Customer Reviews


205 Reviews
5 star:
 (148)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely recipes - not just for dieters
I didn't buy this book as a diet book - I was just leafing through it in the bookshop and was attracted to the recipes. The fact that the recipes are designed with calories and health in mind is an added bonus. There is in fact a relatively brief analysis of the diet aspect, with an introduction by a dietitician. All recipes are calorie counted with details as to fats,...
Published on 23 April 2011 by Marand

versus
44 of 50 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice book but can be unclear in parts!
This is a lovely book with really nice recipes to try out along with some appetising pictures and anecdotes from the gorgeous Gino. There are just a few disappointments for me the first being that a lot of the recipes serve 8 people which is a lot larger than an average family so why? The second being that the calories are listed as per serving but it does not give you an...
Published on 25 Jan 2010 by Jobee


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely recipes - not just for dieters, 23 April 2011
By 
Marand (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Italian Diet (Paperback)
I didn't buy this book as a diet book - I was just leafing through it in the bookshop and was attracted to the recipes. The fact that the recipes are designed with calories and health in mind is an added bonus. There is in fact a relatively brief analysis of the diet aspect, with an introduction by a dietitician. All recipes are calorie counted with details as to fats, sugars and salt. The emphasis is on low GI carbohydrates as the core of the diet - no Atkins style restrictions here which is hardly surprising in a Mediterranean eating plan - and portion control. Much is made of the fact that Italians are slimmer than other Europeans and live longer than Brits. Two diet plans are given - one 1500 calorie a day for women, and a 2000 calorie diet for men. The diet advice is pretty basic but in truth most people who are wanting to diet will care more about the results than the theory.

Being an Italian style plan, there is a daily alcohol allowance and the usual Italian ingredients appear - lots of pasta, olive oil in moderation, even Parmesan features. I am writing this review on a glorious spring day, and the recipes scream sunshine to me. To that end, I think this book would be good for those starting a diet in spring or early summer as the recipes fit these seasons particularly well. I have to say, I don't think you would feel that you were on a diet which is probably helpful too!

As I mentioned, I didn't buy the book as a diet book - I was interested in the recipes and it particularly appealed for light summer dishes. For breakfast, recipes include a light banana milk shake, porridge with raspberries & blueberries, baked peaches with berries and honey, baked eggs with ham in tomato & garlic sauce (this for me is better as a light lunch - a tomato & garlic sauce isn't my idea of breakfast). As you would expect in an Italian cook book there are antipasti - grilled marinated peppers, bruschette (including a very nice pea & broad bean version), baked onions and more. For lunch, you can try a light omelette with chives and potatoes (excellent cold too for taking to work or for picnics), roasted tomatoes & soft cheese rolled in parma ham, prawn & bean salad, pasta salad, tuna & anchovy cakes (both fish being canned so a good store cupboard dish). There are lots of soups and salads - for example, a nice rocket & butternut squash soup, onion & pancetta soup, courgette ribbons with cannellini beans (which is stunning to look at), French bean salad with mozzarella & garlic.

As you would expect, there is a good range of pasta dishes for example, linguine with garlic, prawns & spinach. You will also find pizzas & risotto, baked gnocchi. There are some lovely fish dishes too - a beautiful salmon & vegetable tartare, salmon fillets in tomato, garlic & thyme sauce, cod fillet with red pesto plus sardines, mackerel, whole sea bass. Meat-based meals include stuffed crepes with minced pork & parmesan, pork loin with white wine & sage pesto, chicken breasts with parmesan, tomatoes & mozzarella (so diet!), sirloin steak with gorgonzola & pink peppercorn sauce, beef & wild mushroom stew (although I think this needs to be cooked for longer than the time stated in the recipe).

There are even desserts and what is called 'the naughty corner'. Desserts include grilled vanilla peaches with butterscotch sauce, hot chocolate cups with pears and amaretto, strawberry filo tarts with basil crème fraiche, whilst the 'naughties' include lasagne (skimmed milk for the sauce to keep the calories down), cheesecake, chocolate mousse & tiramisu!

The recipes are generally very easy to prepare and use commonplace ingredients. It has to be said that many of the recipes are not really easy to reduce for just one person so if you are dieting I think you'll have to co-opt the family, but given the range of recipes I doubt this would be too much of a problem. It would also be fair to say that the diet plan lunches are probably too inconvenient for many working people. Low-calorie/low fat ingredients have been used but for those not worried about this aspect you could substitute e.g. semi-skimmed milk for skimmed milk, which in my view provides a better taste in lasagne for example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Italian Diet, 25 Mar 2010
By 
Gillian M. Regan "Gillian Regan" (Plymouth England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Italian Diet (Paperback)
I love everything about this book! As someone who is addicted to cookery books, this one has everything you need for delicious easy to follow healthy eating Italian recipes, including weekly meal plans to help achieve balanced calorie intakes.
It is beautifully set out with lots of pictures which I always love in a cookery book. It comes with lots of easy to read information and every recipe has been calculated for calories, fat and sugar contents etc, which in todays world of food excesses is vital for anyone who wants to regulate or control their calorie intake.
I have tried several of the recipes already and believe they could be used for an impressive dinner party and no one would know they are not laden with excess calories, I have already impressed my family with the Stuffed Crepes with Minced Pork & Parmesan which can be adapted for a starter or main course. Chicken Breast with Parmesan, Tomatoes & Mozzarella will be definite regular in our household, as will the wonderfully fresh and light tasting Ricotta & Vanilla Tiramisu, to mention just a few. As an ex Cookery teacher and demonstrator I know this book (and I cannot say this of most of my large collection) will be very well used in my house and one that I will give as presents to my family and friends. Certainly, with the busy lives many of us lead I would highly recommend this book to anyone who wishes to combine healthy eating with the wonderful flavours and easy style of Italian cooking. Buy, use and enjoy with confidence. Happy cooking from Gill Regan Fantastico!: Modern Italian Food
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the italian diet, 5 Feb 2010
By 
P. T. Collins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Italian Diet (Paperback)
my wife say's this is the best book on food that she has ever bought.
after searching for years for diet books.
the choices are great & you can mix & match.
absolutely wonderful & recommend it to anyone wanting a healthy eating programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Italian way of life, 7 Feb 2010
By 
Bob (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Italian Diet (Paperback)
A well written book which although listed as a diet book it is as much an introduction to the Italian way of life (at least the eating bit) There are a collection of good tasty Italian recipes, each recipe gives the calorie count for a portion size and also a breakdown of the quantity of fat, saturates, sugars and salt in each portion. The principle in this book is based on two diet plans one for women (1500 calories) and one for men (2000 calories)These plans are broken down into the number of calories per meal (Breakfast 250 calories, Lunch 450 calories, Dinner 600 calories plus an allowance of 200 calories for alcohol and milk; Woman's plan). A complete menu is given for one week with full instructions as to how to make each meal, it is suggested that this plan is used for 2 weeks and after that the reader should create similar plans using the other recipes in the book. It does emphasise that the Italians eat smallish portions and do not usually snack between meals. Each recipe has a preamble telling something about the reason for the choice and often hints for example there is a hint never to cook with buffalo mozzarella but use cow's mozzarella as the buffalo one make the dish very watery by releasing too much milk but should be used uncooked in salads etc.
All of the recipes are fully explained with none of the chef type terms that could confuse a novice cook.
The only criticism is that the recipes are for 2, 4, 6 or even 8 people it would have been better if this had been consistent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 14 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Italian Diet (Paperback)
I just recieved my book, it's packed full of delicious recipes which are broken down for calorie intake! The menu's allow for you to have a proper dinner & even a glass of wine!!! Loads & loads of information!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 29 Jan 2010
By 
D. Stanford "D" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Italian Diet (Paperback)
There are three things I need in a diet to lose weight and keep it off: -

1. Less calories (it's the only way people!)
2. More protein (you only feel hungry otherwise)
3. Tasty recipes

This book is the only one I've found EVER that actually provides this and the recipes are healthy too.

So cheers Gino - your food is lovely!

PS. 3 weeks in, 12lbs down and a large glass of wine with every meal (it's the law)!

The Italian Diet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastico, 19 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. R. Bennett "Rosemary" (NW England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Italian Diet (Paperback)
I have never had an Italian cook book before. I just love Gino so when he announced his new I diet book was comming out I decided to order it and try some of his recipes. It's a lovely book with colourful pages and includes a leading dietitian explaining why the Italian diet is so good for you. If like me you want to make some Italian meals you can't go wrong with the King of the kitchen, the Italian Stallion.
Rosemary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The I Diet, 18 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Italian Diet (Paperback)
Although this book is a 'diet Book', it actually is a really nice recipe book, with the added nutritional information available. There are equal amounts of vegetarian and meat/fish recipes, using everyday ingredients. I think this will be one for regular daily use, after the compliments i recieved after making the risotto frutti mari. Enjoy this great value and inspiring book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy italian, 7 Feb 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Italian Diet (Paperback)
As Gino says its Fantastico! I love Italy and especially its food and this book is so simple to follow and the ingredients easy to source and cook. The book is so straight forward, I,m just working my way through it, and loving each receipe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovin this book, 6 Feb 2010
By 
kaz (bedford england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Italian Diet (Paperback)
iv literally tried and tested most of the receipes in this book what can i say EXCELLENT this really is a surberb little book i highly recommend. receipes are easy to follow, and rather tasty. famiy enjoying at moment, different meal every night and no left overs!! (for a change. ha ha) if you do decide to purchase this book you wont be sorry. i certainly recommend you try the lemon butter chicken, so easy but delicious and thats just one of the favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Italian Diet
The Italian Diet by Gino D'Acampo (Paperback - 7 Jan 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews