Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unknown gem
This was the first book I ever bought on cooking 16 years ago. I'm still a chef and still love this book the recipes always work and true the layout is hard to follow sometimes, but the little comments about the history of the dishes and who the bistro belongs too just make the book more endearing in my opinion. I cannot believe more people do not own this wonderfull...
Published on 16 Nov 2010 by stoveboy78

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
no pics, recipes seem outdated and quite plan.
Published 2 months ago by Ms M. Avgoloupi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unknown gem, 16 Nov 2010
This review is from: Bistro Cooking: 21st Birthday Edition (Paperback)
This was the first book I ever bought on cooking 16 years ago. I'm still a chef and still love this book the recipes always work and true the layout is hard to follow sometimes, but the little comments about the history of the dishes and who the bistro belongs too just make the book more endearing in my opinion. I cannot believe more people do not own this wonderfull cookery book. All of her other books do not compare to this one they always were going to struggle to compare to this unknown masterpiece. The recipes are atractive and always work and the chicken dishes really put all of the other meat books out in the cold. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really excellent!, 17 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bistro Cooking (Paperback)
Having tried to cook from some of the more traditional French cookery books over the years this book is really refreshing. Some lovely recipes which are not hard to do and a logical progression of the recipes with an engaging chatty style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yum.. I love this book, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bistro Cooking: 21st Birthday Edition (Paperback)
This is one of my treasured cookery books.

Not only do I use it for the recipes, but as a frequent visitor to provence, I adore reading the introductions to each recipe. I imagine myself visiting the many markets and purchasing the ingredients required, then strolling back to the kitchen to prepare the meals for my family. Heavenly...

The book is more than a collection of recipes. Patricia Wells has a way that takes you along with her on her journey through France visiting the many bistros and markets.

The recipes are fantastic and the helpful hints and tips `truc' makes it a joyous read.

Buy it now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant French cookery book, 14 July 2003
This review is from: Bistro Cooking (Paperback)
This book is quite hard to find, but well worth hunting down - one of the best French cookery books around. Clear reciopies for delicious dishes, Bistro cooking works well as home cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read and great recipes, 3 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bistro Cooking (Paperback)
A true taste of France right here in the Jungles of Borneo! Whenever I'm fed up of jungle fern and dried fish "blachan", I reach for this masterpiece to give me inspiration! The dishes are wonderfully easy to prepare and the Chocolate cake is the most divine ever created. For those who painstakingly tried to make the River Cafe's Chocolate Nemesis, look no further then this book-the recipe works EVERY time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 20 Dec 2013
This review is from: Bistro Cooking (Paperback)
I was delighted to get hold of this book, which I had been looking for since spotting it in a holiday cottage in France. It was an ex library copy, in good condition. Excellent price and speedy service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Angemarg, 20 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bistro Cooking: 21st Birthday Edition (Paperback)
Bought to replace an old copy. Needed to have it back in my collection. Some favourite recipes. Only downside...no pictures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous recipes, horrid book, 10 Mar 2005
This review is from: Bistro Cooking (Paperback)
this book is a classic - the recipes are superb, there are some really "wow" dishes that i use again and again... true - the writing, layout and trite little comments are horrid - but if you're a proper cook and not a browser it doesn't matter! Can't recommend it highly enough - great idea's for dinner parties and more informal gatherings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars French food the best way, 19 Sep 2009
This review is from: Bistro Cooking (Paperback)
As usual Patricia Wells has given us a treasure of easy to execute authentic French cooking.Bravo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes shame about the writing, 26 July 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bistro Cooking (Paperback)
The style and presentation of this book are dreadful. Horribly cliched pictures, random menus dotted about and an obsession with Beaujolais a wine they only seem to serve to tourists .
The writing is cloying and patronisingly American . It is like hearing a loud American voice in a quiet French town It is a shame it was not translated into English.
Why buy it then?- well to give Mrs Wells credit the recipes are excellent and do indeed evoke cheap and cheerful French restaurant cooking very well indeed . I just wish she had had a better editor .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bistro Cooking: 21st Birthday Edition
Bistro Cooking: 21st Birthday Edition by Patricia Wells (Paperback - 23 Sep 2010)
Used & New from: £1.11
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews