Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A track stand of a book
Fixed: Global Fixed-Gear Bike Culture : Was pleasantly surprised after looking through it. This book has a good balance of text to pictures, is both informative and interesting. It gives this style of riding a credibility and a history. So many would pigeon hole 'Fixies' as for couriers, street urchins and poser hipsters. Something the authors have steered away from. The...
Published on 11 Feb 2011 by The glow in the dark

versus
8 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars First mover, but not advantage
Well, I suppose that someone had to get there first, and the authors of this one seem to have got there ahead of the pack. For me personally, it is in all ways a disappointing book: it is neither a history, nor is it a detailed account of how fixed gear cycling developed, any more than it is a comprehensive view of the current social trends in the fixed wheel world. It...
Published on 22 Oct 2009 by Mark Lewis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A track stand of a book, 11 Feb 2011
By 
The glow in the dark "The bright in the night" (The little room deep down in the basement.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fixed: Global Fixed-Gear Bike Culture (Paperback)
Fixed: Global Fixed-Gear Bike Culture : Was pleasantly surprised after looking through it. This book has a good balance of text to pictures, is both informative and interesting. It gives this style of riding a credibility and a history. So many would pigeon hole 'Fixies' as for couriers, street urchins and poser hipsters. Something the authors have steered away from. The problem with any book on a cultural phenomenon, is that it's so much easier to read the relevant blogs and dedicated web sites. Which can keep up with the ebb and flow of change. A book can only really glimpse backwards and look at a subjects... historical roots. This book does this well, and yet still keeps a pedal or two forward. Would have liked it to have been at least twice as big. It verges on being a large magazine ( ie : Rouleur ) rather than a genre defining tome. But at this Amazon price, well worth picking up. If this kind of riding holds any interest for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Researched and Beautifully Put Together, 24 Oct 2009
By 
Kelvin Newman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fixed: Global Fixed-Gear Bike Culture (Paperback)
Got to disagree with the reviewer below, I think its a great introduction and does a pretty sterling job of making the links between the dozens of different fixed gear bikes have and are being used with out drowning the reader in dates and names.

Some excellent photos and some real bling bikes both recent and historic with some really interesting insight from Chris Boardman and Grahm Obree amongst others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fixie history, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fixed: Global Fixed-Gear Bike Culture (Paperback)
Top class images, top class work, would recommend for any fixie lover, great to see bikes from around the world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good overview on the history of the fixed gear bicycle, 17 Jun 2011
This review is from: Fixed: Global Fixed-Gear Bike Culture (Paperback)
I'm very happy about purchasing this book, because I'm enjoying it a lot.
When I'm on the train I use to read it and to watch its photos and the train is already at its destination.

The composition is very careful, as well as the photos and texts.

And you get an idea of the fixed gear culture from its starts in the latest XIX Century till now.

I strongly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fixed, 17 July 2010
This review is from: Fixed: Global Fixed-Gear Bike Culture (Paperback)
This is a good book and especially for the price paid - quite a big emphasis on the history of fixed gear bikes and track bikes. It is a shame it does not include more on the curent fixed gear culture and modern day track racing bikes, but none the less an interesting book and nice coffee table read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent service, 11 Jan 2010
By 
T. Hoe "robird" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fixed: Global Fixed-Gear Bike Culture (Paperback)
excellent service.the efficiency of amazon is just good and especially the after-sales. content of this book is more to the background story of fixie, i found it very interesting and i have to admit that it's really cheap compared to the one being sold in the shop. at least 45% cheaper from amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fixed for the wheels, 11 Jan 2010
By 
Alberto Iop Oroz "bambino pelusa" (madrid, spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fixed: Global Fixed-Gear Bike Culture (Paperback)
Nice book about a strange topic: subculture of the fixed bikes and its developement in the modern culture. Nice book to have on the living room table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great overview of fixed gear cycling, 26 Oct 2009
This review is from: Fixed: Global Fixed-Gear Bike Culture (Paperback)
Really nice book - lovingly presented with a collection of original and archived footage.

Not really sure what the previous reviewer was talking about when saying "not enough words" - couldnt be easier to disagree with that as frankly, there are lots of words. Indeed many of those words string together to form sentances or paragraphs, which when presented as one form insightful and interesting exploration of the history, context, and culture of fixed gear cycling. Comments and interviews have been taken from luminaries from the cycling world - Chris Boardman, Eddie Merckx, MashSF and actual manufacturers.

Worth buying as a solid background - more than an introduction, that's for sure! - to a clearly emerging bicycle culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible insight, 26 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. N. Adams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fixed: Global Fixed-Gear Bike Culture (Paperback)
This book addresses the culture of fixed gear in an educated and well research way. The balance between text and images is spot on, with the quality of images being high throughout. The writing style flows well and makes it both an informative and an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars First mover, but not advantage, 22 Oct 2009
By 
Mark Lewis "Mark Lewis" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fixed: Global Fixed-Gear Bike Culture (Paperback)
Well, I suppose that someone had to get there first, and the authors of this one seem to have got there ahead of the pack. For me personally, it is in all ways a disappointing book: it is neither a history, nor is it a detailed account of how fixed gear cycling developed, any more than it is a comprehensive view of the current social trends in the fixed wheel world. It deals only briefly with the most obvious and common use of fixed wheel: cycling on the track, the six day scene, time trials and the Hour. The pictures aren't good, plentiful, beautiful or interesting enough to make it a decent coffee table book. There are some interesting shots of designer fixed wheel machines, but that's about it pictorially. There are interviews with a bunch of fixed wheel cyclists (NY couriers, SF cyclists and someone in London, for example) that are supposed to set the social context: there are too few words for a book at this price. The words that are there aren't interesting enough. For me, the most successful chapter is on Keirin, Japanese professional track cycling, the point of which is betting. But that isn't saying much. I was really looking forward to the first modern survey of the fixie. I expect that there are or will be much better books to follow. Given the price, if you really want to read it, try to persuade your local library to stock it, get it second-hand, or borrow it from fools like me who bought it new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fixed: Global Fixed-Gear Bike Culture
Fixed: Global Fixed-Gear Bike Culture by Max Leonard (Paperback - 12 Oct 2009)
£17.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews