Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars28
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£22.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 December 2011
This is a wonderful book for all flower lovers who particularly like the shabby vintage cottage style look. It doesn't go in depth into 'how tos' of flower arranging, it's much more of a book to simply inspire and admire. Beautiful photographs with simple instructions of what flowers she uses in each arrangement and lots of emphasis on the use of country cottage style vases, which are the basis of the floral designs. I'm not a florist or aspire to be one, I just simply love admiring the arrangements and maybe one day will start a collection of vintage vases and emulate some of her wonderful creativity. Buy this book if you are looking for cottage style floral inspiration on any level.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
This book not only looks good,'brilliant idea for the cover for someone who hates a tatty dust cover which soon tears no matter how careful you are this works beautifully' but is a really good read. I came upon this book in a well known book shop whilst looking for a different subject book, I couldn't put this down. I have ordered multiple copies now for family so this must be worth every penny. The photography is second to none bringing back memories of pressing wild flowers for instance as a child and Vic's love of flowers is very evident from a humble daffodil to an exotic lily and everything in between. It not only gives you ideas on which and what to do with vintage finds it gives you inspiration to go into the garden or to the flower shop and start right away making amazing arrangements. I am a flower arranger and make pedastal arrangements in my local Cathedral so I feel that this book is geared to all levels whether you already know the fundamentals about flower arramging or a novice. I will certainly be dipping in and out of this book over a quite cup of coffee. Many thanks for a book worth buying.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2012
What a gorgeous, gorgeous book this is! There's so much to feast your eyes upon, the beautiful flowers and vases, and the styling is superb. Perfect for the vintage style followers amongst us.
I like the fact that the author wasn't formally trained in floristry as I think she has a style that is so unique and very inspiring.
This book will definitely stay on display on my coffee table for all to peruse and enjoy!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2011
The author of Vintage Flowers, Vic Brotherson has been a florist for nearly twenty years. She owns a gorgeous shop in Kensal Rise in North London with the lovely name Scarlet and Violet. Since she finished her studies in Fine Art, flowers have been her life and she says she would not change it for the world. Vic worked for many years at Nikky Tibbles' shop, Wild at Heart, in Notting Hill Gate. She opened her own shop in 2006 and has since been featured in magazines like Vogue, Elle Decoration, Country Living and Living Etc. Many of her wedding bouquets have been featured in Wedding Flowers and Brides.

Vintage Flowers is her first book and it is full of inspirational ideas for making romantic and seasonal floral arrangements. The flowers are displayed in quirky vintage containers such as enamel jugs and buckets, perfume bottles, urns, coffee pots, jelly moulds, marmalade pots and lots of floral patterned china jugs. Most of the containers are collected from charity shops, car boot sales and antique markets. Vic gives a list of her favourite haunts at the end of the book.

The photographs are taken in different locations by Catherine Gratwicke, a London based photographer who has worked on two books with the florist Jane Packer. Catherine has a passion for texture and colour which is clearly evident in the book.

Vic uses a lot of flowery descriptions and her chapters are charmingly and delightfully given names such as: Rosy & Random, Blossom & Blousy, Herby & Homey and Blooms & Bonkers. In the different chapters she shows how to make different arrangements according to season, budget and occasion.

Her arrangements are creative, painterly and sophisticated and many of them look as if just picked from the garden. Both small and simply arranged single stems in tiny glass bottles en masse, or they can be textured and blousy in larger arrangements. She shows old fashioned charm with modern aesthetics.

There are two quotes on the cover that I feel describe the book appropriately. One by Nigella Lawson, who says; "Vic Brotherson does beautiful bunches of wild flowers & roses the colour of parchment, tinged with the palest of pinks." The other quote is by Sophie Dahl, who says: "Vic Brotherson is a floral goddess - she knows what she's talking about, & she does it in an irreverent, original & stylish way."
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
I leave this book out in my living room. It travels from sofa, to coffee table, bookshelf and back again. The photography of the lush arrangements is beautiful. Ms. Brotherson has an easy way of connecting you to the flowers. She provides a few key tips and tricks in arranging flowers that are presented in a relaxed way that make it feel achievable to recreate the images on the page. I come back to this book again and again to be inspired and encouraged.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
Bought this for my daughter as recommended by her florist. Beautifully illustrated. I have just started a flower course so hope I get a copy for Mothers Day.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
Bought this after borrowing a copy from a friend. Beautifully written and stacked with ideas for displaying flowers and creating visual feasts in the home.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
This book is scrumptious. Initially I just leafed through it, completely absorbed by the quality of the thick paper and the stunning colours of the arrangements. Eventually I read it word for word, from start to finish. It's gorgeous and any woman with any interest in flowers would love it. Just an amazing book to own - but if you have an interest in flowers or flower arranging then it's a must. I've always wanted to develop my flower arranging skills and this is a real encouragement. I definitely recommend it without hesitation!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
This book is an example of good taste, good design, good photography.

Some helpful hints on how to do flowers for beginners.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
A great deal of information in one book, on all aspects of presenting flowers in your home or elsewhere. Recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)