Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one day in my life by bobby sands
i first came to know bobby sands through his writings from prison this is were i came to love his magical way of writing.this book is an insight to the life of a brillant talented ,determined man.this book protrays just how amazing the men on the h blocks actually were. anyone that thinks these man were uneducted thugs needs to take a closer look. this book tells of the...
Published on 17 Oct 2003 by eadaoin_ni

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Died so that Martin could have tea and scones with the Queen lol
Published 2 months ago by MR G S WILSON


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one day in my life by bobby sands, 17 Oct 2003
This review is from: One Day In My Life (Paperback)
i first came to know bobby sands through his writings from prison this is were i came to love his magical way of writing.this book is an insight to the life of a brillant talented ,determined man.this book protrays just how amazing the men on the h blocks actually were. anyone that thinks these man were uneducted thugs needs to take a closer look. this book tells of the racism and prejudice that the political prisoners had to put up with everyday just for being irish catholics. bobby sands and the other young men who died on the 1981 hunger strike were amzing men with unquestionable characters. i only wish he were alive today so i could read more of his beautiful writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look beyond the Politics, 11 Oct 2004
This review is from: One Day In My Life (Paperback)
To enjoy this book most dont look at it as being political, look at it as a book written by an inmate about the harsh realities of life in prison and about the struggle for rights.
This is one of the most moving books I have ever read and was worth the hassle of importing it from the US (quicker than 4 to 6 weeks).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I won't be parted from this book !!!!, 4 Dec 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Day In My Life (Paperback)
This is an amazing book.
I expected to be upset as I am an emotional person but Bobby sands' strength made me stronger.
You should buy this book if only to see the depth of pain and suffering endured by Bobby Sands.The prison warders(screws)were unbelievably cruel and inhumane.
It is clear that he loved his sister and family and could not bear to be apart from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One day in my life..., 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Emotional, graphic, and sadly it was factual. An eye opener for people who are not so well educated in recent Irish history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Horrowing though satisfying read, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a short small taste of life in the H-blocks - circa 1980. Even if 1/10 of the description of a day in Bobby Sands' life is true it portrays shocking treatment of a fellow human being.

This is a book that was smuggled from the H-blocks written on toilet roll and cigarette papers and even in the bowels of H(ell)- block depravity - his spirit shines through.

I am more an internationalist than a nationalist but Bobby Sands' writings touched me profoundly. A recommended read - short and bitter-sweet! RIP Bobby Sands MP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HARROWING!, 9 Oct 2009
By 
Mrs. S. C. Head (East Sussex, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Day In My Life (Paperback)
A really well written book, quite shocking in its discriptions of the treatment of the prisoners. Quite enlightening too on the British policies at the time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Personal sacrafice, 4 Feb 2011
This review is from: One Day In My Life (Paperback)
An enduring read which crosses the boundaries of time.

All young adults should be asked to read this, to perhaps help them to appreciate the struggle which people went through for recognition of their identity and acceptance as equal human beings. It may help young people put the benefits and luxuries they enjoy as part of their everyday lives in perspective and appreciate what they have.

Of particular note is the author's references to Belsen and East European labour camps which he would only have read about at the time. Having been in Auschwitz-Birkenau 3 times in the past decade I can attempt to appreciate the circumstances in which the H-Block's prisoners found themselves. His description was spot on.

A stark and thought provoking read which I would highly recommend.

Sean
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Day In My Life (Paperback)
What ever your political views this is a fascinating read, an eloquently written story of human suffering. I will remember this for a long time; it was so powerful and thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable wat those men had to endure for wat was ..., 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unbelievable wat those men had to endure for wat was their own rites hope the warders have a concience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, highly recommended, Bobby Sands the Hero, 6 Sep 2013
This review is from: One Day In My Life (Paperback)
Whatever your thoughts on the Irish Republican movement, one cannot fail to be moved by this book and the suffering, frustration and pain Bobby Sands went through for his people, his cause and his country: Ireland. Before reading this book and a few other books on the subject, I stood on neutral ground when it came to the politics in Northern Ireland but Im now swayed, after hearing from both sides in equal measure, to support the Irish Republican view and opinion. The Troubles in Ireland is merely a continuation of a struggle of the Irish people for freedom from British rule. The oppression and discrimination of the Irish people in Northern Ireland by deliberately planted "British Loyalists" (descendants of plantations from Britain/England/Scotland set there by England in the 1600s to rob Irish people of their land, rights and freedoms) would drive anyone to do what Bobby Sands had done, to rise up and defend their country and people from unrighteous oppressors. Bobby Sands is known the world over as a hero, a freedom fighter and a very brave person and rightly so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Day In My Life
One Day In My Life by Bobby Sands (Paperback - 31 Dec 1996)
£9.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews