Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recycled Home - interesting book
Recycled Home by Rebecca Proctor features 50 creative craft projects for the home, created using unwanted, salvaged or repurposed materials. The book covers a wide range of projects including hand painted towels, feature cushions, braided rag rugs and ragbag bunting. Some of these are made completely from upcycled materials, whilst others combine the use of new and old...
Published on 25 Sept. 2012 by Madscouser

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good ideas
Written for USA market but ideas applicable to all western countries. Liked layout and ideas. One of the best books on Up-Cycling, in that the author actually understands what the word means. A mixture of arty and practical projects, so would appeal to a good cross-section of people. Good for use in a youth club or school for getting ideas. Try and get a second-hand...
Published 6 months ago by Mr. R. J. Harrington-vail


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recycled Home - interesting book, 25 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Recycled Home: Transform Your Home Using Salvaged Materials (Paperback)
Recycled Home by Rebecca Proctor features 50 creative craft projects for the home, created using unwanted, salvaged or repurposed materials. The book covers a wide range of projects including hand painted towels, feature cushions, braided rag rugs and ragbag bunting. Some of these are made completely from upcycled materials, whilst others combine the use of new and old materials. A variety of crafts are covered including woodwork, paper crafts and of course sewing.

The book is organised into different sections that correspond with the different areas of your home, such as Sleeping and Bathing. I found some of the projects a little avant-garde for my style, but there is such a wide variety of projects featured in this book that there is bound to be a number of projects that appeal to most readers. Personally I love the Patchwork Tweed blanket, the Furoshiki Gift Bag (look out my sewing friends, this may well be how your Christmas pressies are wrapped) and I will be making the Mushroom rattle for a friend who's pregnant, well for the baby! :-)

This review also appears on The Sewing Directory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for recycling, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recycled Home: Transform Your Home Using Salvaged Materials (Paperback)
I am quite enjoying this book but I would like it more if the printing style was better. It is a bit all over the place
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, but wish there were more smaller projects, 15 Oct. 2014
By 
dmcnabb - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recycled Home: Transform Your Home Using Salvaged Materials (Paperback)
I purchased this book as a gift for a family member who likes to recycle whatever she can around the house and make neat little things out of it. I thought that this book may give her a few ideas and a little bit of inspiration. I had thought the book would be more about recycling everyday, small objects, but much of the book was about larger items - cabinets, bath racks, quilts etc. There were a few smaller projects recycling cans and old jars, but I would say the majority of the projects in this book require a sewing machine or power tools. Having said that, the book is very detailed with step by step instructions, lots of pictures and lots of detail. i think this book is ideal for someone who likes to recycle items from home or source items to upcycle. It is also ideal for those who do not have a lot of experience doing such things as there is so much detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good ideas, 15 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr. R. J. Harrington-vail "Ray HV" (Isle of Wight) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Recycled Home: Transform Your Home Using Salvaged Materials (Paperback)
Written for USA market but ideas applicable to all western countries. Liked layout and ideas. One of the best books on Up-Cycling, in that the author actually understands what the word means. A mixture of arty and practical projects, so would appeal to a good cross-section of people. Good for use in a youth club or school for getting ideas. Try and get a second-hand version, as I don't think it's worth the full cover price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ideas, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recycled Home: Transform Your Home Using Salvaged Materials (Paperback)
Today, you could probably find all of the ideas that are in the book, online. DIY projects and reusing materials and objects is something a lot of people are interested in and because of that it is really easy to find similar projects and ideas online and it's cheaper. But there is something quite satisfying in having a beautifully illustrated book about that kind of subject. For me it is part of the fun to have a book in front of me instead of a screen. It is a lot more enjoyable. Also, this book has some really good ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More for less, 8 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recycled Home: Transform Your Home Using Salvaged Materials (Paperback)
Quite a quirky little book, but with great ideals to brighten your home for little outlay. My daughter showed me this book first, then I just had to have it to share with my craft group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Recycled Home: Transform Your Home Using Salvaged Materials
Recycled Home: Transform Your Home Using Salvaged Materials by Rebecca Proctor (Paperback - 13 Aug. 2012)
£14.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews