Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy and fun to read and understand, 22 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
As a quick reference to those common words which we all use without thinking this book is a must. Well put together and easy to understand with well researched content. Above all this book is interesting and fun to read. For the serious student of language this book could benefit from a quick reference to the period when the word came into common use.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD, 10 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought it for our 11 year old son (at his request!), and he loves it. What more can I say. Not an in-depth review, but it does what I wanted of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Word Lover's Dream, 6 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dictionary of Word Origins (Paperback)
A must for lovers of words and their origins. Really enjoyable book to pick up now and then and discover an interesting little fact. Would definitely recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 26 Aug. 2012
By 
N. R. Chance - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dictionary of Word Origins (Paperback)
After developing an interest in etymology, I hunted around and decided on purchasing this book by Flavell. It didn't disappoint! Working much like a dictionary, a number of regular and irregular words are explored in an easy to read and informative style. Lots to discover and lots of fun too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars find out something new every day - essential for word geeks, 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always enjoyed discovering the roots of words. This is a great support to that interest. So, I recommend this beside your dictionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dictionary of Word Origins (Paperback)
Excellent book but can you spot the stupid mistake on the cover. The editor should be shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is a great, instructive book, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a great ,instructive book.A good read.i am very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dictionary of Word Origins (Paperback)
Great item. Quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dictionary of Word Origins (Paperback)
Very interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can anybody help?, 14 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have only glanced inside at one word, " ostracise."
I had understood from my schooldays, 50+ years ago, that this word was derived from the Greek for "oyster"; that votes were made on plentiful, and otherwise useless,oyster shells.
I had assumed this useful practice had died out with the lack of oysters interfering with democratic rights.
This book says that the word derives from the Greek for, "potsherd" [the"sherd" I remember as being Arabic for "pot"; is "shard" related?]
If so, there is no reason, whatsoever, to not bring back ostracism: with arthritis I find I create more potsherds than I could possibly use.
Can anyone expand on this, please?
Excuse me while I dig in further: "hoodlum,"due to a type-setter's error with the name,"Muldoon,"spelt backwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dictionary of Word Origins
Dictionary of Word Origins by Roger Flavell (Paperback - 14 Jan. 2010)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews