Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a little goes a long way...
Oh, how is it possible to be so pleased and yet so dissappointed in a book? Readers left wanting more after His Dark Materials will find that there is not much more on offer, as the major content of Lyra's Oxford is a short (note that word - the entire book is only 50 pages long), intriguing story set 2 years after the end of the trilogy. But what a beautiful book: it's...
Published on 5 Nov 2003 by coatgal

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One for the fans, but better was to come
As someone who has recently finished reading His Dark Materials and considers it one of the best series of novels ever written, I eagerly bought both this and Once Upon A Time In The North together from Amazon and - considering them both together - I am glad I did. I love miscellanies and companion books and both of these books are both great for the serious fan,...
Published on 2 Jun 2008 by Andromeda Descendent


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where are they now?, 4 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have read "His Dark Materials Trilogy" and enjoyed them you might be asking yourself the very question my title asks; where are they now?
Well... If you take a chance to read this book you will get some idea.
Here we look in on Lyra about two years after the end of the book "The Amber Spyglass".
Some people might describe this as a cheap money making ploy, but I think true fans (like myself) that were left at the end of the last book sobbing into their tissues, would enjoy this.
Yes, it might be a bit pricely, let us not forget that this short story is about the same length as a long chapter. But, we get the cool map and other paraphernalia that have fallen out between worlds into ours.

If the trilogy was nothing more than a story to you, you probably won't be all that excited about this, nor will you be very happy at paying a regular book price for a chapter long story. But, if it was more; if you fell in love with Lyra and Pan and all her friends then you should check this book out as it gives you that little bit more of a connection to that world and its magic.
It shows you that even though the trilogy is finished and all's right with the world(s), Lyra may be dealing with the aftermath for years to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars confused..., 25 Jan 2004
I borrowed this book to read from a friend and I am so glad I didn't buy it.
I really loved the His Dark Materials Trilogy and I thought this book was at least going to continue the story a little. What it actually has is a VERY short story about Lyra that just tells you some more details on what you already know happened to Lyra. And there's nothing about Will!
The book is WAY too expensive as well. This book is only for serious His Dark Material fans, who like lots of picky bits of background information on the story.
It gets three stars because I liked His Dark Materials and some of the extra bits inside were alright and the story did tell you SOME stuff that you didn't know before
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some answers ....., 18 Dec 2003
By A Customer
You basically get three things with this beautifully designed little book;
1. Answers to some questions in the trilogy, such as the name of Jordan college in our world, and also the location of Cittigazze (this location needs a little detective work with a good atlas).
2. Hints about the future direction of Pullman's follow-up books. Pullman himself refers to this little book as a stepping stone to the future works.
3. The narrative itself is little more than a chapter in length. It is a short and interesting read but nothing more.
Also, I enjoyed the wood block illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What? No We Want More!!!!, 11 Nov 2003
This is an interesting addition to the trilogy that gives a small insight to Lyra's life after she leaves Will. Unfortunately it's a very short story that doesn't explain itself. The map and postcards are also very good insights to other parts of the story that were only touched upon as insidentals in the trilogy.
I hope that if the rumered new book comes out, it will carry on this short story and explain it in more detail.
I agree that you must read the trilogy before reading this book or you will not understand what is going on.
Otherwise a really good short story that 'His Dark Materials' fans should read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pointless and dissapointing, 30 Jun 2011
I thought this was a bargain, however when it arrives its a pamphlet ! Not worth the money, not worth bothering reading either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What's the point?, 5 May 2010
By 
Oliveman (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is set after The Amber Spyglass wherein not much happens. This is a book in search of a plot; it has a feel of the writer's preliminary notes and an air of vanity publishing. Cynics may sniff that it has been published to capitalise on the success of the incredible His Dark Materials trilogy. Perhaps it would have been better to have published it posthumously like the Tolkien material. Recommended for the committed fan and even then only worth having for completion purposes rather than for any literary merit or narrative satisfaction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Give this a miss, 15 April 2008
I totally agree with Professor Paradox's review, except that it took me only 15 minutes to read!
I loved the trilogy but somehow this book has altered my view of His Dark Materials. Probably because I feel like I've been ripped off - this book offers nothing to extend the trilogy, rather it annoyed me that it is clearly a quickly-written, no-depth-to-it, money-making venture. Disgraceful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hmm. . .ok then, 29 April 2006
By 
A. White "Eternal-41269" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I brought this for a tenner while I was on holiday to pass the time. I found the story an enjoyable read and a welcome addtion to the His Dark Materials verse, but its plain and simple just too short.

Most of the books bulk its taken up with the pretty red binding and the fold out map which I looked at once. The postcard is a interesting little extra but frankly it has no point and varouis things throughtout are just there for the sake I think. Pullman would be better off making a notes book for die hard collectors of his work and the dark materials world rather then putting random stuff in this one.

I give this 3 stars on the basic that Lyra and the birds is a short story and a good one at that IF you'd read the other books.

Unless your a big fan though, forget it, its not worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good but VERY short, 5 Nov 2003
I read Philip Pullman's "His Dark Materials" trilogy back to back and enjoyed them immensely. I could not say the same for "Lyra's Oxford". Firstly, there is absolutely no point reading this book if you have not read "His Dark Materials" - it will make very little sense. Secondly and relatedly, any decent short story (whether part of a series or not) should be instantly readable. "Lyra's Oxford" is not. It does not add any new facade about any characters and if it reveals any upcoming plotlines, we'll have to wait for "The Book of Dust" (His Dark Materials 4) to find out. Thirdly, the story is very short and while well-written, not satisfactory at all.
On a more positive note, the illustrations and extras are absolutely beautiful and probably one of the few decent things about this book.
Basically, this will make an excellent present for any younger His Dark Materials trilogy fans BUT it will be probably read and forgotten in under an hour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you will sparkle in your own frustration., 24 Nov 2003
Ohhh for goodness sake, this book will tempt you back into lyras world and then leave waiting on the street corner wondering wether or not you should send a post card to the address left teasingly on the book art work.
If your a dark materials fan you must have this book just to satisfy your need to be back in Oxford, it will take you twenty minutes to read the story and the rest of the day to calm down from the frustration of not knowing what will happen next. Imagine the lord of the rings/rotk/ ending with "Frodo was just about to, the end. AAgHHHHHH.
buy this just for the love of it all, its wonderful, and you won't regret it I promise, even after your hair line shortens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lyra's Oxford (His Dark Materials)
Lyra's Oxford (His Dark Materials) by Philip Pullman (Audio CD - 6 Nov 2003)
Used & New from: 2.65
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews