Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such An Exciting Book!
I was so excited when this book arrived! There's so much information that I quickly skimmes through and then started reading through each chapter. It gives such a great insight into children's books. It also shows great feedback from children and their thoughts on a few stories. The artwork inside if beautiful and overall it's a wonderful read! A must have for anyone with...
Published on 28 Feb 2012 by Emma

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Illustrations
The book is well researched and presented. There are many interesting illustrations and examples from books that might not be familiar to the general reader. The approach is mostly academic in style though it could go further into key theoretical aspects. The practical side to the book is intermediary.
Published 4 months ago by AffectMachine


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such An Exciting Book!, 28 Feb 2012
This review is from: Children's Picturebooks: The Art of Visual Storytelling (Paperback)
I was so excited when this book arrived! There's so much information that I quickly skimmes through and then started reading through each chapter. It gives such a great insight into children's books. It also shows great feedback from children and their thoughts on a few stories. The artwork inside if beautiful and overall it's a wonderful read! A must have for anyone with a fondness for Children's Books or with a desire to become a Children's book Illustrator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for students/teachers/illustrators, 6 Mar 2012
This review is from: Children's Picturebooks: The Art of Visual Storytelling (Paperback)
I bought this book to aid my teaching as i deliver a unit on Narrative Illustration. It is divided into different sections which are small enough to read in one go and the visuals which go with each section are fantastic - it goes through the history of childrens illustration right through to artists work and publishers. I am also intrested in getting more work within illustration and this has given me alot of background knowledge on things i wanted to know personally not to mention huge ammounts of inspiration due to the amazing visuals. Great for students and teachers and anyone intrested in reading about Childrens Illustration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's Picturebooks: The Art of Visual Storytelling (Paperback)
Full of inspiring illustrations, an valuable collaboration exploring the interaction of words and images and how children respond to them. in this book and his others Martin Salisbury has been doing a great job of bringing children's picturebooks the appreciation they deserve as powerful formative influences for many of us and a medium that offers rich opportunities not readily found elsewhere.

I like the way the examples chosen are drawn from a spectrum that has classics that have sold hundreds of thousands at one end and hand-produced limited editions at the other. I also appreciate the different viewpoints here: the children's, artists', writer's, editors', publishers'.

I expected to enjoy the book, but have both enjoyed it and found it more useful than I anticipated. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good content., 14 Feb 2013
This review is from: Children's Picturebooks: The Art of Visual Storytelling (Paperback)
I recommend for people that want to enter in the children's illustration world and it's starting. Have e very complete work about all the matters concerning children's books illustration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Illustrations, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's Picturebooks: The Art of Visual Storytelling (Paperback)
The book is well researched and presented. There are many interesting illustrations and examples from books that might not be familiar to the general reader. The approach is mostly academic in style though it could go further into key theoretical aspects. The practical side to the book is intermediary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Packed with information, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's Picturebooks: The Art of Visual Storytelling (Paperback)
Excellent examples of good practice, with in-depth text explaining all aspects of producing Children's books. A good reference book - Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's Picturebooks: The Art of Visual Storytelling (Paperback)
Hard to say why have not rated this a 5, but obviously had higher expectations of what it was to be. Is informative and substantial tome. Gives insight into range of picture-books. Preferred his book on illustration. That one is a 5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Children's Picturebooks: the art of visual story telling, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's Picturebooks: The Art of Visual Storytelling (Paperback)
I ordered this book as I am studying Children's Literature at Uni, it's amazing - almost a picturebook in itself. Full of beautiful illustrations and very informative text on the history and modern take on picturebooks. Has lots of information I needed to help me with my essays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful book., 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's Picturebooks: The Art of Visual Storytelling (Paperback)
When I received this book I was pleasantly surprised by its size and quality. The format is clear and covers a range of themes within children's picturebooks. I have found it most informative and thought provoking to use as part of my reading for my research project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's Picturebooks: The Art of Visual Storytelling (Paperback)
Excellent book for beginners wanting some meat to think about x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Children's Picturebooks: The Art of Visual Storytelling
Children's Picturebooks: The Art of Visual Storytelling by Morag Styles (Paperback - 30 Jan 2012)
£15.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews