed reading of his early life etc. Final section includes excepts from keynote speeches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classsic Politician, 6 Sept. 2009
By 
J. A. Crawford "Jules" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dare To Be A Daniel: Then and Now (Audio CD)
In this cd Tony Benn recounts his family history, including where they come from and what they achieved. He has a lot of ancestors to be proud of! He then progresses onto his own life. And a wonderful life he has had too. Throughly enjoyable cd from a passionate politician. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A man of deep convictions, 28 April 2014
By 
Rev. T. J. Carter (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book sets out the influences on Benn which came from his parents and grandparents, including religious influences. It describes how he came to his sociialist views and what these were. Although one may not always agree with his standpoints, he was clearly a man of deeply held convictions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've always been an admirer of Tony Benn's rather way-out radicalism and it was fascinating to read about the upbringing which informed his world view. It's personal in tone without any hint of self pity and really easy to read. I would recommend it no matter your political point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Down to earth no nonsense what you would expect from Tony Benn. Would have liked more about his early family life and perhaps a little less politics. On the whole I enjoyed reading his book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A national treasure!, 29 Oct. 2012
By 
Wynne Kelly "Kellydoll" (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While by no means a brilliant writer, Tony Benn nonetheless puts over his ideas clearly and cogently. The section on his life was very interesting and he paints very affectionate portrait of his marriage. The last part is a collection of essays and speeches which were all very readable. He seems to have been around forever and in all that time has remained firm in his core beliefs. I believe he is very sincere but stops short of pomposity.

He is a stalwart of the left - a real national treasure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dare To Be A Daniel: Then and Now
Dare To Be A Daniel: Then and Now by Tony Benn (Audio CD - 7 Oct. 2004)
Used & New from: £5.17
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews