Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Careful buying this book....
This book is the same book as "Garden Anywhere: How to Grow Gorgeous Container Gardens, Herb Gardens, Kitchen Gardens and More without Spending a Fortune" - don't buy both!!
Published on 24 April 2010 by James Halligan

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the thrifty gardener
If you already have Alys Fowlers other book The Edible Garden DO NOT bother buying this. The Thrifty Gardener was disappointing as there was absolutely nothing new in it and is basically a repeat of her other book.
Published on 25 Oct 2010 by kazza2u


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Careful buying this book...., 24 April 2010
By 
This review is from: The Thrifty Gardener: How to Create a Stylish Garden for Next to Nothing (Paperback)
This book is the same book as "Garden Anywhere: How to Grow Gorgeous Container Gardens, Herb Gardens, Kitchen Gardens and More without Spending a Fortune" - don't buy both!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the thrifty gardener, 25 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Thrifty Gardener: How to Create a Stylish Garden for Next to Nothing (Paperback)
If you already have Alys Fowlers other book The Edible Garden DO NOT bother buying this. The Thrifty Gardener was disappointing as there was absolutely nothing new in it and is basically a repeat of her other book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gardening the thrifty way, 29 Mar 2010
By 
Sookie B "Sookie" (Surrey, England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Thrifty Gardener: How to Create a Stylish Garden for Next to Nothing (Paperback)
I highly recommend this great book, ideal for all those who wish to treat gardening with some respect and save on costs. Methods we may have forgotten. Good common sense with innovative ideas easy for the amateur gardener to follow and enjoy. Then benefiting from growing beautiful produce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Thrifty Gardener Alys Fowler, 23 Jun 2010
By 
Alison Wood (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Thrifty Gardener: How to Create a Stylish Garden for Next to Nothing (Paperback)
For anybody that enjoyed watching Alys Fowlers recent tv show on BBC2 this book is a must. Im new to gardening and she portrays a love of the garden like no other. The book is full of useful tips from soil analysis to where plants like to grow. The vegetable section is just enough information to get you curious enough to start and give it a go. Anyone who is thrifty by nature will love the tips on collecting seeds and the whole ethos of reusing skip finds and other cast offs in the garden. Im not saying you wont need more indepth technical books to help your understanding, but this is a lovely starter book to get your interest and hopefully a love of gardening. A true gem of a book. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 2 Mar 2009
By 
T. Quigley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Thrifty Gardener: How to Create a Stylish Garden for Next to Nothing (Paperback)
I wasn't sure what to expect from this book, but soon found it to be an easy and enjoyable read. Not only was the book about saving money but it also gave good information about soil and propagation. Everyone into saving money in the garden and the allotment way of thinking will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good inspiration, 14 Mar 2010
By 
C. Moore "clairemr" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Thrifty Gardener: How to Create a Stylish Garden for Next to Nothing (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. Well worth the price. I was quickly inspired to start working on my new garden. Alys also explains the more scientific aspects in a very clear manner. On the basis of this book I asked for her new book 'The Edible Garden' as a mother's day present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The thrifty gardener, 10 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: The Thrifty Gardener: How to Create a Stylish Garden for Next to Nothing (Paperback)
A book for the experienced as well as novice gardener. Common sense ideas which don't cost the earth.Well written, clearly explained,easy to understand ideas by somone who has realised we can't all afford paid garden help.
My new garden bible. Thank you Alys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars read the text, 27 July 2009
By 
This review is from: The Thrifty Gardener: How to Create a Stylish Garden for Next to Nothing (Paperback)
fantastic pictures complemented by awesome text. get stuck in and its full of great information. cheers Alys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just the ticket, 13 July 2010
This review is from: The Thrifty Gardener: How to Create a Stylish Garden for Next to Nothing (Paperback)
I thought this was a lovely book. It had loads of ideas for improvising and saving money. Just the ticket in these trying times. I will save the cost of this book in the first year. Deffinately one for the book shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best gardening books I've read in a while, 14 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Thrifty Gardener: How to Create a Stylish Garden for Next to Nothing (Paperback)
I've read a lot of books covering the basics of gardening, and after a while they all more or less start to say the same things. But this book was different because I picked up a lot of new things. It's not just about saving money on gardening, it's about how to garden in general. Alys really knows her stuff, and this shines through in the book. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Thrifty Gardener: How to Create a Stylish Garden for Next to Nothing
Used & New from: £7.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews