Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars13
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 January 2010
This is a very useful book for understanding the basic theory of semiotics, especially for the dyslexic student who can often struggle with the highly academic style in which this theory is often presented.

It models the practice of applying semiotics in a very accessible and visual way, this makes it invaluable for learning how to use semiotic analysis in different contexts on courses within the visual arts.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2010
This Means This, This Means That: A User's Guide to Semiotics is a fantastic, well-writen, and, in some places, rather funny book. It is easily accessible and doesn't go on forever. It describes 75 semiotic concepts in great detail and is a must for people with a newly found interest in the subject.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2009
As the owner of a design agency, I find myself having to spend more of my time encouraging and nurturing the younger generation. This type of work goes a long way in helping to explain what the job of a proper designer really is all about. It leads you into discovering the subconscious and giving an insight into how things can be interpreted in different ways. If you're interest in understanding and changing the way people think it's a must buy.

All good designers should have this book in their reference library.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2010
I bought this book to aid my first year Alevel students through understanding semiotics. i have plenty of other books on the subject of semiotics iconography and so on, but none that offers explainations and understanding as this publication. not a heavey book to engage with and easily understandable even for the teacher lol. brilliant! this book offers a clear insight with use of good imagery and illustration and clarity. not exactly designed for degree level study, but great for alevel and gcse i would recommend this publication for the above reasons.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2011
This book provides a fun and interactive way of learning semiotics. It wasn't particularly helpful for research purposes (I have been writing an essay on semiotics in Graphic Design) but it is a good intro to the very basic principles of semiotics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
I used this as a reference and brushing up on my semiotics. It's good as it goes into depth. But not everything. Sometimes it cross-references symbolism and I got a little lost. Perhaps not the easiest to follow. But it's good reference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
A really useful guide to semiotics for the beginner. Explained in an easily understood format, where the reader can test their own understanding for each section before the explanation on the following page. Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
This guide unmasks the mysterys of semiotics, a great book for art students helping them to think laterally for imagative projects.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2011
Had to get this book for uni, teachers love it and are always referencing it so yeh its a good buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
As expected. Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)