Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2010
This book is a Burg lover's paradise, with listings for most of the notable producers that detail each domaine's history, vineyard holdings, negociant wines and winemaking techniques and philosophy. The book is organized by sub-regions/villages, with a general description of each appellation. Be aware that if you're looking for tasting notes of specific wines, this is not for you. It is, however, the most comprehensive and up-to-date reference on the Cote d'Or that I've seen.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2010
The very best book on Burgundian Wine. Well written, informative and beautiful pictures. If you only ever buy one book on Burgundy then this is the one!
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2010
This book is great for an accessible insights into the mysteries of Burgundies. Often regarded as Wine Nirvana, Burgundies are nonetheless little understood and aloof compared to Bordeaux. This book peels the layers and provides the first insights of domaines and their history. Hope someone does one for Rhone valley
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2011
This book is a joy to read. Wonderfully written with some of the most in depth content I've seen. Well worth a read if you're planning a trip to Burgundy or equally if you want to be better informed about what you buy and drink at home. Thank you!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2012
Always use this book for crucial and detailed info about the key domaines in each commune. Not as broad as Clive Coates or bill nanson, it is less descriptive and informative but feels more energetic and flowing, a really focused and insightful book that covers most top (not all) domaines. Could offer more insight into where the value is and more insider hints, definitely worth purchasing.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
Lots information about domaines of Burgundy - so title is 100% exact about the content. I just wanted to have more information about Pinot Noir and Chardonnay as the grapes, how they age and what to cellar. Also these great domaines produce wines that are really expensive. No list of bang for your buck.. But Burgundy is always expensive. So just a good read about top producers.
I am fascinated about the fact that authors had visited all 100+ domains that are mentioned in the book!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2010
As a lover of Burgundy, I was anticipating a great book and I was not disappointed. By focusing on the producer rather than the specific appelation, Remington Norman has unlocked what is the world's most confusing wine region. All the books previously have focused on a village and its wines, and only then considered the merits of the producer. I find as a consumer that I grow to like the wines of a particular producer and so I find his approach much more useful. It is amazingly comprehensive but, as always with Burgundy, it's always possible to find the exception he has not covered.

A brilliant book.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2010
On the face of it, the book is a good read, with a subjective selection of excellent Burgundy producers. Having recently spoken with one of the famous winemakers dealt with by the book, I no longer take all of the commentary as "gospel". He was adamant that much of the research and writing for this edition was not done by the authors. He was happy with the chapter on himself, but said that some in Burgundy were dissappointed with innaccuracies and untruths contained within. The first edition of the book is said to be the best in terms of accuracy. Nevertheless, as stated, I found it a good read.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
Great
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2011
If you wish to get insights in the Burgundy wine area this book could be the one you have been looking for
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.