Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent step-by-step introductory Qigong (Chi Kung) manual
The Way of Energy provides a step-by-step, almost month-to-month introduction to the practice of Qigong.

Many Qigong books are too "Eastern" for Westerners to read, or are too technical/textbook like, spending many pages going over the meridians, cavities, times of day and orientation. This is required knowledge for advanced practicioners, but gets in the way...
Published on 29 Dec 2006 by Larry Ketchersid

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good information
The book provides good information of the subject, Does not give any extra information than other books on the market out there. May be good to add to your collection as reference book.
Published 12 months ago by Bookworm


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent step-by-step introductory Qigong (Chi Kung) manual, 29 Dec 2006
The Way of Energy provides a step-by-step, almost month-to-month introduction to the practice of Qigong.

Many Qigong books are too "Eastern" for Westerners to read, or are too technical/textbook like, spending many pages going over the meridians, cavities, times of day and orientation. This is required knowledge for advanced practicioners, but gets in the way and is intimidating for introductory students.

The Way of Energy starts of with a simple, straightforward standing meditation. After a brief introduction to Qigong, Part One introduces two standing positions, discusses how to start with a few minutes then work your way up to many, a good section on breathing and has an excellent section describing the sensations most people experience when starting Qigong practice (this section is worth the price of the book for most beginners).

Part Two (which the text recommends proceeding to after a few months) introduces the Eight Pieces of the Brocade Qigong exercies (called Ba Duan Jin in this text) and introduces three additional and advanced standing positions. The reader is instructed on how to integrate these two new pieces into their practice. While the Eight Pieces of Brocade positions vary slightly from other texts, their descriptions are excellent and their purpose briefly but clearly explained.

Part Three describes four advanced standing positions and imagery exercises for the practicioner to begin managing their Chi. The last part of the book describes how to integrate these disciplines into everyday life.

In summary, an excellent introductory step-by-step guide. For more technical works, I would recommend the Qigong Meditation series by Dr. Yang, Jwing Ming (Embryonic Breathing, Small Circulation and the forthcoming book on Grand Circulation).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truely magical, 9 April 2002
By A Customer
I don`t know if the techniques in this book are meant to work immediately, but my mother has been suffering from leg and hip problems for several years now and her problems have never been properly diagnosed. In short the doctors don`t know whats wrong with her and she is generally in alot of pain! When I brought this book my mother read and performed the first warmup excercises and stood in the first position for about five minutes before she went to bed. When she woke up the next day she said to me that that was the first time in two years that she has slept for 4 hours without being woken by her pain. That was enough to sell it to me and I hope you buy, read and find help in this book like my Mum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd give it ten stars if i could., 18 Aug 2007
By 
P. Duval "philip_duval" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I can't describe how glad i am that i bought this book. I began studying it nine months ago and I've kept it going everyday since. It has given me so much energy, calmed me down and got rid of my sinus problem (which i'd had operations and all sorts for).

The concept of 'Chi' probably sounds outlandish to the western mind but whatever these exercises do they make you feel good. Ive heard scientific explanations which sound reasonable - that it is increased nerve activity and better circulation. Again whatever it is, it works!

I went to see Master Lam for a private class and i was really impressed. He's a very earthy, friendly man and the advice he gave me was well worth trekking down to London for.

If you have any problems with lethargy, stiffness, poor health - definitely give this book a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for people of all ages interested in fitness., 20 April 2002
By 
This review is from: The Way of Energy: Mastering the Chinese Art of Internal Strength with Chi Kung Exercise (Paperback)
A brilliant book for people of all ages and gender.
Master Lam explains in lay persons language, the way to enhance personal energy and health through this age old Chinese method of passive exercise.
Zhan Zhuang allows for individual progress so there is no 'huffing and puffing' to get fit.
A real must for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best on the market, 21 Jun 2004
Really, really excellent. This is a *zero impact* (ie: no wear and tear on your joints or muscles) exercise, which is REAL exercise. If you think you can stand still with your arms held in front of you for more than a minute or two without breaking a sweat and hitting an aerobic state, you're probably wrong :)
I did this style to the accompanying video "Stand Still, Be Fit" which is also highly recommended! It resulted in a huge increase in energy for me, more flexibility and the loss of a belt size from my waist - it's serious exercise!
if Tai Chi is too complicated or distracting for you, imagine doing it while standing still... great for meditation, great for exercise: in short, it's just great.
Haven't found a better style anywhere on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful beyond belief, 25 Oct 2007
When I bought this book about 10 years ago, my neck and shoulders were so tight and painful that I could hardly focus on anything else. Ergonometric adjustments at my desk didn't help. Yoga didn't help. I didn't want to type at all.

Within a few weeks of doing the basic exercises provided in this book, I was beginning to feel relief ... and hope. After a month or so, I was nearly back to 100%. Now, 10 years later, I haven't had any serious problems since in my neck or shoulders when typing. When I feel myself getting tension there, it's a reminder to return to the exercises described in this book. The basic, warm-up exercises are sufficient to help me if I'm in a hurry. They only take about 15 minutes and are easy to remember. They're not a strain in the way some yoga exercises can be. After less than 10 minutes of doing this chi kung, I begin to feel re-energized: that happens almost every time I do them.

Of all the health practices I've tried, this one delivers the most and all through this book. No classes, no mystical grasping of some nameless form. I just did what was described and it worked. Sorry if this sounds too good to be true. I hope it works as well for you as it has for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly an excellent introduction, 28 May 2006
Many exercise manuals spend a great deal of time seeling the ideas behind the exercise style and devote little space to "how" the exercise regime applies. This book gets straight into it, with plenty of drawings and explanations. The regime itself sounds deceptively easy, but is quite demanding. The warm up, "ba duan gin" exercises [a sort of Chinese yoga] and then the period of standing + warm down take up to 30 mins. Once it is a part of your routine however, it flows naturally.

The system does produce fitness benefits that you would associate with more gym like routines.

I am sorry to sound like a zealot, but this does work and is something almost anyone could attempt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has Stood the Test of Time, 7 Mar 2010
By 
Stewart Hay (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Way of Energy: Mastering the Chinese Art of Internal Strength with Chi Kung Exercise (Paperback)
Registered Tai Chi Chuan Instructor - TCUGB
Instructor - Northern Wu Style Tai Ji Quan Global Association

The Way of Energy is really two books for the price of one as Lam Kam Chuen teaches readers the distinct Ba Duan Jin and Zhan Zhuang Chi Kung systems.

Lam teaches a version of the Ba Duan Jin, or Eight Pieces of Brocade, as a complementary exercise to his Zhan Zhuang. Lam's rationale is that the Eight Pieces will help to improve the body's ability to handle increased chi flow resulting from Zhan Zhuang practice.

Lam doesn't identify the location of the chi meridians that will be enhanced by each Brocade but he does describe the specific benefit of each exercise. Furthermore, Lam gives basic and advanced versions of each Brocade so that levels of difficulty and capability are balanced.

Lam's Zhan Zhuang system comes from the lineage of the famous martial artist Wang Xiang Zhai and in "The Way" Lam shares teachings from Wang's original (Chinese) manuscripts.

Lam teaches the five basic Zhan Zhuang postures with clear illustrations, photos and descriptions. Typical physical reactions are also documented.

Lam goes on to teach progressively more difficult Zhan Zhuang postures and practices together with "mentality exercises" to derive further benefits.

Lam also describes the use of Zhan Zhuang in daily life and includes exercise regimes for various ailments.

The book is beautifully illustrated. In addition to drawings and photos relating to the Chi Kung there are many uplifting photographs of trees accompanied by relevant poetry.

I bought this book almost 20 years ago. Since then "The Way of Energy" has rightly become a modern classic. It is still as useful and important today as it was when first published. Lam is to be admired for sharing his Chi Kung so openly and empowering his readers to take positive and personal action to improve their own health.

This book is a very highly recommended buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 18 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Way of Energy: Mastering the Chinese Art of Internal Strength with Chi Kung Exercise (Paperback)
Yes, I agree with everyone who says this is a very good book. I've been practicing Tai Chi and Qigong for about 3 years now and this has been a valuable reference aid. The exercises taught - post standing and 8 brocades qigong are very well presented and accessible to all. If you're new to Chinese health exercises, it's a good place to start - if you're experienced you'll also find a wealth of detailed information on stuff you've perhaps been practicing for years. These are not obscure exercises, but are taught in many martial arts schools because of their effectiveness. It's also beautifully and appropriately illustrated.

I own many books on qigong and tai chi, but this is one of the few I come back to time and time again. It's simple, unintimidating, unpretentious and straight forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended book on Chi Kung for begginers., 25 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Way of Energy: Mastering the Chinese Art of Internal Strength with Chi Kung Exercise (Paperback)
This is one of the best books I have ever come across for beginners to learn the Ba Duan Jin and Zhan Zhuang. It is better than some of the books written in Chinese on the same Chi Kung techniques. Highly recommended for beginners and practitioners alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Way of Energy: Mastering the Chinese Art of Internal Strength with Chi Kung Exercise
Used & New from: 9.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews