Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars extremely useful
extremely useful especially for someone teaching meditation and needs more means to explain the possible learners that meditation is not some odd religious thing
and good for those curious about how brain works neuroscientifically
Published 28 days ago by L.

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dubious science
This book does have some interesting neurology but my concern is about how reliably it is reported when she makes some rather sweeping generalisations and is rather partial. As fundamentally we do not understand how consciousness is generated and much of neurological function is only explicable at the simplest level I feel she provides a sense of certainty where there is...
Published on 8 April 2008 by Tim Jim D


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dubious science, 8 April 2008
By 
Tim Jim D (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Blissful Brain: Neuroscience and Proof of the Power of Meditation (Gaia Thinking) (Paperback)
This book does have some interesting neurology but my concern is about how reliably it is reported when she makes some rather sweeping generalisations and is rather partial. As fundamentally we do not understand how consciousness is generated and much of neurological function is only explicable at the simplest level I feel she provides a sense of certainty where there is none. She presents highly controversial theories with no critique - acupuncture meridians detects through tracers, the quantum brain. She makes really crass errors - talking about 'under-developed invertebrate midbrains" - I think she means 'lower vertebrate' - but that is very poor language from an evolutionary perspective. She says the human brain has tripled in volume in the last 100,000 years which is nonsense. And anyone making these errors claiming a neurological understanding would either be very poorly read, highly uncritical of internet drivel as a likely source, or has a rubbish editor who is making errors on her behalf.
So I worry about how trustworthy her reporting of the research she cites actually is. And any book claining to be 'Scientific' using the word 'proof' for something as slippery as meditation to define goes against a proper scientific rigour in which all currently accepted claims remain yet to be disproven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could do better, 24 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blissful Brain: Neuroscience and Proof of the Power of Meditation (Gaia Thinking) (Paperback)
This is a useful book, because it brings together quite a lot of research on this important subject which has not been collected before. On the whole, too, it is academically authoritative. However, it's a pity it wasn't checked more carefully for factual errors, of which there are several; the author clearly has an axe to grind and that always makes the reader a little wary of the conclusions; and the net could have been cast a bit wider still, as it tends to concentrate on certain rather limited areas of research. With those provisos, if you are interested in this topic, it is a book worth reading, so long as you keep your critical faculties honed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars extremely useful, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blissful Brain: Neuroscience and Proof of the Power of Meditation (Gaia Thinking) (Paperback)
extremely useful especially for someone teaching meditation and needs more means to explain the possible learners that meditation is not some odd religious thing
and good for those curious about how brain works neuroscientifically
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blissful Brain: Neuroscience and Proof of the Power of Meditation (Gaia Thinking) (Paperback)
Whilst quite heavy going in places, this is a very interesting book if you ever wanted to know about the science behind meditation. As someone who is an 'open minded skeptic' this has helped me understand the 'why' of my practical meditation experiences. I would recommend for anyone teaching yoga or meditation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars try it out for yourself to know what the book is talking about., 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blissful Brain: Neuroscience and Proof of the Power of Meditation (Gaia Thinking) (Paperback)
I love this book. I began to read this book since I was researching to determine the link with the power of mind and meditation following severe Chronic Fatigue Syndrome; bed bound, slept for 21 hrs a day and taking tramadol, Ibuprofen, Cyclizine and many many more chemicals in huge doses daiy. Since reading this book, it helped me to focus my mind more and more on meditation and I began to feel better, with other modalities. As research into the power of the mind continues, it fits in with John Kabat-Zinn's work, Candace Pert, Bruce Lipton, Depak Chopra and many many other researchers and authors.Brilliant book, the best approach is to marry the theory with the practical application. You will begin to see a much calmer and a focused you emerging. The more you meditate the more you are becoming incharge of yourself. Thank you Dr Nataraja for re-awakening my deep roots.I am grateful to you and your book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab Book, 2 May 2011
This review is from: The Blissful Brain: Neuroscience and Proof of the Power of Meditation (Gaia Thinking) (Paperback)
Don't listen to all those sceptics who want proof, proof and more proof! Consciousness will always be subjective and therefore a different experience for each person. Dr has it right here - spot on - it's an amazing book and I credit it 1000% as a Master of Meditation as being 100% accurate. I speak from personal spiritual experience having realised these things myself personally.

I am often criticised for speaking about things that cannot be explained but many of them are so ahead of their time, that science is yet to catch up. This is not meant to sound arrogant, as these are things that I have personally experienced, so for me they are a reality. I never talk of things that I have not personally experienced.

DO READ THIS BOOK! It's fantastic and wonderful for the spiritual aspirant and again proves that Meditation is a truly amazing practice!

Rajesh Ananda
Spiriual Leader
FISU Meditaton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book I have been waiting for!, 27 April 2008
By 
This review is from: The Blissful Brain: Neuroscience and Proof of the Power of Meditation (Gaia Thinking) (Paperback)
Dr Nataraja explains clearly for the non-scientist the reasons why meditation is so effective. She does so in an unbiased and objective manner respecting the value of all different ways of meditation. Her range of research is very impressive. It is very convincing! If you are meditating it increases your commitment and if you are not you can't wait to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very authorative and reasuring review of the power of meditation, 23 April 2013
By 
M. Palmer (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blissful Brain: Neuroscience and Proof of the Power of Meditation (Gaia Thinking) (Paperback)
I have been teaching Buddhist meditation for may years and have seen the benefit to both myself and to those I teach. However, it is reasuring to read a review of the effectiveness of meditation written by someone ablt to take a scientific viewpoint. I quote from it often and recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant academics made userfriendly, 11 Feb 2009
By 
Sigrun Hoppmann (Guernsey and South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Blissful Brain: Neuroscience and Proof of the Power of Meditation (Gaia Thinking) (Paperback)
I loved this book because I found even as a non-healthcare professional you would have wanted to read it and would have found it very relevant in your daily life.She touched sensitive issues with a great deal of caution so that in my opinion nobody could feel offended.
Advisable for anyone who wishes to know more about the intricacies of the human brain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae9c45dc)

This product

The Blissful Brain: Neuroscience and Proof of the Power of Meditation (Gaia Thinking)
Used & New from: 7.65
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews