Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Product design
A very useful book for those who want to build manufacturing processes and materials knowledge in the of Product design and similar areas.Easy to read with pictures to aid your understanding of the materials and different processes. A reference book for lifetime. I would definitely recommend.
Published 18 months ago by Pedro Parente

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars No chapter on welding
It is disappointing that there is not even a single word in the book about 'welding'. It is an inevitable process in making process. Overall it is okay to keep this book as a quick reference. Next time, I will make sure to go through the contents page before buying a book.
Published 1 month ago by HALIM SHA


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars No chapter on welding, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making It: Manufacturing Techniques for Product Design (Paperback)
It is disappointing that there is not even a single word in the book about 'welding'. It is an inevitable process in making process. Overall it is okay to keep this book as a quick reference. Next time, I will make sure to go through the contents page before buying a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making It: Manufacturing Techniques for Product Design (Paperback)
A book for my A level class to help with the understanding of the production processes. Very pleased with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good overview, one big ommision, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making It: Manufacturing Techniques for Product Design (Paperback)
The book provides a good overview of material processing, applications and finishing techniques.

One technique which is not included is welding of any description. Welding is one of the most widely used processes in industry and whilst I appreciate you could write a whole book on it I'm sure the author could have included a page on TIG, MIG, Friction stir etc. just for completeness.

A good book for initially selecting a process but more technical content would be required to make it a must for any engineer or designer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Product design, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making It: Manufacturing Techniques for Product Design (Paperback)
A very useful book for those who want to build manufacturing processes and materials knowledge in the of Product design and similar areas.Easy to read with pictures to aid your understanding of the materials and different processes. A reference book for lifetime. I would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great as a reference, 19 Aug 2012
By 
legologic (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making It: Manufacturing Techniques for Product Design (Paperback)
The content in this book is well presented and fairly exhaustive. It's definitely more of a reference book than one you could read through but as a reference it's really great. My only small gripe is that some of the information is awkwardly or inconsistently laid out though it's only occasionally and it's not a big problem. It can sometimes be useful to browse through for inspiration or ideas.

An excellent book for industrial/product designers with some great guidelines for a multitude of production processes. I would definitely recommend it to other designers to have on their shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great overview of manufacturing techniques, 22 Mar 2012
By 
P. Bristow - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making It: Manufacturing Techniques for Product Design (Paperback)
This book "does exactly what it says on the tin". Provides a great overview of many different manufacturing techniques that product designers can use, along with example products for each type. There are also web links to find out more about a given technique, and often one or more suppliers.

It's very colourful, with plenty images of the technique in use. The imagery is so good I want to see the film of this book :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Aug 2014
This review is from: Making It: Manufacturing Techniques for Product Design (Paperback)
Great!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Making It: Manufacturing Techniques for Product Design
Making It: Manufacturing Techniques for Product Design by Chris Lefteri (Paperback - 27 Feb 2012)
13.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews