Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, great coffee table book.
Excellent choice of pictures, great attention to detail in the descriptions.
Well, all the praise has been done by the other reviewers, here's some minor issues I noticed while flipping through the book:

- not mentioning the Dehen Knitting Company from Portland, Oregon in the Cardigan-chapter (especially when talking about Varsity Jackets) is, well, some...
Published 10 months ago by Hans Rüdiger

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in Parts !
Ordered this after reading a number of the reviews. It is good in some aspects, but I do have reservations.
I found it a little outdated in both the quality of pictures and information, and my feeling is it only warrants 3 * as it's continuity also leaves a little to be desired.
As an addition to a collection of books on men's fashion , the cost needs to be...
Published 15 months ago by D G


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, great coffee table book., 9 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Icons of Mens Style (Paperback)
Excellent choice of pictures, great attention to detail in the descriptions.
Well, all the praise has been done by the other reviewers, here's some minor issues I noticed while flipping through the book:

- not mentioning the Dehen Knitting Company from Portland, Oregon in the Cardigan-chapter (especially when talking about Varsity Jackets) is, well, some sort of crime.

-it should have been explained not only that but WHY the Fred Perry became a key element in British subcultures (because FP was considered a working class hero having shown it to the Upper Crust on the Wimbledon Grounds).

-Some odd choices in the ACCESSORIES department: Should one have expected the Zippo, hip flask, leather wallet or something - well, what you get is the dunhill rollagas (lighter), the fountain pen and, most strangely: the moon watch. Hmmmmm.

And by the way: Tom Selleck's Magnum never ever drove a Testarossa - it was always a 308 GTS that he borrowed from Robin Masters.
("Magnum" started in 1980, the Testarossa went into production in 1984).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Items in which to dress and with which to accessorize a man - good but not comprehensive throughout, 21 Aug. 2014
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icons of Mens Style (Paperback)
The title could lead readers to believe that the book will cover a selection of male style icons, with what made them such and rich pictorial accompaniment, which is not exactly what the book is about. Instead you get chapters organized around specific items, in categories such as outerwear, trousers, shoes, underwear, tailoring, shirts and sweaters, and accessories.

Some categories are more comprehensively covered (for instance outerwear), while others, such as shoes and accessories could well do with being somewhat expanded (surely the sandal, desert boot, the basketball shoe, the work shoe / boot, loafer, driving shoe and deck shoe are far from covering it - especially not at the more formal side of things; similar for watches - while both the Moon Watch and the diving watch category are solid choices, they fall far short of covering even the basic types).

The individual chapters are from two to four pages long and present a brief description of the garment, how it came about / became popular, in some cases who made it popular, often who some of the main manufacturers are (this area is also far from comprehensive and different readers may well feel that some iconic producers have been left out). This is usually accompanied by several pictures, at least one of which is a full page shot.

So overall definitely a solid book but one you will want to complement with others, going into individual classes more thoroughly / comprehensively, if you are really interested in the subject. Definitely an excellent gift for those, though, who are in the stage of taking their somewhat more seriously, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect book, 1 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icons of Mens Style (Paperback)
I bought this for my wife. She considers it to be her favourite book now. The content - the fashion, the photos , the presentation, the subjects, and the stories - all brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book to browse through, 24 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icons of Mens Style (Paperback)
Lots of info on the origins and development of everyday items like jeans, bomber jackets, tee shirts, Rolex watches and many many more. It's about stuff all around us, that for one reason or another has stayed the distance. Nicely written and with great photos, including icons Marlon Brando, James Dean, and my personal faves, Paul Newman and Gregory Peck wearing the various kit.

Did you know that desert boots were originally worn by traders in Egyptian markets? Whilst a soldier in Burma, Nathan Clark of Clark's Shoes saw soldiers who'd served in Egypt wearing them. On returning home he used the basic design to develop what is now known as the desert boot. If this sort of information appeals to you, you'll love this book. It's a great pick up and read bits here and there sort of book, though I seemed to get through quite a lot in one go, once I'd got it back from my husband! Just love it. Good fun, fascinating and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant read, 15 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Icons of Mens Style (Paperback)
This book is a wonderful read and offers an impartial view on the history of men's clothing and garments. The book is full of interesting facts that surround each garment, where it came from, who designed it and in some cases who made it famous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icons of Mens Style (Paperback)
Bought this as a gift for my husband. He isn't into clothes or styling although I am in a vintage/retro way. We both loved this book as the pictures, information and trip down memory lane are fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icons of Mens Style (Paperback)
As a lover of fashion and photography, this book provided me with exactly what I wanted, an insight into the icons of mens style. Lots of brilliant writing coupled beautiful pictures. A great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icons of Mens Style (Paperback)
Bought this for my model son - who has 'everything' and he really liked it. Great book. Why do I have to write more words than I want to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas gift, 5 Jan. 2013
By 
D. M. Brennan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icons of Mens Style (Paperback)
This book had been on person's Wish List for quite some time but had been unavailable, so to receive it now was well appreciated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good in Parts !, 28 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icons of Mens Style (Paperback)
Ordered this after reading a number of the reviews. It is good in some aspects, but I do have reservations.
I found it a little outdated in both the quality of pictures and information, and my feeling is it only warrants 3 * as it's continuity also leaves a little to be desired.
As an addition to a collection of books on men's fashion , the cost needs to be outweighed to the information , and there are better books available at the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Icons of Mens Style
Icons of Mens Style by Josh Sims (Paperback - 23 May 2011)
£19.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews