Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Mar 2007
By 
Being a student, I bought this book to help me with my graphics course. It is full of amazing contemporary illustrations carefully selected to complete a great book. Many types and varieties of pictures in the book help to create a very helpful collection that will give any artist inspiration after taking even the quickest glance. Great book, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Awesome, 12 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Picture Book: Contemporary Illustration (Paperback)
One of the most inspiring things I have seen or read. It surpassed expectation having read/flicked though other art books that are similar. It's a story of people that all have their own unique style and voice - or rather those that will spend a lifetime looking for it. What was most important was the artist's own input/description which made it all very personal and... special I suppose.
If you are an art/graphics student go and get this book now. If you are anyone go and get it.
I'm quite tempted to tape this to my body at art school as it's so useful. It wouldn't be the strangest thing to happen there...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 22 July 2007
By 
Ms. Sc Bagshaw "SarahBee" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A truly inspiring book. Beautiful illustrations together with comments/notes by each artist.
Nothing more to say! I borrowed it from the library and don't want to return it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great contemporary illustration, 18 Jun 2009
By 
N. Pitman (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A very inspiring book with a wide range of illustration, a must for the art student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Small book, large content., 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Picture Book: Contemporary Illustration (Paperback)
Small book, Absolutely packed with illustrations (445, if you're counting) showing a huge range of different styles & ideas.
So much interesting work on show here from artists big on talent, but short on celebrity.
Keeps you amused for hours, & provides bags of inspiration. A very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Picture Book: Contemporary Illustration (Paperback)
This is a great book! It's full of wonderful and inspiring images. I highly recommend it to everyone interested in art :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ..., 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Picture Book: Contemporary Illustration (Paperback)
I love the fact that it is quite a small book, but it fits so much in! The pages are packed with with full colour prints, some of them taking up the entire page, with little self portraits and information about each artist. Would recommend highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If..., 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Picture Book: Contemporary Illustration (Paperback)
...you love illustration you will love this book. But be warned it doesn't just consist of one type of illustration. It's a whole bunch of different types.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great little book!, 12 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Picture Book: Contemporary Illustration (Paperback)
in the style of 'the art book' and 'the photo book' this little gem focuses on modern graphics and illustration. It is a lovely compact size and has 2/3 pages of colour images per artist featured, as well as a small bit of written info.

It has a real range of more fine arty illustrations and adverts to really slick stylised work looking at all sorts of themes from portraiture to landscape to text. It features artists such as Gina Triplett, Container and Rinzen and is a great snap shot of 80 different artists.

If you know the taschen 'illustration now' seris of books or juxtapoz online (which i love and cannot recommend more highly!) then this is of the same ilk.

i would recommend it to anyone with an interest in modern illustration as a great starting points-student friendly to-i gave it to a friend as a gift and they loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Picture Book: Contemporary Illustration (Paperback)
This book is great, i bought it to help inspire me for fashion illustrations. There are some fashion like ones as well as many different illustrations. A must if you love to browse at varied artist and bought at a cheap price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Picture Book: Contemporary Illustration
The Picture Book: Contemporary Illustration by Angus Hyland (Paperback - 6 Sep 2010)
£9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews