Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Haute cuisine goes vegetarian
A really excellent vegetarian cookbook that I fear will only appeal to a very limited minority - those who want to cook vegetarian food and have also got the talent, ability and desire to cook complex, sometimes difficult dishes using a large number of ingredients.

First off, it should be said that the recipes in this cookbook are really pretty remarkable...
Published on 27 Jun 2009 by Gabrielle O

versus
10 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A shocking Book!!!
This book may look very amazing on the out side but have you ever actualy tried to make any of it? oh yes and if you are thinking of, dont because it's a waste of time! i made the butternut sqash and the polenta chips and they didn't work they were like jelly they were all mushy and they had way to much salt in them and i didn't even put the whole amount in! Then i made...
Published on 20 Aug 2009 by Ms. P. J. Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars vegetarian, 12 Jun 2009
By 
Mrs. G. Skinner (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Modern Vegetarian: Food Adventures for the Contemporary Palate: Over 120 Recipes to Wake Up Your Palate (Hardcover)
I am not a vegetarian but most of my family are. i have numerous books, so it was good to get something a bit different. Have been pleased with the couple recipies already made. Carrot pancakes were a great success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A firm favourite, quite exceptional, 13 Jan 2012
By 
Amber (Godalming, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Modern Vegetarian: Food Adventures for the Contemporary Palate: Over 120 Recipes to Wake Up Your Palate (Hardcover)
It took only a few seconds flipping through this book, and I knew instantly I had to have it. It was added to my kitchen shelves already groaning with cookery books. Eighteen months later, the cover now splattered and with many pages dog-eared, it sits almost permanently on my kitchen worktable, alongside two or three other favourites. I am vegetarian, the rest of the family are not, but Maria Elia's innovative, punchy flavour combinations hit the right note with us. Sweet Pea Custards, divine! Blue Cheese Cheesecake with Sticky Figs, amazing! How many recipes have you read for Butternut Squash Risotto? Try Maria's and I guarantee you won't use any other. I am now about to buy her second book, Full of Flavour, just pubished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 16 Jun 2010
By 
S. Pinkerton (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Modern Vegetarian: Food Adventures for the Contemporary Palate: Over 120 Recipes to Wake Up Your Palate (Hardcover)
The book is a great inspiration for cooks and chefs alike, it makes vegetarian cookery exciting, easy, inspiring and tasty. When eating most of these dishes you would never think that you were specifically excluding meat. This is an exciting book which you can read over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well received gift, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Modern Vegetarian: Food Adventures for the Contemporary Palate: Over 120 Recipes to Wake Up Your Palate (Hardcover)
Purchased as an extra secondary Christmas present for a vegetarian relative and she has used the book many times. Is exactly what it says it is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, Wonderful Vegetarian...., 12 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Modern Vegetarian: Food Adventures for the Contemporary Palate: Over 120 Recipes to Wake Up Your Palate (Hardcover)
Up until recently I'd always eaten vegetarian food alongside meat dishes. Having decided to take the leap into full blown vegetarianism I'd been looking for some books that didn't involve a thousand pulses and knitting my own yoghurt! This is one of those books - the recipes are modern, interesting and emminently edible. I've already tried the Butternut Squash and Barley Risotto, and tonight will be Beetroot Keftedes. This book ticks all the boxes for modern visually exciting cuisine and proves that it's possible to be a foodie vegetarian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best gift I have bought in a long time., 12 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Modern Vegetarian: Food Adventures for the Contemporary Palate: Over 120 Recipes to Wake Up Your Palate (Hardcover)
Nothing beats hitting the mark when it comes to a really useful and inspiring Birthday present. This book delivers. Fresh and clean design with great recipes for a jaded appetite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book!, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Modern Vegetarian: Food Adventures for the Contemporary Palate: Over 120 Recipes to Wake Up Your Palate (Hardcover)
Every recipe I tried was delicious. It is such a refreshing change from the, generally, so very worthy vegetarian cookery books. I write as a vegetarian of forty years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service, 23 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Modern Vegetarian: Food Adventures for the Contemporary Palate: Over 120 Recipes to Wake Up Your Palate (Hardcover)
The purpose of this review is to express my appreciation to the supplier (south-west books). The first book they dispatched did not arrive to me, and after waiting a reasonable number of days and still no book, they sent a second copy to me which has just arrived. I have only had time to try one recipie but I am very impressed with Maria Elia (I also have her other book). So thank you to Maria for inspiring recipies and to the supplier for really excellent customer service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A shocking Book!!!, 20 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: The Modern Vegetarian: Food Adventures for the Contemporary Palate: Over 120 Recipes to Wake Up Your Palate (Hardcover)
This book may look very amazing on the out side but have you ever actualy tried to make any of it? oh yes and if you are thinking of, dont because it's a waste of time! i made the butternut sqash and the polenta chips and they didn't work they were like jelly they were all mushy and they had way to much salt in them and i didn't even put the whole amount in! Then i made the tofu stuffed with a mushroom stuffing with a ginger batter. they didn't work either and quite franqually they were disgusting. another error was that there are quite a few typing errors and the instuctions are not detailed enough so watch out! so for the money you might want to think again before you buy this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews