Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's all about hue, value and saturation
This book gives you a great understanding of Colour and how to use it. The only thing I didn't understand is why the exercises used gouache paint; acrylic would have been easier. I really think about colour more than I had before and it has helped with my paintings. I would recommend this book for anyone that wants to get a better understanding of the different effects...
Published 6 months ago by Annmarie M.

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Not what I expected
Published 2 months ago by Emanuel Gomes Monteiro


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's all about hue, value and saturation, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour: A Workshop For Artists and Designers (Paperback)
This book gives you a great understanding of Colour and how to use it. The only thing I didn't understand is why the exercises used gouache paint; acrylic would have been easier. I really think about colour more than I had before and it has helped with my paintings. I would recommend this book for anyone that wants to get a better understanding of the different effects colour combinations have on the eye. It also clarifies hue, value, saturation and much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to understand about colour, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour: A Workshop For Artists and Designers (Paperback)
The ultimate colour workshop for anyone who loves and is inspired by colour, and who wants to understand it further. I was inspired for my designs by the colour combinations that were explained so well. You can dip and dive into the book as needed, but it's worth reading carefully from cover to cover if you have time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour: A Workshop For Artists and Designers (Paperback)
It's just a practical straight forward approach to grasping color theory. The practice workshops are helpful in gaining experience and building confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 28 Sep 2013
By 
julie c weston (wirral, merseyside, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour: A Workshop For Artists and Designers (Paperback)
Very good book, am studying fine art and find this invaluable. It is a reference book to me...so much information with excercises demonstrating the colour theory. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour: A Workshop For Artists and Designers (Paperback)
It's currently my bedtime reading. I love all the exercises. I have learned a lot from all the examples and artists work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour: A Workshop For Artists and Designers (Paperback)
I am a lapsed artist and needed a reminder of how exciting colour control was - this did the job
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars art, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour: A Workshop For Artists and Designers (Paperback)
A very useful and informative book---at least for me---if you are about to take up art. It explains a lot about the use of colour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of ideas a projects to learn with., 12 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour: A Workshop For Artists and Designers (Paperback)
Full of useful and interesting exercises. A valuable tool for me studying textiles at degree level. This is recommended course reading material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars useful book, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour: A Workshop For Artists and Designers (Paperback)
This is useful to all students who are needing to use colour to good effect. Many accomplished artists will also find this useful and thought provoking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. John C. Stephens "John Stephens" (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour: A Workshop For Artists and Designers (Paperback)
Excellent book with good colour illustrations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Colour: A Workshop For Artists and Designers
Colour: A Workshop For Artists and Designers by Michael James (Paperback - 20 Aug 2012)
£15.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews