Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Events Management by Bowdin - Excellent
Events Management by Bowdin, G. et al. is a really good and interesting book. I used it to learn and write essays/reports for my uni, but I also read it in my free-time.
It's very informative, it looks at a lot of different aspects of the events industry and personally I'd say it's one of the best books I've bought so far, because it's kept simple and straight to the...
Published on 27 Nov 2010 by londonstudent

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book for education, sadly lacking detail for actual practice
I was disappointed by this book personally, although I have recommended it for students studying this area. The essential information for prospective readers of this type of publication is it's purpose. This is clearly aimed at students in Level 4 - 6 study, in terms of language and content. It is of little use for anyone considering putting on a small to medium size...
Published on 5 Aug 2011 by paulears


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book for education, sadly lacking detail for actual practice, 5 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Events Management (Paperback)
I was disappointed by this book personally, although I have recommended it for students studying this area. The essential information for prospective readers of this type of publication is it's purpose. This is clearly aimed at students in Level 4 - 6 study, in terms of language and content. It is of little use for anyone considering putting on a small to medium size event. Large amounts of generalisation and background, some case studies and proper learning objectives for each chapter with concluding summary and questions - but little factual detail. I decided to put it into a context and see if it was helpful. I selected some critical, practical areas people always need help with in real events, especially those outside.
1. Generators. Electricity for stage (lights and sound), catering, charging, safety, working lights, security. Nothing in the index at all. They are mentioned in the two and a half pages on Glastonbury. The problem is this section quotes many figures. Comments are weak "...wired and tested for safety". In terms of planning, the entire power infrastructure is somehow deemed too complex, so is in the kind of language we use for technophobes. The reader is advised to create a Gantt chart that displays the electrical supply for Glastonbury. Really! The book provides no information as to how that would be done, apart from using the very generic 'boxes' for staged progress. Generators arrive on site, generators moved to locations, generators are connected. Although it is appreciated that this is a non-technical book, it gives the impression that power planning is just logistics. No mention at all of safety or emergency contingencies? As for readers creating a risk assessment - this is clearly impossible without detailed knowledge of electricity codes of practice, industry practice and legislation. It seems to be a book about model management without knowledge, something we often criticise graduates for! I understand now. Emergency procedures is a short two page section following on from VIP and the Media, and before the two pages on site shutdown and clearup. Other trivial areas, by comparison are detailed in extreme detail.

The front cover features a major event, looking at the crowd from the stage. In the Sound and Lighting section, the content is weak and generic in the extreme. In recent years sound levels at large events have been a big issue - events being closed down by local councils, because the long drawn out approval and level setting process was exceeded, and the council require volume to be reduced or even shut off to appease local residents. The book mentions 'sound switches' that turn off the power (perhaps found in the village hall, but NOT at Glastonbury).

In general, the book attempts to use a common set of information to cover events of all types with little or no in depth detail. In a book designed for education at this level, I would have expected some accurate quantifiable data, but there is little. "Speakers, which can vary in size from bass speakers to treble speakers that enhance the quality of the sound within a certain sound spectrum" - wordy, and unhelpful rubbish really. I suspect anybody with a home hi-fi will have worked this one out for themselves.

Some diagrams are also very wrong. Again, in the few short pages on sound, speaker banks are shown at the back of the stage area. Any BTEC student at Level 2 studying music or performing arts will know that you never but speakers in this location - if diagrams need to be produced on subjects the writers know little about, then they should try to produce ones that are accurate - and would work.

Want to know about toilets? You must have some! They do suggest quantities, but every festival goer knows more about toilets than is in this book.

There is a page on Disability Discrimination - although the new Equalities Act is not included - but this is forgiveable due to the dates of publication. Want some details? Look elsewhere. It does point you to a small section where Belfast Queens University considered access, visual and aural impairment. Nice headings, no explanations.

If you wish to know about conceptualisation, strategic planning, mission statements, sustainable development, event tourism goals, HR, the nexus between event marketing and management - this is the book for you. If you want to run a real event, and need to know how, and what to do, this book is not really much use at all.

Firmly designed for the occupants of the B-Ark. If this is unclear, look up Douglas Adams and B-Ark in Google.

It isn't a bad book, but it really isn't about events, it's about management. It has an air of superiority in that it is for the planners and thinkers, with little accurate and sometimes appreciative comment about how things actually get done at events.

I've been a production manager for a long time and this book does not help me do my job - because all the information I need due to the current requirement for H&S, to meet the legislation is missing. As an example - risk assessment. Lots of comment - but none integrated with the other sections. As an example, it states "Most events managers would identify the consequences as the sound system not running, lights not working and the elevators stopping mid floor and trapping people". Totally agree, excellent and accurate comment. So what should you do? No ideas are provided by the book. Worse still - not even a single risk assessment document to indicate to beginners what they even look like, let alone contain.

What worries me most is the differences in scale are not teased out. The hazard analysis details the importance of Critical Control Points - but fails to mention that these are needed above a certain event scale. A small scale event with only a small number of members of the public present makes many of the features unnecessary.

It certainly contains useful information - but it should be more clear that it is for people studying the management processes of events from an educational perspective, because the detail on the actual events is very short of real data and information useful to somebody putting a real event on!

Paul Johnson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tutor Recommendation - Ideal Buy, 9 Mar 2011
This review is from: Events Management (Paperback)
The book is just what I needed to gain further insight and understanding into events.
This textbook was recommended by my Tutor and it is a great book to have if you really interested in events.
It's detailed with great case studies and useful diagrams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Events Management by Bowdin - Excellent, 27 Nov 2010
This review is from: Events Management (Paperback)
Events Management by Bowdin, G. et al. is a really good and interesting book. I used it to learn and write essays/reports for my uni, but I also read it in my free-time.
It's very informative, it looks at a lot of different aspects of the events industry and personally I'd say it's one of the best books I've bought so far, because it's kept simple and straight to the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent condition, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Events Management (Paperback)
Absolute life saver for assignments. Easy to read, very clear and easy to get information from when looking for quotes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Events Management (Paperback)
had bought this book for my course and it was used for the full two years- it is good to keep checking back on. easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The bible for events management students!, 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Events Management (Paperback)
I purchased this book in my first year of University because my tutors and other students recommended it to me and I am really happy I did it! Eventhough it's not possible to just base the assignments on one book, this book DEFINITELY includes EVERYTHING you have to know when planning any kind of event. It is not only about business or sport events, it also explains cultural and even non profit events!

DEFINITELY a must for every events management student!! I always recommend it to first year students and I know all of them are happy with it!

Also a great value for the price! I know students don't have a lot of money usually but it's definitely worth buying !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Events Management, 9 Jan 2012
This review is from: Events Management (Paperback)
This book is vital for my daughter's university course. It had all the information that she needed to complete a piece of work. It was so useful to have the choice of brand new or 'second hand' as we were buying the book for her, as she is a student that is funding herself through uni. We would recommend this site to any parent that is helping their son/daughter in their further education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Events Management, 2 Nov 2011
This review is from: Events Management (Paperback)
I found this book very useful for my Events Management degree (first year), and would recomend it to anyone :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars University Book, 13 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Events Management (Paperback)
I am so so happy with this book, I have used it on many occassions for my University Studies. It is brilliant. It was delvered in excellent condition and the price was not too unreasonable.

:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book; perfect for the foundation degree in event ..., 18 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Events Management (Paperback)
Great book; perfect for the foundation degree in event and hospitality management. Includes a lot of stuff they cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Events Management
Events Management by Ian McDonnell (Paperback - 14 Aug 2010)
£34.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews