Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photogrpahy...Explained, 29 Jun 2006
By 
P. Dyson "scubacop" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Photography (Portfolio) (Paperback)
I had been searching for Photography books for about a week. I'd read literally hundereds inside book shops before settling on this one. Im an intermediate digital photographer and wanted an easy to read but indepth photography book that explained techniques and methods and inspired me to go out and take photographs. This book did just that. Id forgotten all about aperature settings and shutter speeds and their effects on a photo.

I love the fact that the book uses examples to assist the photographer throughout and give ideas and alternative methods of approaching a situation.

This book is a jack of all trades and manages to give enough on each subject without being over technical or too simplified.

Highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent General Introduction to Photography, 4 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Photography (Portfolio) (Paperback)
If you are really interested in photography, this book is a delight. This is not a 'how to' type of book. It is a brief history of photography, a description of the many genres, fashion sport, photojournalism etc, famous photographers and what made them special. The book finishes with a chapter 'so you want to be a photographer', which gives you a taste of the various branches where you could start your career.

The book is beautifully laid out, plenty of colour and black and white photographs, very easy to read. You can read it from cover to cover or just leave it on the coffee table and dip in from time to time. Of the many photography books I seem to have acquired, this has spent least time on the shelf and most time being read and re-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photography (Portfolio) (Paperback)
Got this book as part of books required to do photography course, full of info she needs to complete course
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent teaching resource and student reference book, 2 Sep 2006
By 
Z. Hoeben (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Photography (Portfolio) (Paperback)
This book is an excellent introduction to photography written by someone who has direct experience with working with students of photography at Central St. Martins School of Art & Design in London. In his book, Ingledew introduces photography from an historical, thematic and technical point of view - this is refreshing, considering the vast majority of books on photography focus on one aspect exclusively. As a teacher, this is a fantastic resource and reference book to use with students. I will be planning my A-Level photography course around some of the themes and would definitely recommend it to teachers, students and those with an interest in developing their ideas and knowledge of photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photography (Portfolio) (Paperback)
You have to buy so many books at GCSE level and AS level so buying secondhand benefits your purse, the planet and the student! Would recommend to all year 9-13 pupils and parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I bought this as a gift, and kept it., 9 Mar 2009
This review is from: Photography (Portfolio) (Paperback)
I'd highly recommend this to everyone who loves photography and yearns to be behind a lens Or even to those who merely like photography and are curious to learn more. It's terrific - at many levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book, 21 April 2012
By 
Mr. Bernard E. Mcguire "Bold Bear" (Berkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photography (Portfolio) (Paperback)
Delivered very quickly. This is a book for those interested the history/ background to photography, it is not for some one looking for learning basic tips on how to take pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Photography (Portfolio)
Photography (Portfolio) by John Ingledew (Paperback - 21 Nov 2005)
Used & New from: 7.37
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews