Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proper bread - a revelation
I went searching for traditional recipes/methods for bread baking after being mildly disappointed with back-of-the-packet recipes on bags of flour.

I saw lots of positive reviews for Bertinet's books in general and plumped for Crust and its DVD. The methodology and technique was really unexpected! The recipes are clear and the methods easy to follow, though...
Published on 13 Mar 2010 by K. Wan

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, but ...
The good;

The video is very good as it lets you see the techniques in action.
The resulting bread you get is great.
Lots of pictures to show finished and intermediate results.

Not so good;

The recipes seem to be baking for large numbers of people (do I really need 4 loaves at a time?)
Also the instructions on P124 don't...
Published on 3 May 2011 by PJ Online


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can't wait to try out lots of these recipes. Such detailed instructions. I've been without a stove for a week , but the new sour dough mix is almost ready..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Frist class, 17 Sep 2013
By 
B. Figura (Kings Lynn, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Richard Bertinet's book is an excellent read, one of the best books on bread you will find five stars !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crust: From Sourdough, Spelt and Rye Bread to Ciabatta, 31 July 2013
By 
Szilard Paczer "simple boy" (Bathgate, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
had already book from Richard Bertinet decided to improve my bread making knowledge. This Crust book gives you another approach
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly detailed and inspiring book, 19 May 2010
This review is from: Crust: Bread to Get Your Teeth into (Hardcover)
I stumbled upon Richard's books by chance while reading European food blogs. I started with his book 'Dough' which is incredibly useful for a novice baker. Richard explains everything and the first ever loaf of bread (simple white dough) I produced using Richard's instructions was a revelation! My family was duly impressed and I was hooked. Since then, I have progressed into "Crust" and started with the sourdough, following Richard's instructions again. The results are incredible. I stopped buying bread altogether. My family is ever happy and the when I took my first ever home made croissants out of the oven the delight was overwhelming.
Bread baking is the most basic and yet gratifying experience and Richard makes it easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kneading method, 14 Mar 2008
This review is from: Crust: Bread to Get Your Teeth into (Hardcover)
I bought this book after seeing him on Saturday Kitchen. The DVD in the back is invaluable when understanding his kneading method which is the one I use whenever making any non-Rye Sourdough bread. Buy this book for the method and Richard Whitley's for recipes of a manageable quantity and you're onto a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bread, mmmm!, 22 Oct 2007
By 
D. Wellings (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crust: Bread to Get Your Teeth into (Hardcover)
Made some baguettes in my wood fired pizza oven, which I also made myself.
Fantastic book. However the amount of salt in the dough proved far too salty tasting for myself and my wife. I would halve the amount of salt at least!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crust, 6 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. K. S. Johnson (Farnham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crust: Bread to Get Your Teeth into (Hardcover)
I had already bought this for myself some time ago.

This purchase was a present for another baker.

Unfortunately, although sold as new, it was not in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Formidable!, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
M. Bertinet is a genius. His recipes are exquisite and his understanding of the craft of the artisan bread baker has no parallel. I simply love experimenting with different flours and yeasts to try and achieve unsurpassable flavour. This book is a great help in assisting me to realise that ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hands on baking, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clear and enthusiastic writing covering breads I have made before but with a fresh approach. I'm not sure why his sourdough starters are made in such large volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, but ..., 3 May 2011
This review is from: Crust: Bread to Get Your Teeth into (Hardcover)
The good;

The video is very good as it lets you see the techniques in action.
The resulting bread you get is great.
Lots of pictures to show finished and intermediate results.

Not so good;

The recipes seem to be baking for large numbers of people (do I really need 4 loaves at a time?)
Also the instructions on P124 don't quite match the series of photos (that one is a bit pedantic, but I looked at the photo and wondered how they managed it as I usually use the photos as the main guide).

The acid test is that I haven't used this for about a year now as other books have provided better and more reliable recipes, although I will go back and use the Pain Brie recipe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crust: Bread to Get Your Teeth into
Crust: Bread to Get Your Teeth into by Richard Bertinet (Hardcover - 27 Sep 2007)
Used & New from: 9.78
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews