Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clearly structured and comprehensive
This book appropriately expands earlier versions to include Mesopotamia at the beginning of the survey and more recent material towards the end of the volume.

It is very clearly structured, by time periods, and within, by geographical areas like regions or countries, depending on the period.

The purpose is rather comprehensive with including all most...
Published on 25 April 2010 by Artsreadings

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting subject matter, but confusing book to read.
I bought A History of Western Architecture for the course I am taking in Art History as it was one of the course's obligatory textbooks. I have to admit that, despite the very interesting subject matter, this is not one of the most pedagogical textbooks I have read. In fact, I believe a few things could defenitely be improved. Many complexe architectural terms are not...
Published on 3 Mar. 2009 by Casto


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clearly structured and comprehensive, 25 April 2010
By 
This book appropriately expands earlier versions to include Mesopotamia at the beginning of the survey and more recent material towards the end of the volume.

It is very clearly structured, by time periods, and within, by geographical areas like regions or countries, depending on the period.

The purpose is rather comprehensive with including all most significant names and places in the narrative with specific analyses. Not every building gets proper illustration but that is pretty much the law of the genre and nothing to worry too much about.

By the end of the volume, most readers should have obtained a well rounded impression of Western architecture from the origins to the present day.

Well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting subject matter, but confusing book to read., 3 Mar. 2009
By 
Casto (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
I bought A History of Western Architecture for the course I am taking in Art History as it was one of the course's obligatory textbooks. I have to admit that, despite the very interesting subject matter, this is not one of the most pedagogical textbooks I have read. In fact, I believe a few things could defenitely be improved. Many complexe architectural terms are not explained or, if they are so in another chapter, there is no reference to where this explanation is. Some words are listed in the back of the book with definitions, but this does not emcompass all. Also, the authors mention many buildings without including images, plans or drawings of them. This book can, therefore, only be enjoyed if one has already knowledge about architecture or read other, better explained textbooks in advance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheaper than a more expensive book....., 23 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
This book has prooved to be extremely useful in the history part of my degree. Obviously, this book cannot compare in detail and magnificance to Sir Banister-Fletchers' Bible ('A History of Architecture on the Comparative Method'), but it is a great deal more affordable. If an older version of Banister-Fletcher (ie, pre 18th edition) can be found then it is better to get that instead, but if not, this book is equally resourceful. All the descriptions and illustrations are there, though the detailing doesn't go to as much depth as B-F's. This book is ideal though if all you need is a brief reference to a particular historical movement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Oct. 2014
This review is from: A History of Western Architecture (Paperback)
A reference book for architectural studies at Edinburgh Unibersity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A History of Western Architecture (Paperback)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A History of Western Architecture
A History of Western Architecture by David Watkin (Paperback - 12 Sept. 2011)
£24.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews