Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


90 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great way for foodies to lose weight/eat healthily
Wozzer has done it again - I was running out of recipes from his GI Diet book and was very happy to see this new book at my local Waitrose last week...
A wider range of foods, and bigger portion sizes are covered in this book vs. the GI book. The photography is great and the recipes are delicious - lots of herbs and spices used, not too strict on oils and fats so...
Published on 3 Feb 2006 by Mrs M.

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacking in substance
Essentially, this is a recipe book with introductory sections explaining the Glycaemic Index and Glycaemic Load.approach to eating. It is also a weight-loss plan, with most of the recipe meals coming in at less than 300 calories, although for weight maintenance the portions can be increased. The GL diet is a recommended eating plan for diabetics, although AWT's recipes...
Published on 20 April 2010 by Alan H. Eastwood


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

90 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great way for foodies to lose weight/eat healthily, 3 Feb 2006
This review is from: Antony Worrall Thompson's GL Diet Made Simple (Paperback)
Wozzer has done it again - I was running out of recipes from his GI Diet book and was very happy to see this new book at my local Waitrose last week...
A wider range of foods, and bigger portion sizes are covered in this book vs. the GI book. The photography is great and the recipes are delicious - lots of herbs and spices used, not too strict on oils and fats so your stomach won't believe you're dieting! Have dropped 6 kilos in just over a month and haven't felt deprived once...
I would actually give it 4.5 stars if the rating system allowed as once again there are a couple of things that could be improved:
- not enough info on preparation and cooking times (especially important in a book that sometimes advocates using dried pulses rather than canned ones... so factor in overnight soaking and cooking!). There are super-quick recipes too thouugh.
- many of the recipes cater for 4-6 people. There are just 2 of us at home which means either dividing up ingredient quantities or eating each recipe over several meals. They are yummy though...
- finally the recipes are grouped by ingredient type (grains, pulses, desserts etc.) rather than by meal type (breakfast, dinner, snack) as in the GI book. Personally I preferred the latter.
All in all a fab book (buy the GI one too) if you love your food and find most diet food torture to eat, you'll get along with this eating plan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GL for calorie counters, 1 Mar 2006
This review is from: Antony Worrall Thompson's GL Diet Made Simple (Paperback)
Great book , appetising pictures , nice recipes which use easily available ingredients and larger portions than patrick holford or nigel denby. However some contradiction with both patrick holford and nigel denby viewpoints on gl value of some foods. Some recipes do contain sugar in various forms other fast carb foods(rice) and as the gl of the recipes is not given , I am a little dubious that they are low gl. He seems to advocate watching the calories rather than the gl of foods and cites this as one of the reasons for not calculating gl of the recipes. A Little dissapointing overall as does not lend itself to using recipes with other gl diet plans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacking in substance, 20 April 2010
By 
Alan H. Eastwood "Northerner" (Southampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Antony Worrall Thompson's GL Diet Made Simple (Paperback)
Essentially, this is a recipe book with introductory sections explaining the Glycaemic Index and Glycaemic Load.approach to eating. It is also a weight-loss plan, with most of the recipe meals coming in at less than 300 calories, although for weight maintenance the portions can be increased. The GL diet is a recommended eating plan for diabetics, although AWT's recipes would probably horrify low-carbing diabetics as he suggests fifty percent of food should be carbohydrate, with around 200g per day for women and 270g per day for men. Many low-carbers balk at anything over 100g carbs.

The explanations of GI and GL, plus their benefits both as a healthy way of eating and to aid weight loss are brief, but clearly written, comprising around one quarter of the book. The remainder is devoted to the recipes. The recipes are accompanies by nutritional information which is useful, but in order to keep things `simple' the actual GL value is not included which seems to defeat the purpose somewhat- the calculation may be a little complex, but surely this could have been done and provided so that some comparisons could be made and the concept clarified further? My other criticism is that, although there are some large, full colour pictures of some of the dishes, they are not captioned, and the majority of meals are not illustrated. For me, this is an omission as I always eat `with my eyes' first. Some of the ingredients might also be difficult to source unless you live in a large town.

Overall, it didn't do much for me, but if you like AWT's recipes in general and have followed his previous books on GI, then this may also please, but I have seen better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes sense, 2 Feb 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antony Worrall Thompson's GL Diet Made Simple (Paperback)
After being hounded by this diet and that diet for years on end, the GI diet looked like the way to go, but after seeing the amount of lovely food that was high GI, I was put off a bit. The GL (glycaemic load) means you can have some on these but in moderation as its more quantity rather than the actual GI index you go by. Sounds complicated but it's not and some of the recipes sound delicious and are quite simple to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A. W. Thompson's GL Diet, 16 Jun 2011
By 
Cemccracken (N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Antony Worrall Thompson's GL Diet Made Simple (Paperback)
For the most part a good way to diet if diabetic but can sometimes be confusing and not everyone has the time to make the recipes provided - but interesting and informative for those interested in a new way to diet and who like cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Simple about it, and no GL!, 28 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antony Worrall Thompson's GL Diet Made Simple (Paperback)
I bought this book on the high ratings given by other reviews. Having successfully lost weight with the original low GI diet "Eat Yourself Slim and Stay Slim" by Michel Montingnac, I thought a few chef's recipes would give me a bit of variety, after ill health caused me gain weight.

The GL system requires you keep track of the total GL units/gms you eat daily. I was first confused by W-T's assertion that women wishing to lose weight should eat 110 GLs daily, despite Patrick Holford stating 40 GLs to lose weight and 55 to maintain weight, a vast contradiction in the two figures. (I think I'll go with Holford)

The book claims to make the GL diet simple; "no need for any complicated calculations" it claims, so that will be book full of recipes designed by a top chef that give you the GL of each recipe to help you easily work out your daily GL then; NO!

Each recipe give calories, fat, carb values etc, but NO GL, because, and I quote, "... the GL is affected by the type of ingredient you choose as well as the cooking method." Anthony, the very definition of a cookbook is that it gives you the ingredients and the cooking method for each recipe! That's like a low calorie cookbook that fails to note the calorie content- useless!

The book does explain how to calculate the GL, from the GI values, and gives some good, if not very basic dietary advice. Some of the recipes look interesting, but if I'm ever going to be able to try them then I'm going to have to do lots of those "complicated calculations" to find out the GL of the recipes.

If you want a healthy way to eat and keep your blood sugars stable this may be a book for you, but if you want to follow the GL diet, then don't waste your money. If you're allergic to tomatoes or pulses there's not much here for you either.

My best advice would be to buy the original GI diet "Eat Yourself Slim and Stay Slim" by Michel Montingnac, it contains great advice on healthy eating, vitamins etc. and includes recipes at the back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The miracle method improves again..., 24 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Antony Worrall Thompson's GL Diet Made Simple (Paperback)
At first, the new method may seem a bit complicated but it's definitely not! On the contrary, it helped me understand how to combine foods and then eat more and a greater variety of foods! Antony Worrall Thompson's recipes are delicious, easy to prepare and adapted to the whole family.

I have already lost 5 kilos in a month and I have never feel deprived!!! That is just a miracle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antony Worrall Thompson's GL Diet Made Simple (Paperback)
No problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice recipes, 25 Jun 2014
This review is from: Antony Worrall Thompson's GL Diet Made Simple (Paperback)
Some nice recipes but I am disappointed that no GL values shown with the recipes. I don't see the point of giving these recipes without the GL value. Wish I had looked at reviews before buying the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Book was damaged and dirty, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antony Worrall Thompson's GL Diet Made Simple (Paperback)
Book was damaged and dirty, I had to wipe cover to remove stains and the pages look chewed at the top of book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Antony Worrall Thompson's GL Diet Made Simple
Antony Worrall Thompson's GL Diet Made Simple by Jane Suthering (Paperback - 26 Jan 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews