Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


108 of 111 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars History as shifting perspective
As a history of London, Ackroyd's shifting perspective of the Metropolis lays itself open to criticism from the professional historian. Instead of nailing the City down to a time-line, Ackroyd keeps his structure fluid, his perspective shifting in time and place like the City itself. Grouping his mass of material under headings as diverse as "weather",...
Published on 19 Mar 2001 by mdavidson@epo.org

versus
50 of 61 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, read Inwood's History of L. instead
This is a very disappointing book which must have got its good press reviews thru Peter A.'s standing and friends. Peter Inwood's A History of London dominates this book, as it contains everything The Biography does and more besides, and in my opinion is better written. An example: Ackroyd has a special section on political violence in Clerkenwell (one of his weird...
Published on 21 Feb 2002 by John of London


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

108 of 111 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars History as shifting perspective, 19 Mar 2001
By 
mdavidson@epo.org (Rijswijk, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: London: The Biography (Hardcover)
As a history of London, Ackroyd's shifting perspective of the Metropolis lays itself open to criticism from the professional historian. Instead of nailing the City down to a time-line, Ackroyd keeps his structure fluid, his perspective shifting in time and place like the City itself. Grouping his mass of material under headings as diverse as "weather", "murder", "children" etc. allows him to take us back and forth in time within the scope of each chapter. It is the ideal format for his portrait of London as a timeless entity, that encompasses past , present and future and displays each unceasingly. If you like your history caught on the wing, graphic and alive, then I can recommend this book. Peter Ackroyd is more poet than historian, but to capture the feel of a city and its people, to make you smell the medieval, victorian and restoration streets, the poet is the man for the job. He shows us the histories of the hooligan and the aristocrat, bank clerk and psychopath, all detailed with compassion and style. His facts are anecdotal and fascinating, the use of four-letter words down the centuries, where you could get a cheap dinner 300 years ago and who you were likely to meet. An academic history of London it isnt, as a tour of London its the best you'll get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 2 Sep 2001
This review is from: London: The Biography (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book. A really compelling read, and full of fascinating information. It's not often that a 600+ page book can keep me turning the pages, reading it pretty much from cover to cover, but this one did.
Having read it, I now find that when I'm in London, I look at the city in a different way - Ackroyd sheds so much light on the city's history and character.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything one wants to know about the history of London, 23 Sep 2011
This review is from: London: The Biography (Paperback)
Everything one wants to know about the history of London, the reason of the existence of some names or habits, a detailed and introspective analysis of the city as if it were a living being, a vivid and real snapshot of past vices and common uses, a comprehensive fresco of the world's most beautiful and enthralling city. Take you time for an accurate and thorough reading, the book is about 800 pages, but once you are in it it gets difficult to put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Different Read, 15 Oct 2000
This review is from: London: The Biography (Hardcover)
When I first encountered this [book], my first thoughts were, "Why would anyone want to write, let alone read a book about a city, it's hardly rivetting is it, especially one as long as this!" Having been lent this [book] by a friend who I know has impeccible taste in book, and with a lot of persuation by him about good tis book was, I finally decided that I would give the few pages a whirl, and see how it went. About two hundred pages later, and steaming through it, I have to say I was hooked. This [book] was the most unusual, and yet fascinting book I think I have ever read. Through this [book] the history and development of London is charted. This is so well written that the city itself develops as something of a character, and I soon began to feel emotions towards it just as I would with a character in any other good novel. I must say, to achieve this with a landmark is quite a feat! I would recommend this book, as it really is a good read, however it does take some time to get through as it is an extremely long, albeit powerful [book]. All in all, a Capital [book]!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it or hate it..., 31 July 2007
By 
Mr. R. Williams (Twickenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: London: The Biography (Paperback)
Whether you love London or hate London, you have to admit that it has been a world-important city for centuries, perhaps millenia. Living in the place it is very easy to actually love and hate it at the same time. The detailed and well-researched book by Peter Ackroyd decribes the highs and lows of London from pre-history to 2000. The writer's strong and accessible style brings the city to life to the extent that one can almost hear it and smell it. Only one very minor quibble about people moving to the United States after the Great Fire - over a century before there was a United States - calling it the American Colonies would have been better. But that should not detract from Ackroyd's description of a city that was almost a country within a country for much of its history, and in some ways perhaps still is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every true Londoner should read this book., 27 Aug 2004
By 
Michael Mukasa (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London: The Biography (Paperback)
I have not read anything so engrossing in a long time. To those people that gave the book one star, you were probably impatient and expecting too much drama. The chronological history of London has been written and re-written many times, Ackroyd did not need to repeat what has already been done. His approach is different, it deals with themes such as homelessness, drinking, rivers, theatre etc. And in each section I learnt something new. And the great thing is that many of the streets and buildings are still standing. And it is the little things that amazed me. An example is the rivers that have been buried under the city - or the Westbourne river whose course can be seen in a pipe at Sloane square tube station! Bravo Peter Ackroyd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History as Literature, 5 Jan 2001
By 
C. O'Brien (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London: The Biography (Hardcover)
One of the best books I've read all year. I've read and enjoyed most of Ackroyd's fiction and this comprehensive history of London makes every bit as intriguing and absorbing a read as the novels. Arranged in sections according to theme rather than chronologically, it's a marvellous book to dip into - or to read from cover to cover. Ackroyd treats the city like a living entity; by no means benign, often aggressive, and almost as old as mankind itself. Unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 61 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, read Inwood's History of L. instead, 21 Feb 2002
This review is from: London: The Biography (Paperback)
This is a very disappointing book which must have got its good press reviews thru Peter A.'s standing and friends. Peter Inwood's A History of London dominates this book, as it contains everything The Biography does and more besides, and in my opinion is better written. An example: Ackroyd has a special section on political violence in Clerkenwell (one of his weird special qualities of places ideas) but he doesn't mention the Fenian bomb of 1867 at all. Likewise he doesn't tell us anything much about the Gordon riots, the Jacobite panics, or trade unions in London, or heavy industry, or anything very much at all. Inwood (no connection, I assure you!)is just so much better, but only got a fraction of the press attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A better London novel than most, 12 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: London: The Biography (Hardcover)
The definitive 'biography' of London is Michael Moorcock's great novel MOTHER LONDON, which Ackroyd praises, but I have liked pretty much all Ackroyd's other books and enjoyed this, as the other biographies, as a kind of metafiction. Ackroyd is a better novelist and a worse biographer than we give him credit for. Like Sinclair, with whom he's also compared, he takes the stuff of real life and gives it an extra mythological twist. His characters are, indeed, often larger than life. Sometimes London seems, in his hands, larger than life, too. He doesn't seem to be able to help himself invent London as it should be, any more than Sinclair. This book does have errors and omissions and can be a bit irritating in its presumptions (it's wrong on some details, very accurate on others) as long as it isn't taken as an academic book or responded to as attempted gospel truth but read as fiction, it's a wonderful bit of background for Ackroyd's other quasi-fictions about Dickens, Blake and Co. It's a tribute to his talent, I think, that we are often wholly convinced by his wonderful versions of these characters. Ackroyd should be relished not so much as a scholar (there are actually better London 'biographies' as a quick look at the topographical section of most London bookshops shows) but as a visionary, creative critic, a bit like Ruskin at his best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars re Ackroyd, 31 Aug 2006
This review is from: London: The Biography (Paperback)
Those who have expressed the strongest criticism of this work are, I suspect, historians (particularly social historians) or, if they are 'literary' readers, they read from a perspective influenced by social theory and cultural studies. The latter is a common mode of reading in current academic circles; one that Ackroyd is well known to dislike, so it is unsurprising that they do not care for his work. Anyone seeking to understand Ackroyd's views as a literary critic should try his 'Notes For a New Culture' and this might help those who are confused or disappointed by his style and method. Actually I am surprised that so many people are arguing about this work as a 'history' - it is not a history but a piece of literature, as its title self-consciously suggests, and if one follows Ackroyd's belief then there need be no relation between the two types of text - for him they operate in entirely separate spheres.

Ackroyd subtitled 'Albion' as 'The Origins of the English Imagination,' and he is likewise here concerned with the London imagination - and imagination is neither reality nor the concern of social realists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

London: The Biography
London: The Biography by Peter Ackroyd (Hardcover - 5 Oct 2000)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews