Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring
I think this should be found in any aspiring graphic designer's library. It's a compact and not particularly expensive book with lots of fine pictures and lucid descriptions of the point the author is trying to make. I keep on dipping into it, and I've been at this game for 30 years now. I particularly like how each of the ideas is showcased pertinent detail, but also...
Published on 24 May 2012 by S. D. Spicer

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Challenging
Most books about (the history of) graphic design take a chronological approach. The idea to review graphic design as a set of challenging ideas/concepts is very interesting, even though not every one of the 100 ideas deserves to be included. Of course, "100 ideas that ..." is a better title than "73 ideas that ..."
Published on 21 May 2012 by P. Heesterbeek


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 24 May 2012
By 
S. D. Spicer (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Ideas that Changed Graphic Design (Paperback)
I think this should be found in any aspiring graphic designer's library. It's a compact and not particularly expensive book with lots of fine pictures and lucid descriptions of the point the author is trying to make. I keep on dipping into it, and I've been at this game for 30 years now. I particularly like how each of the ideas is showcased pertinent detail, but also includes many other smaller items that might go unnoticed. For a concise overview of the last 80 or so years I don't think I've seen a better book recently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for broadening your knowledge, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Ideas that Changed Graphic Design (Paperback)
This is a great book for those wanting to know more about the influences on graphic design over the last few thousand years! It is very comprehensive, with each section having just 2 pages dedicated to it - I thought the book may not allow me to delve deep enough into various subjects but it is very cleverly (and well) written as each section has well thought out text and accompanying illustrations but more importantly it references artists, books, movements etc. I have found that in order to get the most out of this book I sit reading it at my computer and google the references (both the web and google images). It is a great resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for anybody interested in graphic design, 5 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Ideas that Changed Graphic Design (Paperback)
Great book for anybody interested in graphic design. Well written and each topic includes a full page sample and also 2-3 smaller examples. Great detail and ideal if you are studying graphic design or interested in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars simple, accessible, broad, 16 Sept. 2013
This review is from: 100 Ideas that Changed Graphic Design (Paperback)
I bought this to assist teaching GCSE Graphic Communications. It's very useful as each mini chapter gives you ideas and topics you might want to cover in schemes of work, plus provides clear contextual links.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars books, 14 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Ideas that Changed Graphic Design (Paperback)
100 Ideas that Changed Graphic Design was a preent for a newly qualified graphic designer who got lots of ideas from it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Creative and inspiring, 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Ideas that Changed Graphic Design (Paperback)
Bought this for my friend who studies this subject at uni. She said she found it very inspiring and helped her lots with her projects, giving her ideas on what to base them on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Designer/Student, 19 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Ideas that Changed Graphic Design (Paperback)
This book helped me write my dissertation. So many areas of designs are covered in the book. Highly recommend for any designer or student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Ideas that Changed Graphic Design (Paperback)
Book was as described, I bought this as a Christmas gift and the recipient ( young graphic designer) was very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great visual book, 23 May 2013
By 
C. E. Francis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Ideas that Changed Graphic Design (Paperback)
Great inspiration for posters for GCSE art. This is a lovely book with really good clear images of posters and typography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good reference., 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Ideas that Changed Graphic Design (Paperback)
A very good reference if graphics are your interest or profession and enlightening on most aspects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Ideas that Changed Graphic Design
100 Ideas that Changed Graphic Design by Veronique Vienne (Paperback - 2 April 2012)
£13.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews