Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to poetry
This is a fantastic introduction to many poets that you should be aware of but are probably not - a great place to get acquainted.

The anecdotes, anniversaries etc add to the understanding of many of the poems. I recommend this collection to people like me who lack a history with poetry but are curious about the medium. The 'poem a day' concept allows the...
Published on 3 Sep 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poem for the day: 366 poems, old and new
i think book is simply wonderful, im 17 yrs old not a lover of books but i love the poetry selection from all the famous poets u could ever need!! i based this book on a project i did for my a level course, it helped me a great deal!
Published on 7 Aug 2009 by alice


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to poetry, 3 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poem for the Day One (Paperback)
This is a fantastic introduction to many poets that you should be aware of but are probably not - a great place to get acquainted.

The anecdotes, anniversaries etc add to the understanding of many of the poems. I recommend this collection to people like me who lack a history with poetry but are curious about the medium. The 'poem a day' concept allows the unfamiliar reader to slowly learn to appreciate poetry for what it is - something to be enjoyed and savored.

I strongly recommend this book for those that want five minutes of calm at the beginning or end of the day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is a perfect anthology., 12 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Poem for the Day One (Paperback)
If you love poetry, or if it has never meant a thing to you, either way there will be something in this anthology that will brighten your days. poets ranging from medieval "anon" to the present day; poems from afew lines to 2 or 3 pages; funny poems, thoughtful poems, poignant poems -- they are all here, and more besides. Arranged to match the calendar, each day becomes a delight. there is also background information on the poet and/or the circumstances of the poem's composition, plus notes of other key events which took place on that day.It's my favourite anthology, I find myself dipping into it all the time -- and somehow, whatever my mood , I can find a poem to suit. It's wonderful, I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Compilation for Every Day of the Year !, 12 April 2000
By 
R. Chagouri-Brindle "RickCB" (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poem for the Day One (Paperback)
What a marvellous idea ! A different poem for every day of the year. All the classic poets are here, along with a number of lesser known, but no less effective poets. Somehow you can always find a poem to match your mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real discovery, 29 Aug 2009
This review is from: Poem for the Day One (Paperback)
I stumbled across this book quite accidentally one afternoon whilst browsing. Opening it to the page for that day, 19th July Tessimond's 'Not Love Perhaps' I was so struck by its message I bought the book and took it home. I have found new delights each day. Being a bit of a word geek I am amazed I havent discovered poetry sooner. This is a fabulous introduction, with something for everyone, classics and modern verse, and suitable for sharing. I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A popular easily learnable poem for each day of the year., 16 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Poem for the Day One (Paperback)
Who would have thought that I would write a review about a poetry book... Well here it si this a wonderful collection of poems, one for each day of the year. If you love poetry or have generally ignored it there is here many a poem for you. I commute about 50 mins a day and it is great to occaisionally make myself learn a poem. If like me you were never required to do such a thing at school then you may be in for a delightful suprise. The ability to sing someone elses thoughts and use their words just at the right moment in the day is very powreful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old and grey, 28 Aug 2009
By 
S. G. Kirsch ""Professor Piffle"" (Harrow , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poem for the Day One (Paperback)
"Poem for the Day" contains the lines by Yeats: "Take down this book, And slowly read". You will certainly enjoy taking Yeats's advice. Incidentally, in her foreword Wendy Cope asks "Why bother to learn poems?" It's no bother: the gorgeous verses in the book will quickly abide in your memory. I only wish that Wendy had included a few more of her own poems, which make one laugh -- and then think!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old and New, 8 Jan 2014
By 
J. Trott-Nicholls (Doncaster) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poem for the Day One (Paperback)
A lovely book to dip into when the mood arises. Some of the poems are ones I had to learn at school, and I am enjoying reading them again, but there are many new ones which I also enjoy reading, especially as a wind down at the end of the day. I would recommend this book both to those who already enjoy poetry as well as those who wish to broaden their poetic horizons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book......., 25 Jun 2010
By 
Roger Sharp (Kenley, Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poem for the Day One (Paperback)
This book has made me love poetry, a subject at school I really hated. Wendy Cope has brought together a superb selection of the familiar, the new, and the forgotten and created a book to be cherished. Never really at my best in the mornings I now start every day with a poem from this book with a cup of tea. It never lets me down - the quality of the work is invigorating and life-affirming.

Perhaps the best recommendation I can give is that from this volume (and the subsequent one edited by Andrew Motion) I have bought six volumes by authors I haven't heard of other than in these books - and for someone with the dislike for poetry I once had, this is quite a surprise to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an absolute delight, 13 Aug 2011
This review is from: Poem for the Day One (Paperback)
This anthology would appeal to all poetry lovers, especially people like myself who are just beginning to savour the delights of the genre. I love the biographical notes that accompany each poem and reading the 'daily poem' is a golden moment in my day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book of poems., 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poem for the Day One (Paperback)
For poetry readers old and new. A delightful book of poems, one for each day of the year including interesting information about the poem/poet. From my reading so far, a very good selection which I have enjoyed. A lovely way to take some time out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Poem for the Day One
Poem for the Day One by Wendy Cope (Paperback - 12 Dec 1994)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews