Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book
This is a great book for very creative recipies. I need it a few ideas to spice up my Christmas meal and the book became very handy. Very easy to make.
Published 9 months ago by maya

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some great ideas
This book has some great ideas; the crab and hammer party, glow in the dark jellies and getting guests to make their own butter but is also a bit of a cheat by taking up pages to discuss slicing a whole Parma ham joint (something very few of us will ever have!) and cooking ready made dimsum from a packet. A little self indulgent on the part of the author but some eyebrow...
Published 13 months ago by Wees


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Extraordinary Cookbook: Make Meals Your Friends Will Never Forget (Hardcover)
This is a great book for very creative recipies. I need it a few ideas to spice up my Christmas meal and the book became very handy. Very easy to make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some great ideas, 6 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Extraordinary Cookbook: Make Meals Your Friends Will Never Forget (Hardcover)
This book has some great ideas; the crab and hammer party, glow in the dark jellies and getting guests to make their own butter but is also a bit of a cheat by taking up pages to discuss slicing a whole Parma ham joint (something very few of us will ever have!) and cooking ready made dimsum from a packet. A little self indulgent on the part of the author but some eyebrow raising ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cookery with a difference, 23 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Extraordinary Cookbook: Make Meals Your Friends Will Never Forget (Hardcover)
What a fantastic book! This is no ordinary run of the mill cook book so if that is what you are after turn away now (no, please don't i promise you will LOVE this!). This contain lots of great ideas for making your dinner parties that little more special - getting guests to interact during the meal, creating dishes that are visually amazing to promote coversation, and basically getting host and guests to enjoy and have fun with food!

Some ideas in here are simple and require no cooking skills at all (squashing a sandwich by sitting on it for example) but there are also more complicated recipes for those who are a little more adventurous or want to branch out.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone who entertains; it is also visually attractive and entertaining to read so will make a fantastic gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The must have for christmas, 17 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Extraordinary Cookbook: Make Meals Your Friends Will Never Forget (Hardcover)
This really is THE book for your friends and family this Christmas, mind you , why wait until Christmas. If you are the type of person who is nervous about having a dinner party, or someone who wants people to have fun when they come to your s for lunch, or if you are a budding chef but need some ispiration, THIS is The Book For You... it is brilliantly written, with whit and charm, the pictures are inspiring and the design keeps us all in place. Top tip - buy in bulk - once you've received it you want want to give it away....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 3 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Extraordinary Cookbook: Make Meals Your Friends Will Never Forget (Hardcover)
I don't usually write reviews but I just love this book - it's the gift that keeps on giving. It's funny, useful and interesting (not to mention beautiful). So many great ideas for meals - it's now my secret weapon for a great dinner party. It's completely unlike any of the usual run of the mill cookbooks with your obvious recipes. The ideas are mental but doable. It is truly brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Mr Gates, 7 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Extraordinary Cookbook: Make Meals Your Friends Will Never Forget (Hardcover)
Move over showing off to your friends with your latest wizzery from standard cookbooks - with this wonderful book from mr gates you can transform the meal to involve your guests in the preparation, making every meal a more memorable and fun occasion. Smash (&) crabs, sushi, table top cooking and much more. on my christmas list (the one to give away to people i want to enjoy their presents)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loads of fun, 4 Dec 2010
By 
Marc Perkins (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Extraordinary Cookbook: Make Meals Your Friends Will Never Forget (Hardcover)
Really, really fun book. I love that its got everything from the simple (pan roasted chestnuts) to the inspirational (Turducken) to the simply wacky (dinner cooked in the dishwasher..apparently delicious but I haven't tried yet). But I use it most when I just want to find something fun and memorable for dinner parties. wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for all the family, 20 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Extraordinary Cookbook: Make Meals Your Friends Will Never Forget (Hardcover)
I was looking for a new and different book and bought this because my girls loved Gastronuts, some of the recipes and ideas are a dinner party with entertainment all in one, not quite signed up to the face mask and snorkel just yet;-)
This book is not even going onto the shelf, the ideas, recipes and pictures are so great it's become a " coffee table " book which visitors just can't help picking up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly bonkers, 17 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Extraordinary Cookbook: Make Meals Your Friends Will Never Forget (Hardcover)
Tis book is a refreshing change in the regurgitated world of recipe books. Who really wants another recipe for shepherds pie? I want to smash crabs with hammers and make soup bowls from old action figures. Stefan's enthusiasm and fun around food comes bursting though on the page. This is a brilliant book and whilst at first glance you might think the recipes are far fetched, on closer inspection you'll see that there are a wealth of useable, everyday and time friendly recipes amongst the lunacy. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Extraordinary Cookbook: Make Meals Your Friends Will Never Forget
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews