Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Eden, 8 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sepp Holzer's Permaculture: 1 (Paperback)
I first came across Sepp Holzer when I read an article about him in the Permaculture Magazine and I was totally impressed with what he had achieved. Let's face it, anyone who can grew kiwi fruit outdoors, 1500m up a mountain in Austria, is definitely worth listening to. After all, everyone else is simply growing low-grade fir trees at those altitudes. I read his autobiography, The Rebel Farmer, and watched the DVDs that have been made about his farm, the Krameterhof. I found the man and his achievements a complete inspiration so was delighted when he decided to produce a practical guide for the rest of us.

Sepp Holzer's Permaculture is a comprehensive guide which clearly explains the methods he has used. It is heavily illustrated with photographs and detailed diagrams as well as very informative text. The book itself is a quality paperback and is a credit to the author and the publishers. I have many books on permaculture but few inspire me as much as this one does. I am looking forward to applying many of Sepp's ideas to my own small-holding, which is only four acres and located at a maximum of 59m in West Wales. The one thing Sepp emphasizes is that we should observe nature before we do anything. So his book will supply the ideas and my own observations will enable me to adapt them to my land. Will I be able to produce exotic fruits and become self-sufficient? Who knows, but this book will certainly help me on my way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction level book on permaculture, 24 July 2011
By 
H. Lintvelt "Manus" (England, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sepp Holzer's Permaculture: 1 (Paperback)
And a little more. If you ever saw the documentary on the Krameterhof, you will be massively entertained by the way the book is written. It is very much in Sepp's own words - resulting in an entertaining direct translation of his ideas from his native german tongue.

The content of the book is 85% introduction level permaculture. Value were added in Sepp's inclusion of his earth shelters, the more for him including specifications. There seem to be quite a lack of it in permaculture publications in general, and also a demand, even if it is site specific. There were also enough detail on some of the guilds he set up to make the book well worthwile.

If I had known nothing about permaculture, I would probably have scored it a 5 out of 5. Unfortunately, Sepp have to compete with all of the other permie authors out there already. Nontheless, it is a book that will stay on my book shelf indefinitely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for the serious gardener or smallholder, 29 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sepp Holzer's Permaculture: 1 (Paperback)
Sepp Holzer has become a legend - the man who made a farm high in the Alps profitable and beautiful while reducing its dependency on brought in products. He did all this by reasoned thought and by escaping the bonds of conventional farming wisdom. Now, I garden at sea level in Somerset, so not much of what he did in the Alps is useful here, except for his general method of observing and thinking. The value of this book is that it inspires the reader to do just that. As if that were not enough, it is a thoroughly good read into the bargain. I just could not put it down and read on into the night until it was finished. This is a book to treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book - great cow pictures too!, 4 July 2012
By 
Mr. Chris Day (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sepp Holzer's Permaculture: 1 (Paperback)
A method of farming and gardening is described which is compassionate to nature as well as healthy for humans. Anyone interested in permaculture should read this book. No boring theory here: Herr Holzer writes with an engaging style and relates his own experiences. Hard to put this book down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent unless you live in uk!, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sepp Holzer's Permaculture: 1 (Paperback)
This is the fascinating account of a completely original thinker who invented his own version of permaculture. It is full of great ideas for challenging environments, but not all is relevant or usable in a standard English garden or allotment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing book, 12 Aug 2011
This review is from: Sepp Holzer's Permaculture: 1 (Paperback)
Fantastic read from cover to cover. Now all i need is a version of this book written using Sepp's methods for the UK. So many idea's & dreams were rushing through my head while reading it. Ive read this book twice now & still read things i dont think i read last time. Thanks Sepp for all your hard work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really excellent book, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sepp Holzer's Permaculture: 1 (Paperback)
very informative, great ideas and experiences that can be incorporated in to growing at home or at projects.
i particularly like his kind of raised beds :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You Can't Buy Experience... But you can..., 28 Dec 2013
By 
D. S. Trees - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sepp Holzer's Permaculture: 1 (Paperback)
This book has so much depth to it, it cannot be read in one season. Of course some could read it in one season, but, to extract the depth of experience Sepp Holzer has included, one needs to read and then understand by implementation of the concepts in ones own locale.

That is my humble opinion at least. Worth the money for... Yes yes yes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars opens your eyes!, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sepp Holzer's Permaculture: 1 (Paperback)
Great book that changes the way I see gardening and agriculture forever! Like his idea of using microclimates and improving otherwise infertile soils with plants. Perfect for people growing their own in mountainous terrain but equally useful for giving farmers such as myself a new outlook on sustainable food production. A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh!, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sepp Holzer's Permaculture: 1 (Paperback)
Really enjoying seeing another side to gardening and implementing some of his ideas in my garden and given me lots of new ideas on how to proceed with my garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sepp Holzer's Permaculture: 1
Sepp Holzer's Permaculture: 1 by Sepp Holzer (Paperback - 1 Oct 2010)
£15.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews