Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshingly broad-minded book, 29 April 2011
By 
M. Harrison (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Architectural Drawing (Portfolio Skills) (Paperback)
I'm a 3rd year RIBA part 1 student and I bought this book because the author was a course leader at my university and it had been recommended.

I've looked at many other books under the loose subject of "Architectural drawing" and this by far the best. The libraries are teeming with books that have 15 page instructional guides on setting up 2 point perspective drawings or how to pencil render masonry. These books were probably indispensable about 15 years ago but now if we're looking for something so specific, we'll go online and probably find a very concise tutorial.

This book succeeds because it doesn't get too bogged down in the details and try to become a manual. It quickly moves across various media and techniques with a brief explanation and some examples. This is all we need. It should be dipped into from time to time to help generate ideas and stimulate creativity, not read from cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I had bought this earlier!, 10 Oct 2012
By 
I. Laliberte (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Architectural Drawing (Portfolio Skills) (Paperback)
Just really wished I would have bought this book in 1st year of architecture school, it would have saved me a lot of heartache. A definite must, lots of tips on how to use photoshop and mix various media to great results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great product, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Architectural Drawing (Portfolio Skills) (Paperback)
product came very quickly, great service and very happy with the price. very reliable and will definately use this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Architecture, 24 Feb 2013
This review is from: Architectural Drawing (Portfolio Skills) (Paperback)
This book was just what I expected. Really good information and techniques. Good illustrations and informs you on different architects drawing types. Well set out so that it's easier to read. Going more high tech into CAD but still refers to drawing being the main starting point. Quick delivery. Al in al a good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Architectural Drawing (Portfolio Skills) (Paperback)
interesting book. it's not a manual for a specific software or drawing method, is actually a collection of interesting techniques with a wide range of applications, that will make you re-think your drawing skills.

nice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Architectural Drawing (Paperback)
All as it should be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Architectural Drawing (Portfolio Skills)
Architectural Drawing (Portfolio Skills) by David Dernie (Paperback - 4 Oct 2010)
Used & New from: £22.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews