Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Giant tab companies dodgy dealings.
I have read 6 of John Grishams novels now and this was a real page turner from the outset. The story centres around a massive court case involving the largest tobacco companies in the world and the lengths they well go to, to secure a verdict in their favour. At times the plot gets weighed down with court precedure but don't let this put you off. The book keeps you...
Published on 6 April 2001

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quit Grisham
As an author John Grisham is best when he sticks to the courtroom. Here he is able to bring his experience as a lawyer to the story and supplement the crime mystery. The likes of `A Time to Kill' remain classics, but for every hit, there have been several misses (especially later in his non-courtroom based career). One early misstep was `The Runaway Jury', a book...
Published on 2 Oct. 2012 by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Giant tab companies dodgy dealings., 6 April 2001
By A Customer
I have read 6 of John Grishams novels now and this was a real page turner from the outset. The story centres around a massive court case involving the largest tobacco companies in the world and the lengths they well go to, to secure a verdict in their favour. At times the plot gets weighed down with court precedure but don't let this put you off. The book keeps you gripped right up to the last 50 pages or so when you can pretty much guess the ending. Other than that, a right riveting read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars miles better than the film, 30 Aug. 2005
This review is from: The Runaway Jury (Paperback)
simply superb, starts off quite slowly while trying to choose the jury, once the trial gets going you will be amazed at Nicholas Easters skills together with his sidekick.
Truely amazing story, could someday become a non fiction account of a tobacco company's fate at trial.
Dont Miss this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quit Grisham, 2 Oct. 2012
By 
This review is from: The Runaway Jury (Paperback)
As an author John Grisham is best when he sticks to the courtroom. Here he is able to bring his experience as a lawyer to the story and supplement the crime mystery. The likes of `A Time to Kill' remain classics, but for every hit, there have been several misses (especially later in his non-courtroom based career). One early misstep was `The Runaway Jury', a book written in the mid-90s and now feels so dated that it is best buried in a time capsule for future generations to dig up and laugh at in the year 2062.

`Runaway' tackles the heavyweight issue of cigarette corporations and whether they are implicit in hooking people on to the killer sticks as teens. In the year 2012, we have already moved on great strides from the mid-90s, so a lot of what is written here seems pretty antiquated. The people in the book talk about quitting smoking, but many of them still light up indoors - old school. Being a novel of its time is not an issue, but being preachy is. Grisham has a clear agenda and let's say he is not a fan of conglomerates.

Once more this is not the biggest issue with the book that is left to a combination of character and structure. The lead character is a cocky failed law student who finds himself on the jury. Grisham specialises in heroes that are slightly annoying, but charismatic - in this case he fails as the lead is straight unpleasant. There is also a major issue with the structure of the book. Essentially, the entire thing is all waffle leading up to the final 30 pages when things actually happen. You could easily condense the story into a short.

With unlikable leads and a cop out structure, `The Runaway Jury' is Grisham's worst early work, but he had further depths to sink (see `Bleachers').
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should definitely make a Runaway Hit in the cinema halls, 2 Jan. 2007
This book is really good. Shame that they changed the topic from tobacco to guns in the film version.Interestingly the law suit won against Phillip Morris is very reflective of the books content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just an all around great read., 12 April 2007
Certainly one of Grisham's best works. Runaway Jury has just the right combination of Drama, acttion and interesting insight to the ugliness of the legal process.

The main character Nicholas Easter is compelling and really brings about a real reason to think about just how much justice can be served when going up against massive corporations with virtually unlimited resources power and influence.

unlike some of Grisham's other works this novel is tight non-repetitive and a good strong read. Well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has you turning the pages as fast asyou can to find out more, 6 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
The Runaway Jury is an example of John Grisham at his finest. The book follows the story of a large civil case against a tabacoo company which starts off as expected. However, it becomes clear that the jury are acting strangely, especially to those doing their best to see that their client wins - at whatever cost.
The story is full of suspense and surprises, the best of which, in true Grisham style, is until last. Try it - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific story, 22 Aug. 2011
By 
Bluebell (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Runaway Jury (Paperback)
I've enjoyed a number of John Grisham books and thought this one of his best. It's a real page turner that keeps you guessing until the end. Not only is it an exciting court-room drama but also a well-researched exposé of the underhand behaviour of the cigarette companies and their strategy of using paid academic acolytes who'll say anything for money to counter the genuine research that doesn't suit the industry. Much of the tension in the book is over how successful a devious strategist, working for the cigarette companies, will be in swinging the juries verdict by any means and at any expense. Terrific stuff! If you think that the lengths the defenders of cigarettes will go to in this book are far-fetched then reading the book The Cigarette Papers which, using secret papers unearthed by actual litigation, will reveal just how realistic the novel is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Addicting reading, although some readers may have issues with the subject matter, 14 Jun. 2010
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This is another very good legal thriller. Grisham explores the courtroom from the point of view of the jury this time, and the opposing groups of lawyers as they attempt to influence the jury in their favour. The twist is that someone on the jury wants to influence the lawyers. It's addictive reading and a really interesting plot that I've enjoyed reading.

I read the first half twice, which is something I've never tried before. I lost my copy when I was halfway through, and when I finally bought a replacement, six weeks later, decided to reread from the start so I didn't miss anything. I was really surprised by how easy it was to read again. The first time through I was quite confused about what was going on, but on the second go every fell into place and I understood straight away what the characters were up to.

Grisham keeps the plot developing at a good pace, especially amid events that could quickly become repetitive - given that each day has an identical structure for a lot of the characters. There are however a lot of unnecessary references that are not followed up on, some aspects that are never really explained, and some repetition.

My main criticism is that it ends like every other Grisham novel. It does have a nice little unexpected twist, but ultimately it comes down to the same thing. Is that what Grisham is planning once his writing career has earned him enough money? It's just a little awkward when you know every time how it's going to end.

Overall though the plot is genius, and he manages to keep you guessing on exactly how things are going to turn out right until the end. The whole story does come across a little like an epistle against tobacco, which didn't bug me but to those with differing views it may grate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smoke them out!, 5 Aug. 2007
Just a rip roaring good read. Makes me glad I never touched a ciggy in my life. Grisham's skill in taking an otherwise dull trial where experts espouse detailed and barely understandable terminology and turning it into something fast paced and exciting is truly remarkable.

I have to admit that of late I have been rather dissapointed by Grisham's work, particularly his novel the Summons for its incessent repetition of points already communicated ad infinitum, but this novel is certainly among his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read !, 17 April 2000
I really enjoyed this book. It was the usual top quality that you can expect from Grisham. The plot was completely original and to this day it is one of my favourite books. I would definately recommened this book to anyone who likes a fast moving, adventurous and gripping book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Runaway Jury
The Runaway Jury by John Grisham (Audio Cassette - 15 May 1996)
£13.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews