Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 November 2009
I thoroughly recommend this book and bought the hardback version a few years ago. I regularly refer to it, or just browse through the excellent photographs when I need to get back down to earth after a frustrating day at work. Do you have books like that? I get a warm glow from knowing that I am doing what I can to lead a greener, healthier life and that the hustle of the corporate career ladder, tearing rush of the commute, and shocking materialism count for nothing compared to what life really should be like.

As well as the excellent text and pictures, there are some delicious recipes and inspiring ideas for hobbies.

Well written and illustrated, useful and practical I thoroughly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in leading a greener life or already does but needs some fresh inspiration.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2008
This is a lovely book and a well-written, factual and sometimes amusing taster of the easy ways we can take a few steps towards a greener life. The recipes are good, and the projects well explained and easy to follow.

It is the sort of book you can pick up and browse at any time and feel a warm glow that all is well with the world.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2009
I share the same views as the other reviewers, although I am less inclined to be as generous as them with my stars. I feel that a book should teach you something, and this book does not. If you are looking for a practical guide to living a greener life then look elsewhere. However, if what you are looking for is a beautiful coffee table book with lots of colour pictures of country traditions then this might just be the book for you. It's an armchair countryphile's dream in that respect.

The author's eccentric style and privileged upbringing come across very strongly in the book, and from that point of view it is highly evocative of a particular kind of country life. With comments like "I was a poor little rich girl, I never learned how to mend as we had servants to do that" on the double-page spread dedicated to darning, and tips for polishing the silver passed on only in reference to Mr Wild the butler.

Apart from the recipes, which is clearly Clarissa's forte, the rest of the book gives the air of crafts and skills observed and imperfectly remembered, rather than displaying any true mastery. It's like sitting at her knee and hearing her talk of old times. Evocative, erroneous and occasionally hilarious rubbish.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2007
This book is very nice to look at, and covers lots of ground: growing your own veg, keeping livestock, some cooking and preserving and a few household tips. It is a great starting point for those wanting to find out what older generations knew, but many brits seem to have lost. It is, however, not a book that covers everything, and although, for example, it is a good place to start looking for veg gardening ideas, a book solely dedicated to it may be better if this is what you are after.
If a coffee table book, that you can browse from time to time, is what you are after this is very good. It is also a good starting point for the complete beginner wanting to live 'the good life'. It is well written and presented, and does have very useful and interesting information.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2009
The book is full of useful information. Covering all subjects of things "green".A good alrounder so much so I bought the hardback for safe keeping and the paperback for using.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
As you could only expect from Clarissa , a straight to the point , no none sense book with her usual wry sense of humour and excellent photography. In short a realistic and practical guide to a more hands on approach to food production and a change in our lifestyle - it should be on TV !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
- but who for - the bankers?? Lots of good information with a minimum of Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall preaching thank goodness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
Clarissa's books are well written in an easy to read style and full of interesting information
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2014
Arrived safely well packed very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
Isn't Clarrissa brill
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)