Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
33
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 December 2009
There's some awfully twaddle books on idioms about so finding this was delightful. It's readable, interesting and (so far as I can tell) accurate. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
I teach English and this book is a useful resource. well researched and written. The presentation is also good though at times it should stop when it has made its point and leave out a little of the extra history when it ceases to be relevant to meaning.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2010
I am always wodering where idioms come from and now I have the answer. I am always dipping into this book.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Bought this as a christmas gift for my mum. I wasn't sure how it would go down but she absolutely loved it! Said it was one of her favorite gifts! She loves looking up where sayings come from and why. My grandparents loved it to so may be buying it for them too!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2010
For someone with a foreign in-law 'Dictionary of Idioms' is a must!

It's bad enough trying to explain simple English, but a 'lost cause' trying to explain our idiomatic speech-without the help of such a book. When 'the penny drops' on the quaint meanings behind idiomatic speech, much laughter as well as knowledge is generated.

B. Hewson
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
The book arrived very promptly and is a joy to read, explaining the origins of all those phrases that you hear and use but don't know their origins. Fascinating and highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
A very usefull book for those who interested in idioms. Is is accompanied by interested essays inserted in the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
Take this book to my literary gathering - it is so interesting
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2011
This book is chocka full of Idioms,if like me your obsessed with the history of words and their meanings & phrases of everyday use then this book is for you.
Whilst I do think the compilation of phrases used and the examples are not the best and most researched out there it does still hold some weight and makes an interesting read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2016
Great book , have as a Christmas present they loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)