Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise
Well this was an unexpected treat. I was expecting a sort of Disney type fairytale, about a family living in a treetop cabin, having fun and playing games all day.

Instead this book contains a very strict set of morals and character building exercise within the framework of the story.

A family of husband and wife and 4 boys are marooned on a desert...
Published on 8 April 2011 by T. Gardener

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful period piece!
A classic wholesome tale of adventure, survival and discovery; though quite dated, now, the style of the journal writing rewards the patient reader...but scorns the impatient ones, desperate for heightened exhilaration. It's is a good read for readings' sake.
Published on 17 Mar. 2013 by M-A+


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise, 8 April 2011
By 
T. Gardener "red giraffe" (essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well this was an unexpected treat. I was expecting a sort of Disney type fairytale, about a family living in a treetop cabin, having fun and playing games all day.

Instead this book contains a very strict set of morals and character building exercise within the framework of the story.

A family of husband and wife and 4 boys are marooned on a desert island. There is a certain amount of poetic license as the island contains hundreds of animals and plants, not normally seen together.

At times their need to survive is quite bloody, and more than one animal and bird finds itself despatched to the cooking pot. They are rather free with their rifles.

It is an enjoyable book, made the more so by the language of the day, which if a little flowery gives a sense of the time, and isolation they were living in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable classic novel, 19 Feb. 2011
By 
Mole "Mole" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the original story, of a family that are shipwrecked, and have to survive on a deserted island. The plot is fairly simple and takes the reader through the various activities that the family undertakes. It's split into two parts; the first being the first four years of isolation until they are discovered by a passing ship. The second part covers the years after that.

I would suggest that many people have seen the Disney film based upon this story. The tree house, the variety of animals and the pioneering nature of the family will be familiar. However, the Disney scriptwriters did make some key alterations.

I agree that there are many sections where the author seems overly keen to elaborate just how many animals they kill in order to provide food, but that is probably just an example of the thinking of the day. However, it also highlights how with a little hard work and perseverance, people can build a satisfying lifestyle for themselves.

The book is fairly easy to read, and could be enjoyed by people of most ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NICE TO READ, 4 Jan. 2011
By 
M. McIntosh (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have watched the film many times but I have never read the book (I am 55).
I saw it was free on Kindle & thought 'Why Not?
I'm glad I did. Well written. Easy reading. Beats the film hands down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love adventures, you'll love this book!, 19 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This book is my all time favourite it is packed full of discoveries and survival. It is about a family who get shipwrecked on an island which they build homes and grow; and hunt for their own food. In every chapter something happens from finding new and wonderful creatures, being chased by a poisonous snake and being attacked by savages. If I was you I'd give this book a whirl as it is full of imagination and adventure. I'm sure you'll enjoy this book as much as I do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful period piece!, 17 Mar. 2013
A classic wholesome tale of adventure, survival and discovery; though quite dated, now, the style of the journal writing rewards the patient reader...but scorns the impatient ones, desperate for heightened exhilaration. It's is a good read for readings' sake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Attractive bound edition but not complete, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a story most of us have heard, seen or read, about a shipwrecked family being able to create a new homestead on a desert island. The island has everything they could need from animals, plants, even rubber trees to make rubber boots!
It's not the best worded / plotted book, there is more a moralizing attitude of the pastor father to use every occassion to instruction his four sons. But it's fun to see the family exploring, inventing solutions and domesticating animals for their greater comfort.

The problem with the edition is that it stops short, like in the middle of literally nowhere! I only learned afterward there a 'various' edited versions. This one apparently leaves things out and doesn't have a finish. For instance they never meet anyone else, they apparently just stay another year on the island never sailing... too bad, sort of leaves you with a hunger to read another more complete version. Otherwise this is a very nice solid edition, printed in China, maybe they forgot some material?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Swiss family Robinson, 15 Oct. 2012
By 
Clare O'Beara - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is about a family from Switzerland who are shipwrecked and have to survive on their wits. They manage because of sufficient food, provided they catch it or hunt it first, and a can-do attitude. The boys are the main focus of the tale and they observe a lot about nature, no time for sentimentality, although one does keep a little rock pool fishtank to watch for enjoyment. Their father keeps the group together and the mother is a quiet type.

I don't recall it as being wonderfully exciting or endearing, but as a survival in the wild tale it has much to recommend it. Better for boys than girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!, 29 April 2008
`Swiss Family Robinson' is a Ladybird Children's Classic book, which is a series of books; the collection includes Around the World in Eighty Days, The Happy Prince and Other Stories and Tales from the Jungle Book. Obviously, this book is in it too. It is quite well known and loved. Here is a brief analysis of it.

Characters
The main characters are the family of course: the unnamed man, his wife, their children (Francis, Jack, Ernest and Fritz), and their dog Turk.

Settings
The first setting is at sea, a rough, stormy sea, and the second setting is on an island, full of birds and animals; it also had some wonderful, colourful, beautiful plants! How will they survive on this island with a limited amount of (salty) food?

Rating and recommendation
I would rate this book 9/10 and would recommend it to all children who like exciting stories!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, in my top 5 of books, 20 Nov. 2003
By 
Rich (Aberystwyth, Wales) - See all my reviews
I've read my brother's battered paperback copy X number of times, and thought it was about time I had my own, as it's one of my favourite books. I was surprised, though, that it seemed quite different! Having been translated probably more times than I've read it, it was unsurprising that this is a different version, and as each translator pretty much rewrote and 'improved' the book, you can see where this is going, you can't really get an accurate English version! That said, I still enjoyed it, it's an excellent read, for kids and big kids. More adventurous than Swallows and Amazons and easier reading than Robinson Crusoe. Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average..., 12 Feb. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A story many of us are familiar with, but can't say that the story was as gripping as I remember as a youngster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

THE SWISS FAMILY ROBINSON
THE SWISS FAMILY ROBINSON by Johann Rudolph Wyss (Hardcover - 1992)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews