Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cook in a class of your own with Richard Bertinet, 7 Jan 2011
This review is from: Cook (Hardcover)
The best cookery book I have bought for quite a time. Very clear instructions and helpful advice, which is delivered in a totally unpatronising way. Particularly useful if you in fact have some knowledge but a lack of confidence, and if you are a beginner, it will give you confidence. To my mind a great improvement on Delia Smith, who caters to the same type of audience, but whose recipes are duller and delivered with a certain smugness. The recipes cater for a broad range of tastes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly simple and very delicious!, 11 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Cook (Hardcover)
We have recently received a copy of this book and have to say it is fantastic. Initially I thought it looked much more wordy than some of my other books but that is because it is full of very useful and interesting bits of info which not only tell you what to do, but why you are doing it (and how to rectify if you make a hash of it, haven't got all the ingreds etc!). I have made the fish pie, which was quite different from other recipes I have followed (e.g. adding wine to the roux before the milk in order to get a super smooth bechamel - it works) - the recipe was easy to follow and results were delicious - I will be rolling this out for all forseeable guests! Have also made a successful carbonara. The best bit, however, of having this book is that it has encouraged my husband (whose repertoire normally extends only to pancakes and "scramblers")to cook - he has turned out a fantastic smoked haddock chowder and a smoked salmon and rocket pasta dish and is threatening to do more - yippee! Really good book that makes it seem pretty easy to turn out delicious and stylish dishes for the family and guests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cooking de-mystified..., 26 April 2010
By 
jjb "jojab9" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cook (Hardcover)
Both my wife and I have attended courses at the Bertinet Cookery School in Bath and, both having had such a good time, we were bound to buy this book. The format is very simple. Richard has itemised the most common questions he is asked during cookery classes and provides concise answers alongside recipes for some classic dishes. There is a good DVD included that shows the man himself in a very relaxed, informal but so informative way that you get swept away by his innate enthusiasm and obvious skill.
This is not just another cookery book, but a useful addition to any cooks library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just an excellent collection of receipes, 12 May 2010
This review is from: Cook (Hardcover)
I bought this purely on my experience of Richards other book on bread called Dough. I was really pleased that when it arrived the quality was just as good. Apart from a collection of very appealling receipes it also includes excellent instruction on both technique and methods of cooking that is useful to both the beginner and more experienced home amatuer cook. This extra guidance gives me the confidence to try more advanced dishes and so far they have turned out perfect.

I'd recommend that you make sure you get the book with the free DVD which includes actual demonstratio of some of the receipes.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Salut Richard!, 5 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cook (Hardcover)
I found this book very useful in my kitchen. The recipes are precise and I was always succesfull. The mayo recipe is the best I've tried!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cook, 28 July 2010
By 
Mrs. S. Lister "sandy alex" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cook (Hardcover)
One of the good things about this book is that Richard lists the prep.that you need to do so that when you start to make the dish there are no delays causing problems like having the oil burn whilst you hastely chop three onions. Great book well thought out and tasty recipes. R.Bertinet is a talented teacher and this comes through in his writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cook by Richard Bertinet., 4 Aug 2010
This review is from: Cook (Hardcover)
As with Dough and Crust, Richard has produced another book of outstanding quality. This is bound to be a book that is referenced for its techniques. Watching the DVD that accompanies the book is like having your own Master Class with one of the top Chefs in the country. Fantastic, everyone should have this book on their kitchen shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book!, 9 July 2010
By 
Phil (Vienna, Austria) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cook (Hardcover)
Nice book with great recipes.. in line with the previous work published by the author. the accompanying CD is a great adding with good tips. few recipes e.g spaghetti cucumber salad are surprisingly simple, healthy and delicious !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get cooking, 18 Aug 2010
By 
Nicholas Booth (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cook (Hardcover)
Richard Bertinet's bread books are wonderful, and this new cookbook does not disappoint. It's informative and answers questions about the recipes on each page. The DVD that comes with the book is very helpful, the recipes clearly written and the photos on each page are essential to an unimaginative cook! A lovely book to look at and to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cook by Richard Bertinet, 12 Dec 2011
This review is from: Cook (Hardcover)
Very nice book, I would recommend it to beginners rather than to those who already know what to do with salt and pepper:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cook
Cook by Richard Bertinet (Hardcover - 26 April 2010)
Used & New from: £4.82
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews