Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Idioms, 19 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There's some awfully twaddle books on idioms about so finding this was delightful. It's readable, interesting and (so far as I can tell) accurate. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for dipping in to, 15 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am always wodering where idioms come from and now I have the answer. I am always dipping into this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Idiomaticly Speaking, 31 Oct 2011
This book is chocka full of Idioms,if like me your obsessed with the history of words and their meanings & phrases of everyday use then this book is for you.
Whilst I do think the compilation of phrases used and the examples are not the best and most researched out there it does still hold some weight and makes an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dictionary of Idioms, 5 May 2010
By 
Roy Hewson "B. Hewson" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For someone with a foreign in-law 'Dictionary of Idioms' is a must!

It's bad enough trying to explain simple English, but a 'lost cause' trying to explain our idiomatic speech-without the help of such a book. When 'the penny drops' on the quaint meanings behind idiomatic speech, much laughter as well as knowledge is generated.

B. Hewson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 13 Jan 2014
By 
Charlotte (Christchurch, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as a christmas gift for my mum. I wasn't sure how it would go down but she absolutely loved it! Said it was one of her favorite gifts! She loves looking up where sayings come from and why. My grandparents loved it to so may be buying it for them too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book arrived very promptly and is a joy to read, explaining the origins of all those phrases that you hear and use but don't know their origins. Fascinating and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect book, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very usefull book for those who interested in idioms. Is is accompanied by interested essays inserted in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Goods arrived quickly and well packed. Goods as expected.Many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dictionary of idioms, 8 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book arrived as expected. no surprises, very satisfied by the condition of the book.
As far as the book itself, I propose it, it is a good book, with a lot of idioms and good structure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very informative - a GREAT buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dictionary of Idioms: And Their Origins
Dictionary of Idioms: And Their Origins by L. Flavell (Hardcover - 12 Nov 1992)
Used & New from: £2.54
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews