Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Herbal medicine is a big, big subject.....
but in 250 pages Anne McIntyre has managed to touch on all of the relevant aspects of herbal medicine, from observing different traditions around the world, through to explanations of constituents of herbs, how they heal, what they heal, includes details of how to conduct a consultation, a materia medica, colourful photos of herbs and much much more. I have a lot of herb...
Published on 1 Mar 2011 by Glenda Houston

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
it is not what i expected...it is more a general herb book with general information.
Published 2 months ago by m panday


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Herbal medicine is a big, big subject....., 1 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Gaia Complete Herbal Tutor (Paperback)
but in 250 pages Anne McIntyre has managed to touch on all of the relevant aspects of herbal medicine, from observing different traditions around the world, through to explanations of constituents of herbs, how they heal, what they heal, includes details of how to conduct a consultation, a materia medica, colourful photos of herbs and much much more. I have a lot of herb books, but this is by far one of the most comprehensive I have read. I am in my first year at University studying to become a medical herbalist, and found the answers to many unanswered questions in this book. The book has a lovely style and flows effortlessly from one section to another. A thoroughly enjoyable read, I would recommend this to anyone who is interested in becoming a medical herbalist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource, 8 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Gaia Complete Herbal Tutor (Paperback)
A truly excellent book from a reputable herbalist. The materia medica section covers 150 of the most commonly used herbs in western herbalism (including 'adopted' herbs such as Ashwaghanda)with the therapeutic actions, parts used, phytoconstituents and cautions for use. There are some simple facts on making herbal preparations and on growing them. All in all, a useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars herbal, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gaia Complete Herbal Tutor (Paperback)
a very informative book which is exactly what i was after. has a lot of pictures and drawings so you know what you are looking for when buying or picking herbs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 9 Dec 2012
By 
P. Turnbull (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gaia Complete Herbal Tutor (Paperback)
Strikes a good balance and makes a very good starting point, but always consult more than one "herbal" rather than stick a pin in a list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 1 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Gaia Complete Herbal Tutor (Paperback)
A well constructed guide to Herbal Practice would recommend to anyone who wants to work or enjoy herbs.
There are excellent pointers to other sources of information for further reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great book, 12 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: The Gaia Complete Herbal Tutor (Paperback)
An excellent starting point for anyone who wants to learn about herbal medicine, and for those who already know something but want more information. Anne McIntyre really knows how to teach her subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Words can't describe how pleased I am with this book!, 8 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gaia Complete Herbal Tutor (Paperback)
The Complete Herbal Tutor is a great introduction for any beginning herbalist and provides a great directory of 150 herbs and their uses. Everything is explained very clearly and I would recommend this book to everyone interested in herbalism! It even includes a chapter on how to grow and harvest herbs, with clear instructions and a guide of weather and soil conditions needed for each herb. The book includes everything you might need to know on this subject and all the information is beautifully presented with lots of photographs :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent for the novice and unprofessional alike, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gaia Complete Herbal Tutor (Paperback)
Where do I start? A fantastic introduction to western herbal medicine for the home herbalist and beginner, combined with a well laid-out reference book for the professional. The clear photographs and drawings enable easy identification of plants whilst the usage instructions and methods of preparations are very well explained. The explanation of body systems and health problems are clear and concise, linking in very well with how to address many ailments with herbs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gaia Complete Herbal Tutor (Paperback)
What I liked most about this book was the description of herb chemistries, benefits to the body, and warnings. I keep it open whenever I am creating a tea, tincture, or salve. Must read for people using herbal remedies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A useful guide to using herbs for health & wellbeing, 15 Nov 2014
By 
Anne Patterson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gaia Complete Herbal Tutor (Paperback)
I am beginning a journey of learning how to use herbs for health and wellbeing. This is a very useful book. The section on the chemistry of herbs was useful to help understand the basis for actions of herbs on the body. The herb directory covers a good range of herbs and gives an outline of the uses of each herb broken down into body systems. The section on treating common ailments is very well structured, with a nice introduction to each body system followed by an outline of common conditions affecting that body system and advice regarding herbal treatments and other measures to prevent and treat these conditions. The section on preparing herbs is very good. There is information on growing herbs, harvesting & preparing herbs, with an outline of growing conditions for all the herbs listed.

I thought it was a shame the section on Medicinal actions of herbs did not have definitions of the actions, as someone who is not familiar with these I had to look these up in another book. I felt the order of sections would have been better with the Treating common ailments section being placed before the section on the herbal consultation and it would have been more useful for some of the other sections to be re-ordered. I would have found it more useful to have the Herb Directory with common names listed alphabetically rather than the botanical names.

Overall this is a useful book although I don't think it quite warrants the subtitle of 'A structured course to achieve professional expertise'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Gaia Complete Herbal Tutor
The Gaia Complete Herbal Tutor by Anne McIntyre (Paperback - 30 Aug 2010)
£15.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews