Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photographers...one book you should own.
A friend who is studying photography at university sent me the advised reading list for her course. She said if you can only buy one book from the list buy this one.
I did and I'm delighted. The information is clear, informational and interesting and it is well illustrated with brilliant images from top photographers through history. The section on war is especially...
Published on 9 Jun 2010 by T. Caulton

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor
Not very good - better books out there
Published 22 days ago by Howard Barnett Wedding Photogr...


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photographers...one book you should own., 9 Jun 2010
By 
T. Caulton "Big Tel" (Staffordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Photography: A Cultural History (Paperback)
A friend who is studying photography at university sent me the advised reading list for her course. She said if you can only buy one book from the list buy this one.
I did and I'm delighted. The information is clear, informational and interesting and it is well illustrated with brilliant images from top photographers through history. The section on war is especially gripping (if a little graphic) and the author is not afraid to address sensitive subjects. in general it's a great reference and an informative history of the developement of photographic science. If photography is your interest your business or your passion then I would really recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value, 11 Feb 2011
By 
I. G. Wright (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photography: A Cultural History (Paperback)
A very thorough, clearly written book with excellent production values. A great overview for anyone interested in photography and its relationship to society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best modern history of photography I know., 23 Jun 2013
By 
Tom Ang - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photography: A Cultural History (Paperback)
Enjoyable, well-written, well illustrated with some surprises, erudite though weak on technicalities (actually, ignores much of modern development. Nonetheless, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book - especially useful for University Students, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photography: A Cultural History (Paperback)
This large book is invaluable if you are studying photography at University level, which I am. It gives you an insight into photography over a vast period of time, and is written in detail, but in a clear and simple format, and opens your eyes to subjects you may never have thought to look at before. The balance between text and photography is good, and I would highly recommend it to anyone who has a serious interest in photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 7 Mar 2014
By 
T. Moreira "T.D.Moreira" (Porto, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photography: A Cultural History (Paperback)
For those who want to expand their knowledge in the history of photography this is a great book do buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 11 Nov 2013
This review is from: Photography: A Cultural History (Paperback)
I was borrowing this from the library at university, but decided I need my own copy. It's an excellent book that has so much information on the history of photography, and photographers, operating on every level of the medium, documentary, art, reportage, surrealist, abstract, modernist (however there is a lack of fashion). This book analyses photographers and photography in their cultural context referring to the time and place where they occur and in a way that is unpretentious, informative, and so easy to read. I've written two quite high scoring essays in my photography degree where this book helped to no end. I love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!, 10 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photography: A Cultural History (Paperback)
If you like photography and you want to know a lot about it, this is the book to get. And it is offered at a bargained price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photography: Cultural History, 6 Dec 2011
This review is from: Photography: A Cultural History (Paperback)
One of the best photography book in its profile. It brings everything to light the cultural side of photography and with so much ilustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book worth purchasing, 4 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photography: A Cultural History (Paperback)
A great book to purchase for casual reading into photography and research for the topic. Lots of information and great illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photography: A Cultural History (Paperback)
Not very good - better books out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Photography: A Cultural History
Photography: A Cultural History by Mary Warner Marien (Paperback - 1 Feb 2010)
Used & New from: £16.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews