Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where to start with Art History, 19 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Write Art History (Paperback)
This is a lovely clear explaination and introduction to the process of writing art history, including essay writing, critical approaches and searching literature.
I found it very helpful and think it would be a good starting point as an art history course study guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good reference book, 5 Dec 2010
This review is from: How to Write Art History (Paperback)
I bought this book while completing an art history course, and find it easy to use and very helpfull for learning about essays and analysis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 13 Oct 2010
By 
Mrs. Susan Pardo (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Write Art History (Paperback)
This has helped me to focus on what the Open University TMA really wants. Very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Write Art History (Paperback)
A great help for any Art History undergraduate, and has helped me with my Open University courses. This should be the FIRST book you read when you start studying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reading and writing!, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Write Art History (Paperback)
This is quite an in-depth guide to writing about art and placing works of art in some sort of context. Though it is aimed at students of the arts who need to write essays, it is also a great introduction to appreciating art and gaining a deeper understanding. It gives step-by-step guidance on how to approach and engage with different types of visual art (paintings, sculptures, architecture, etc.) You already know whether you like or dislike something, this will help you to explain (to yourself and others) the reasons why you respond the way you do, and in some cases could even change that response... This is not a history of art book in itself, but would help you to better understand art. Great for anyone who wants to talk about or write about art, even if you're just talking to yourself! Perhaps a bit heavy duty for the 'novice' but anyone with more than a passing interest in the arts and their history will get something out of this text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Helpful, 27 Mar 2009
By 
A. Ozgen "evelyn" (cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a life saver if you are having a hard time in putting your ideas of an image on paper. It is not boring to read as many "how to" books are. It really makes a change with concrete examples. It makes you think step by step while reading and thus you suddenly learn how to think about and write about an image by the end of the book. I recommend it to college student especially in their first year of study. Sure you will make a difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good guide, 20 Nov 2009
A good guide to writing art history essays for first degree university students... But had to give it 4 stars because it's not as good for postgraduates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent study accompiant, 14 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Write Art History (Paperback)
This is a great book for anyone studying art history at ay level, very well writen and set out. Can really get alot of knowledge and understanding form it. Very good.
Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite simple but helpful, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Write Art History (Paperback)
As a third year undergraduate I'm probably a little late in reading this book but I'd hoped it would provide some helpful hints to improve my essay writing. I'm satisfied with the book, it offers some good advice and tips over the whole spectrum of art history topics, including theory, preparing for essay and slide-test exams and summaries of key ideas and mediums. I liked that the book didn't dwell on the most generally well-known paintings or sculptures but introduced the reader to a range of works from a differing countries and centuries as examples when approaching essays. Much more useful for someone starting a first year course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Art History Student, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Write Art History (Paperback)
Quality of book and service excellent.

Valuable book for both my library and study. Easy to read and informative. Very satisfied with the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Write Art History
How to Write Art History by Anne D'Alleva (Paperback - 12 July 2010)
6.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews