Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good
A little on the expensive side, but it's a huge book with lots of great information and pictures.
I don't think I need to say more than that as if you're thinking of buying it I don't want to give any of it's information away in this review.
I was interested in Saul Bass as I love the simplicity of his graphics and I found this a great read.
Published 6 months ago by Brian Azarello

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a full credit to Mr Bass
A timely release about one of the great and influential designers of the last century and clearly Pat Kirkham has made this a scholarly work considering the amount of research involved. The title will most likely become the standard biography of Bass. Having said that I was disappointed to find the book had some editorial flaws in its presentation.

Millions of...
Published on 12 Nov 2011 by Robin Benson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a full credit to Mr Bass, 12 Nov 2011
By 
Robin Benson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saul Bass: A Life in Film & Design (Hardcover)
A timely release about one of the great and influential designers of the last century and clearly Pat Kirkham has made this a scholarly work considering the amount of research involved. The title will most likely become the standard biography of Bass. Having said that I was disappointed to find the book had some editorial flaws in its presentation.

Millions of movie-goers are familiar with the stunning credits Bass created (sixty stills are included in a fold-out dateline at the back pages) from Carmen Jones in 1954 to Casino in 1995 and the book rightly devotes a large number of pages to credits and the marketing of movies. My first disappointment is that a DVD was not included with the book. OK, I'll accept that this would involve a lot of extra work (and probably copyright fees to make the book even costlier) and it wasn't in the author's remit so the fall back position would be to show the credits in as much detail as possible: frame by frame to give the reader a feel of how Bass created these powerful opening statements to a movie. Unfortunately many of these credit stills throughout the book are treated more as individual images, in various sizes, rather than shown as a sequence of large thumbnails. Solana and Boneu's Uncredited Graphic Design and Opening Titles book has a whole chapter on Bass credits and the pages work well. 'Anatomy of a murder' has thirty-two thumbnails, 'North by northwest' has twenty-four. In this book they get six and five.

Chapter six looks at the corporate work of Saul Bass and he worked for a lot of companies. The book's coverage is hardly comprehensive when this kind of design commission looks into every visual corner of a company. Mostly what is shown are a few samples: Fuller Paints gets five photos and a logo; Rockwell International three and a logo; Minolta two photos, two logos and five still thumbnails. These corporate pages throw up another disappointment I had with the book: presentation. Flick through the pages and it all looks clean and tidy but then start to read a chapter and I became aware of the large amounts of empty page space (working white as designers call it) where, as this is a book about a visual subject, images should be working much harder. These are pretty pages rather than practical pages that reveal the full potential of the images to the reader. A good example are two fold-outs showing logos sixteen to a page, actually they would have fitted easily on two pages but on four pages they should have been much larger without destroying the book's design integrity. A spread on AT&T (pages 330/331) has ten images and text that would easily fit on one page.

A book that has plenty of pages using less than 50% of the space for images and text suggests to me that there are too many pages, not enough material to fill or the images should have been larger. It is the latter that is the problem here.

What I found absolutely fascinating were the fifteen pages of notes in the back pages. Predictably set in tiny type yet full of detail about Saul Bass, design and the design community he worked in.

The book's printing is excellent, a nice matt art for the 1484 images using an impressively fine screen (three hundred+) an embossed cover with the 'Bonjour tristesse' logo. 'Saul Bass' is certainly an interesting book but I thought the presentation didn't really display this wonderful designer's work to its full potential, especially his stunning movie credits.

###LOOK AT SOME INSIDE PAGES by clicking 'customer images' under the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saul Bass: A Life in Film & Design (Hardcover)
A little on the expensive side, but it's a huge book with lots of great information and pictures.
I don't think I need to say more than that as if you're thinking of buying it I don't want to give any of it's information away in this review.
I was interested in Saul Bass as I love the simplicity of his graphics and I found this a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like a Fanzine, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saul Bass: A Life in Film & Design (Hardcover)
A beautifully produced book but some what of a fanzine. Perhaps Bass needed to be set inside a wider historical context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saul Bass: A Life in Film & Design (Hardcover)
Good value for money, extensive monograph, this is the book that every designer should have in his library. Thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The soul of Saul Bass, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saul Bass: A Life in Film & Design (Hardcover)
During my education on the School of Journalism I saw a retrospective of Saul Bass on a film festival. I was an instant fan. This book is almost a perfect tribute to his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saul Bass: A Life in Film & Design (Hardcover)
Bought this book for my son's birthday. He is a Graphic Designer and the images bring back different eras.- Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saul Bass: A Life in Film & Design (Hardcover)
We brought A Life in Film & Design for our sons birthday as he really enjoys and appreciates works by and also about Saul Bass, it is a very interesting publication. It arrived safe and sound, no problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life in film and design, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saul Bass: A Life in Film & Design (Hardcover)
Bought as a present for my daughter for which it was necessary for her tutorials. She is very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Saul Bass A Life In Film & Design, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saul Bass: A Life in Film & Design (Hardcover)
I Ordered this book as part of a Christmas present for my son in law as he is a designer he was more than pleased with it. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and fascinating, 2 Jan 2012
By 
Angela Blair (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saul Bass: A Life in Film & Design (Hardcover)
this makes a great gift for anyone who may know Saul Bass it is beautifully laid out with decent text accompanying it and it also covers his other work in graphic design and advertising. pricey but well worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saul Bass: A Life in Film & Design
Saul Bass: A Life in Film & Design by Pat Kirkham (Hardcover - 7 Nov 2011)
32.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews