Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful step by step guide
This guide gives you step by step instructions on how to set up your clothing label. Whether you intend on starting a small handmade business in your own home or a designer label with multiple employees it gives you all the practical and legal advice to get you thinking along the right lines. From a who's who in the supply chain to legalities on finding a studio or shop,...
Published on 4 Mar 2011 by mademoiselle.george

versus
19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incomplete Picture of the Fashion Business
I had high hopes when I bought this book, but it is a very incomplete picture of the fashion business. It looks like it was put together from different sources, and lacks the necessary information that would help me build a fashion business. What are some of the pitfalls, and what do I need to be careful about? Who are the main industry insiders? What makes a fashion...
Published on 7 Jan 2010 by NK


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful step by step guide, 4 Mar 2011
This review is from: How to Set Up and Run a Fashion Label (Paperback)
This guide gives you step by step instructions on how to set up your clothing label. Whether you intend on starting a small handmade business in your own home or a designer label with multiple employees it gives you all the practical and legal advice to get you thinking along the right lines. From a who's who in the supply chain to legalities on finding a studio or shop, insurance and how to interview new employees plus lots lots more. Plus the book explains the two main processes of selling: wholesale (to existing shops) or setting up your own shop. I like the way that the book assumes that like most label start ups, money is scarce and continually reminds you of how to not waste money.

Keep in mind that this a book printed in the UK so it gives advice for UK business structures and legalities. Nevertheless, even if you are setting up business abroad (which I am) it gives you a good map of the professional processes of the fashion industry in the entire northern hemisphere.

Thanks Mr. Meadows for an easy to read and, most importantly, unpretentious guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Book on The Subject, 27 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Set Up and Run a Fashion Label (Paperback)
This is a good book for any beginners who need an overview of what is needed to start a fashion label. It gives good business insight and makes everything clear and understandable.

However, this is definitely only a starting point and I would thoroughly recommend further reading on many of the subjects covered in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for start ups fashion labels, 12 Mar 2011
This review is from: How to Set Up and Run a Fashion Label (Paperback)
Everybody who intends to follow the line of creating a fashion label should have it!
but is mainly for UK based designers, that could be the downside fo rthe rest...but still quite useful for other countries to learn how it works here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for my girlfriend!, 12 Jan 2010
This review is from: How to Set Up and Run a Fashion Label (Paperback)
I purchased this as a gift for my girlfriend who is very much into fashion.
I had a quick flick through it, and soon found myself reading a few chapters.
Being into business myself, this was good to see tips for an industry I personally wouldnt have considered entering.
Its great for beginners who dont know where to start (and find the internet takes forever to come up with decent results) - this book ties everything together nicely and, for someone like my girlfriend, can help teach her a lot about the 'business side' as opposed to the 'fashion designing side' - she now knows different types of businesses, difference between net and gross profit, revenue etc.
A good starting point that will help many on the way to starting their own fashion label!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incomplete Picture of the Fashion Business, 7 Jan 2010
This review is from: How to Set Up and Run a Fashion Label (Paperback)
I had high hopes when I bought this book, but it is a very incomplete picture of the fashion business. It looks like it was put together from different sources, and lacks the necessary information that would help me build a fashion business. What are some of the pitfalls, and what do I need to be careful about? Who are the main industry insiders? What makes a fashion business succeed or not? These are some of the questions that the book fails to answer.

It is only OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very annoyed, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Set Up and Run a Fashion Label (Paperback)
Ordered this item as a NEW product rather than used as a Christmas present . It arrived dog eared and marked on the cover and some of the pages were marked and one even had a faint stain on that looked like make-up (possibly lipstick). I would have liked to return it but there was no delivery note and it was too late to get a replacement in time for Christmas. Very disappointed and I feel duped. DO NOT BUY FROM THIS SELLER IF YOU WANT A QUALITY PRODUCT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The mandatory A-Z for newbies entering the fashion business world, 31 Mar 2013
This review is from: How to Set Up and Run a Fashion Label (Paperback)
An indespensible Bible for anyone looking to launch a fashion label, this book also serves as a useful introduction for anyone looking to work with designers or labels in any capacity.

Meadows provides a no-nonsense, straightforward introduction to all aspects of the fashion business - business being the operative word as he launches the introduction with the crucial percentage split: "Running a successful fashion label requires around 90% business acumen and only about 10% artistic ability."

Covering everything from legal, branding, and supply chain to marketing, sales strategies and building your team, it's a mandatory introduction to fashion as a business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 9 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Set Up and Run a Fashion Label (Paperback)
Does exactly what it says on the cover! Lots of practical advice, checklists and exercises to get you thinking about running a business in the fashion industry as well as real life stories. Really nicely laid-out too. I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 30 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Set Up and Run a Fashion Label (Paperback)
THis book is amazing it tells you everything you need to know even down to logos do and dont's, was well worth the moneys i love it! so excited to be reading it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bible for Fashion Start-Ups, 22 Aug 2011
This review is from: How to Set Up and Run a Fashion Label (Paperback)
This book is better than I expected. It tells you everything you need to know including design and production calendars and every job profile needed within the setup and running of your business. This book truly is a bible for fashion business start-ups and now, I cannot live without it! Top marks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Set Up and Run a Fashion Label
How to Set Up and Run a Fashion Label by Toby Meadows (Paperback - 6 April 2009)
Used & New from: £15.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews