Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
I spotted this book in the Tate bookshop in St Ives and wished I had purchased it then. However, found it here, bought it and haven't put it down since. It's one of the best books I've come across for explaining how the first timer can master building websites. It covers everything from building to hosting. It answers so many of those questions you have no idea where to...
Published 21 months ago by ian hughes

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Development, not design
Bit confused why this book is called "How to design websites" when it doesn't have much to say on things like wireframing, UX design or graphic design.

What it provides is a very basic overview of some basic web development areas, but none in enough detail to master them.

A lack of concern for SEO (use Flash! use Frames! host on wordpress.com!) and...
Published 10 months ago by Batley Carr


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Design Websites (Portfolio Skills) (Paperback)
I spotted this book in the Tate bookshop in St Ives and wished I had purchased it then. However, found it here, bought it and haven't put it down since. It's one of the best books I've come across for explaining how the first timer can master building websites. It covers everything from building to hosting. It answers so many of those questions you have no idea where to find the answers for. If you're interested in building your first website this is the ideal book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Development, not design, 30 Nov 2013
This review is from: How to Design Websites (Portfolio Skills) (Paperback)
Bit confused why this book is called "How to design websites" when it doesn't have much to say on things like wireframing, UX design or graphic design.

What it provides is a very basic overview of some basic web development areas, but none in enough detail to master them.

A lack of concern for SEO (use Flash! use Frames! host on wordpress.com!) and security issues (install 3rd party plug-ins!) suggests to me that this is a designer writing about development rather than the designer-writing-about-design book I'd hoped for.

(I am reading the 2011 edition and am only half way through... it might get better)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Design Websites (Portfolio Skills) (Paperback)
I needed a fast and easy way to build my own website and this book helped a lot in this sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for beginners and useful inspiration for more advanced coders, 13 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Design Websites (Portfolio Skills) (Paperback)
This is a very nicely designed book and a pleasure to read. Large, colour illustrations of tasteful modern websites, as well as a very well-written guide to current web standards and all aspects of modern basic web design. I would recommend this, in conjunction with a more in-depth book on HTML and CSS, to anyone looking to build their own website. I wish more instructional books were as much of a joy to read as this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top book and very useful for beginners and professionals, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Design Websites (Portfolio Skills) (Paperback)
I love this book! It’s so easy to read and packed with great ideas. Ideally you must have a creative background to get the most out of it. I would not recommend it to anyone who wants a quick fix into designing websites. It uses terms familiar to designer and illustrators and demonstrates how you can transfer these skills onto web. The book is packed with delightful website examples and talks about key features in details. The layout is tasty and the book itself a work of art - One for the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Design Websites (Portfolio Skills)
How to Design Websites (Portfolio Skills) by Alan Pipes (Paperback - 17 Oct 2011)
£11.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews