Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading if you're already competent
This is a superb book if you already know how to work a camera. If you aren't too sure, buy a more basic technical guide as well as this book. It focuses on the creative side of photography and could disappoint "technoheads". I bought the hardback version in 1992 and read it through like a novel. 13 years later it is still worth revisiting. If you buy it and think you...
Published on 29 Jun 2005 by Amazon Customer

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars I don't actually hate it....
I've heard this book's really good. It's certainly elusive.
My one star's effectively a warning for anyone considering buying through Amazon from "Sold by FastMedia "Ships From USA""
It never arrived, so I can't comment but the feedback on FastMedia in the USA makes interesting reading.
Published 3 months ago by C. J. Oxley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading if you're already competent, 29 Jun 2005
This review is from: The Making of Landscape Photographs: A Practical Guide to the Art and Techniques (Paperback)
This is a superb book if you already know how to work a camera. If you aren't too sure, buy a more basic technical guide as well as this book. It focuses on the creative side of photography and could disappoint "technoheads". I bought the hardback version in 1992 and read it through like a novel. 13 years later it is still worth revisiting. If you buy it and think you don't like it, keep it and you might grow into it later on. This is a book to keep, you will not out grow it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for landscape photographers., 6 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Making of Landscape Photographs: A Practical Guide to the Art and Techniques (Paperback)
This book is a superb follow-up to Charlie Waite's first technical book "Seeing Landscapes". The author is to be congratulated on not merely showing his finest photographs, of which there are many in the 150 shots printed, but also ones that he considers not to have worked for some particular reason. Most of these photos the average photographer would have been delighted to have taken but under the critical eye of the master one is made aware of shortcomings that make the difference between a good shot and one that is superb. By following the recommendations in this easy to read book, one's landscape photography should improve beyond measure. The only minor criticism of this book is that some of the photos are printed across two pages which detract from their impact by having the page gutter running through the image but this is a minor fault in an otherwise superb volume. This book is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful intro to art & technique of landscape photography, 21 Nov 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Making of Landscape Photographs: A Practical Guide to the Art and Techniques (Paperback)
I would highly recommend _The Making of Landscape Photographs_. The book is comprised of 150 photographs, each one with discussion of what makes the image work (or not work; he's generous in showing things that didn't work out). Watie discusses both composition and technical details, but he relates the tech side to the artisitic success: "Only a polarising filter has been used to deepend the richness of the sky and to bring out the beautiful wispiness of the clouds, as an effective contrast with the hard-edged shapes of the village below them."
The photographs are beautifully printed. Waite uses a 6x6 (square format) camera. One quibble: in some cases the book prints a square image across a two-page spread. It's a nice effect, with full bleeds on three sides, but it makes it hard to take in the full image across the gutter. It's a minor point. Overall, the book is both beautiful to look at and extremely useful to any photographer who wants to improve his landscape photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book from a great photographer!, 3 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Making of Landscape Photographs: A Practical Guide to the Art and Techniques (Paperback)
Here in the UK, keen landscape photographers will almost certainly be familiar with the work of Charlie Waite. His contributions regularly appear in the monthly photographic magazines where well thought-out, informative articles offer instruction on a whole variety of subjects.
This book brings together a collection of stunning landscape images along with detailed descriptions of how the techniques illustrated were accomplished. This information is written in such a pleasantly concise form as to be informative to both beginners and the experienced photographers alike.
I would recommend this book to ANY aspiring landscape photographer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charlie Waite Making of Landscapes, 7 July 2008
By 
Gareth (Hastings, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Making of Landscape Photographs: A Practical Guide to the Art and Techniques (Paperback)
This a beautiful book from whom I consider the Master of Landscape photography

Charlie Waite pictures look like paintings and as an amateur photographer it is very interesting to read and get inside Charlie¡¦s¡¦ head on his thinking about the structure of his images.

I wish I could get Charlie to teach me all he knows, but this is probably the closest I will get!

The thought process, sometimes the sheer luck of just looking over a hill or hedge and discovering a fantastic vista before you is just wonderful. The patience of waiting sometimes days, weeks or months for the perfect moment.

Understanding how Charlie thinks has certainly opened my eyes on what to look for when out in the field

It even shows the mistakes Charlie has made and if he had time how he would have overcome them

So how about it Charlie, can you offer some private lessons please º

If you want to learn form the best, get this book. It is however not a step by step guide, more of an insight in the thinking process, and vision, but there are still chapters in it re lenses etc

A great read
Fountain of knowledge
Something to refer back to again and again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It makes you want to go out and take pictures, 12 Jan 2007
By 
Andreas Wilhelm (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Making of Landscape Photographs: A Practical Guide to the Art and Techniques (Paperback)
This is a book with fantastic landscape pictures and, even better, Charlie Waite tells you how to take them. All you need to do now is get out there and take pictures. Ok, it's not that easy. You need to know your camera, the book doesn't explain much about how to 'use' a camera, it explains more about composition and technique.

Even if you aren't a photographer, the pictures in that book are worth it themselves. But you probably want to buy a camera after reading the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into this very specialised world, 12 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Making of Landscape Photographs: A Practical Guide to the Art and Techniques (Paperback)
Charlie Waite holds up many of his most famous photographs and gives a very honest appraisal of why they work and what could have been better. He even has doubts about the cover photo. This is an interesting insight into a very specialised world where quality is everything. Very few readers will want to go into the countryside carrying a bag full of filters and a step-ladder. However, at least we learn what to look out for when we snap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dated but still relevant, 22 Aug 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (PLYMOUTH, DEVON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Making of Landscape Photographs: A Practical Guide to the Art and Techniques (Paperback)
Although this book is quite old now and deals with photographs taken using a large format film camera using filters, there is still much to recommend it. The book covers the essentials of landscape photography including exposure, light and colour but also comments on each photograph on what makes it good and what could possibly made it better.

If I have any negative comments it is that the small size of the book does no justice to the photographs and sometimes it is difficult to identify points in the photo that the author has mentioned. Another point is that most amateur photographers cannot afford the time taken by the author to travel around Europe in autumn/winter and wait for up to three hours for that shaft of light to hit the subject (or miss it!)

I enjoyed the book although the self-criticism does go on a bit and eventually becomes unrelenting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely photos, 16 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was published predigital era so has no advice for the majority of today's photographers. Nevertheless it is helpful for composition and the pictures are a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you could only buy ONE book on Landscape......, 17 Nov 2010
By 
D. Harden (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Making of Landscape Photographs: A Practical Guide to the Art and Techniques (Paperback)
....make it this one! FORGET that it's from 1992 (no digital stuff), features mainly square images (Hassleblad - that's what they take, natively) and doesn't explain the technicalities of working a camera - that, in this context is irrelevant.
This is about how to interpret the landscape into images that communicate what you saw, what compelled you to make an image of it. I've owned a copy of this book for years and still return to it regularly - not to try and copy Charlie's style, which would be wrong, but to learn about the process of landscape photography.
It's NOT all about gaudy sunsets or the over-saturated and over-contrasty, over-sharpened efforts that seem to be everywhere at present. It's about understanding the relationships between the elements in a particular location and the interaction of the land with the light.
I think that some of the images aren't instantly accesible to some people (me included), but take the time to REALLY look at them and you'll see how much sense they make. Incredibly precise placement of elements combined with patience to put them in just the right lighting is the central theme. Even clouds have a part to play. I really like the honest critique applied to each photo as well - assessing the right and wrong decisions made and what he'd ideally change on some of them.
If you're at all serious about Landscape Photography then this should be on your essential reading list, right at the top. If the rules changed and you could now buy TWO books, then I'd add "First Light" by Joe Cornish....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Making of Landscape Photographs: A Practical Guide to the Art and Techniques
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews