Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant book for anybody interested in bonsai
This book is an excellant book for any level of bonsai cultivator.It is setout in an easy to read format with step by step guides to every element of bonsai cultivation.The book also includes excellant photographs and a species guide of the best trees for bonsai.It talks you through the various methods of obtaining bonsai stock and the advantages and disadvantages for...
Published on 17 Feb 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful object
Good book, though a bit out of date when dealing with growing from seed.
However as a general introduction and overall guide it's still very good.
The photos are glorious and give you real motivation to create something.
Also very good is the instructions it gives you on how to practise and get experience on
garden centre shrubs.
Explains the...
Published 23 months ago by Mr. Anthony W. Roberts


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant book for anybody interested in bonsai, 17 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This book is an excellant book for any level of bonsai cultivator.It is setout in an easy to read format with step by step guides to every element of bonsai cultivation.The book also includes excellant photographs and a species guide of the best trees for bonsai.It talks you through the various methods of obtaining bonsai stock and the advantages and disadvantages for each different method,it also talks you through the various tools needed and through the various styles of bonsai.Overall i would recommend this book to antbody intrested in bonsai but especially a beginner as i am myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Book That Started It All, 30 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I received a copy of this timeless book in 1990, along with my first indoor bonsai (a nice Serissa). I had a few outdoor trees but books and good advice was in very short supply.
This book changed all that.
I now own dozens of bonsai books and over 50 bonsai - with dozens more 'pre-bonsai' growing in the garden - and it's all down to Harry Tomlinson !
It's still the book I refer to the most. I'm now on my second copy, and have just ordered a copy for my youngest daughter. When she expressed an interest in Bonsai recently the first thing I thought of was 'The Complete Book of Bonsai'. She now has a copy, along with a few easy starter trees, surplus tools, and a bag of my 'all purpose' compost from Dad.
Harry is now retired, but his superb bonsai nursery ('Greenwoods')is now run by his two sons - Paul and Corin.
I'm retired too, but a visit to the nursery is still high on my list of 'Things to do Before I Die'.
Thanks Harry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is my Bonsai Bible, 24 Mar 2000
By A Customer
From seed to ancient tree. This book covers all aspects of the art of Bonsai. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Book Of Bonsai, 21 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: The Complete Book of Bonsai (Hardcover)
I just love this book, the information is clear and the colour pictures of bonsai are simply beautiful. His advice and guidance are useful whatever your stage of bonsai development. A must have book. I recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful object, 22 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Anthony W. Roberts "newharper" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book, though a bit out of date when dealing with growing from seed.
However as a general introduction and overall guide it's still very good.
The photos are glorious and give you real motivation to create something.
Also very good is the instructions it gives you on how to practise and get experience on
garden centre shrubs.
Explains the tools required very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book for any bonsai enthusiast., 15 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Harry Tomlinson, was a master at bonsai. Down to earth descriptions and tips for the novice & expert. Describes many native Irish, English, European Trees, besides the usual oriental suspects. Techniques, pots, advice and photos, Lots of Photos of trees, excellent. A must have book for any bonsai enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book., 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would thoroughly recommend this book. It is clear, knowledgeable, helpful and motivational...... even though it may take years to achieve the desired effect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A thing of beautiful - and usefulness, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I personally know nothing of the art of bonsai but purchased this for a friend in Russia because it appears to be written in clear and comprehensive English, tells the basics of the art, and is beautifully illustrated. However I dread having to pay the postage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book does what it say in the title. As a novice it explains the different types of trees and how to look after them.
It shows how to maintain existing trees. It also explains how to start with an untouched tree and what to do to turn it into a good looking bonsai.
The delivery was quick and it was well packaged.
H.S. P.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars happy customer, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
book is very good, very comprehensive, can only recommend it for people interested in Bonsai trees
delivery very prompt and excellently priced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Book of Bonsai
The Complete Book of Bonsai by Harry Tomlinson (Hardcover - 1 Jun 1998)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews